Boops AMPS- 500s again. Vacation coming up- STRESSED

Status
Not open for further replies.

Erin Lewis and Boops

Member Since 2015
So, I am thinking that we will increase Boops' dose this weekend since we will be there to monitor. I know we need to decide on a dose and stick to it, and I've had trouble doing that since I've been trying to decide if he was bouncing. At this point, I feel like he is just high with no bounce. I am stressed because we are going out of town all weekend next weekend and my sister will be his nurse. I don't want him to go too low, but also don't want him to be high as a kite anymore. Questions- how long does a Levemir dose stay his system? Why are his numbers SOOOOO high- they weren't even this high at diagnosis. I almost melted down over it this morning, but am trying to stay calm. He is my only child, and I have had his sweet boy since he was born. I just want things to be normal! :arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh:
 
Erin, I think that until you can shoot the same dose every 12 hours and see what happens, you're going to continue to get wonky numbers

Insulin is a hormone, it's not like most drugs that you "take 2 and X happens"....it can work a little differently each time you give it depending on 1000 other things.....all we can do is repeat the same dose for at least 3 days, get as many tests in as we can and then re-evaluate what the pattern is looking like.

Each time you change the dose, or give a late shot (or early shot) it's going to effect up to the next 6 cycles

It took me over a year to really start to understand when China was bouncing, versus when she needed more insulin, versus when she might need less insulin and only with the help of the more experienced people on the board did I slowly start to figure out how to read her spreadsheet as well as try to help others with theirs. There are still people here with lots more experience reading spreadsheets that might see something I don't, but I try real hard to help when I can.

At this point, I'm not sure what to tell you regarding Boops dose...I'd almost say that yes, going back to .25 seems like a good idea, but it did take him down into the 30's the last time and Levemir works a little differently than Lantus does.

Let's see if @Wendy&Neko might be around. I know she uses Levemir
 
I have a bouncy cat, and it can be frustrating seeing those high numbers.
You need to do as Chris and Wendy have suggested and get more data so they can see what is happening with Boop. Whatever happens, it is going to take time. I had to learn that cat diabetes is a marathon and not a sprint! So it won't be fixed in a week.
You are home testing and giving insulin so you are doing two of the most important things for Boop.
In my experience, vets have not heard of bouncing, but Wendy and Chris know a lot about bouncing and will be able to help Boop.
Try and relax and not worry too much. Boop can feel when you are stressed and you need him relaxed too. :)
You are not alone. :bighug::bighug:
 
i think it was good you went ahead and went back to 0.25u. Those black numbers are pretty hideous. But hopefully, your tests this weekend will help spell out what's going on with mr. Boops.

Hang in there! More data will tell us the answers.
 
I think the insulin is likely fine. Whenever I see super high numbers like this I think they are likely to be bounce numbers. I think he's *probably* got some low numbers hidden in there while you are out bringing home the $$ to take care of your guy. That's why I think some more data this weekend is going to be helpful.

Of course it's possible that he needs more insulin, but more info will help us see it clearly.
 
If you look at Sheba's SS you will see she was Hi all morning from a bounce 2 days ago.
I know how frustrating high numbers are.
When Sheba has high numbers I always make sure I give her extra fluids to stop her getting dehydrated. You can do this by adding extra water to the food or giving some chicken broth ( but you need to make sure it is only made from chicken bones and water, nothing else, especially no salt). I make my own broth with chicken bones and water and boil for up to 8 hours. Then put in frig to set. Take off the fat and ready to use. I put broth, should be jelly like, into ice block trays and freeze to use later.
You have three experts on bouncing on this thread (Wendy, Julie and Chris) so listen and be guided by them. They are my champions too!:)
 
Hello Erin and Boops! Boops is adorable :) I don't have any wisdom to offer - I'm just stopping by to say hello. I can definitely relate to the stress about going on vacation - I am always a basket case if I go away. I actually ordered a couple WiFi cameras so I can keep an eye on Billie! (feel free to think I'm crazy) But it's awesome that your sister can be his nurse. With more data and the great advice you are getting, I think things will become clearer in the next few days.
 
3acccbcb6c0575ee76fdfa0a9f8f83d3.jpg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top