Booger's Update... It's official

Status
Not open for further replies.

MartinJA527

Member Since 2014
Booger went back for her check up today. She received good news that the urinary tract infection had cleared. Upon learning the glucose numbers I came up with at home and her average, the vet decided to put her on insulin. We discussed options and he ended up prescribing her Lantus. We will be completing our first curve tomorrow morning bright and early. My goal is for her to get back some of her spunky personality, gain some weight, and decrease the urine output, water consumption and ravenous hunger. I'm prepared to diligently work with the vet and the so many helpful people I have found through this site to even hope for a long term goal of remission. We're ready. Our questions have been answered. We know what to do (and when we don't we know where to come!). We have extra supplies and a hypo kit/plan. So tomorrow morning it's just me, my super sweet kitty, and the glucose curve and lots of lap naps for her. Thank you all for your support. We knew this day was coming but everyone on FDMB has contributed to making this transition a little easier either directly with their replies to me, by posting your amazing knowledge so that it is available for others like me to see, and by reading through some other's situations and how they were handled. So Thank you all!
 
You're prepared, which many of us were not when starting this journey.

Keep in mind it takes Lantus 5-7 days to stabilize on the initial dose, and then 3-5 days for later doses, due to the overlap in effect from shot to shot. When Lantus is injected, it forms tiny crystals and these slowly dissolve and take effect over time. They are not completely dissolved by the time for the next shot, so there is an overlap, or depot of these crystals. It is what makes it possible to have a nice, gentle effect from Lantus in most cats. Also, when you shoot earlier, there is more overlap, so it acts like a dose increase. And when you shoot later, it acts like a dose decrease from less overlap.
 
I owe that to all of you here! I know there will be stumbles along the way but it's good to know there are others who have been there and are so forthcoming with helpful information. Thanks for the Lantus information. It appears to have had onset at approximately +2 and the numbers have been slowly declining today. Her AMPS was 366 and her +4 was 249. I'm hopeful for her. I'll be interested to get some readings based on what you've said in the following days.
Jen
 
Also, the dose for Lantus is adjusted, based on the nadir, or how low she goes, not on the pre-shot level. For those just starting out, we suggest you not shoot below 200 mg/dL on a human glucometer. Once you have collected more mid-cycle data near nadir AND show it will be safe, you decrease that to 150 mg/dL on a human glucometer.

And any time the glucose goes below 50 mg/dL, it is an automatic reduction of 0.25 units.

Have you had a chance to browse the 2 Lantus forums, Tight Regulation and Relaxed Lantus? Take a look at the stickie posts in Lantus TR and see if that might be a place you want to post, or if Relaxed Lantus is going to fit better for you.
 
Hi. Yes do post on the tight regulation forum and you will get lots of help and support with dosing lantus as well as what to do in sticky situations. Sorry that it is official but lots of cats go off insulin within a month or two.

Elise
 
Great advice again, thank you. I did go over and read through some of the information in the Lantus TR board. It seems like something I can and am willing to do. She was above 200 both times today. Average glucose 211 and nadir 181.. but today was just her first day.
Thanks Elise! I will do that. I would love for that to be the case with her. I will do whatever it takes for as long as it takes but I hope for her that she can come off. On over to the Lantus board to read some more I go.
Jen
 
Great. Don't just read, start posting daily there instead of here. There are many more people on posting daily there and supporting each other. We post all test results and start a new post each day. I'm about to do that right now. See you there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top