Boops amps-hi, pumps-554 Increase dose again?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Erin Lewis and Boops

Member Since 2015
So, I need advice on whether Boops is maybe still bouncing or needs a dose increase. We had been heading down,down,down with his doses. Now, I'm not sure if he bounced a few nights ago after maybe going lower than 90. I hate when he is this high!
 
you're getting the hang of this! He went to at least 90 night before last and he bounced from it and that's why he's been high the last two days. A bounce can last 3 days so it could be Sunday night before he clears this bounce. I would just keep giving the same dose right now and not change it.

I would test more rather than less though, just because if he clears the bounce he may come down into something lower than 50 and he may be telling us that he's done with insulin. When he got that 90 it does look like he very likely went lower. You do want to know if he goes below 50 again.
 
Erin

Just stay on top of the ketone testing and be sure he is eating and gets plenty of fluids. Add water to his food. I'm hoping you are seeing the highs before he break and he will head down tomorrow.
 
On the average, ketones show up in the blood 5 days before they show up in the urine. If ketones have been an issue, you may want to get a blood ketone meter such as the Precision Xtra or the Nova Max Plus.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top