BooBoo to Shoot or Not to Shoot

Status
Not open for further replies.

BooBoosMom

Member Since 2014
Good Morning,

BooBoo's BG was at 113 this morning and we normally give his insulin at 6:30am ( 1 1/2 units of Lantus). My sister is staying with him today while I am at work. We held off on giving insulin this morning because we were not sure if we should give the full dose or not. My vet's office does not open until 8:00am. He ate ok this morning. To stay on schedule with the insulin, I'm wondering if we should at least give 1/2 unit. I just am always scared when his numbers are low to give more insulin. Any suggestions anyone can provide would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Nadine
 
I am very new, here, so I am still unable to offer expert advice. However, when my Hannah drops to 200 or less, I skip the scheduled dose, just to be safe. I feel it is better to be safe than sorry, especially when you aren't there to monitor. Hope someone who is more experienced will get back to you, soon. Of course, by now, you have hopefully gotten in touch with BooBoo's vet. Just as a side note, years ago, we also had a beautiful tuxedo cat named BooBoo. She was a great kitty, too.
 
1) stall 30 minutes without feeding and re-test. If rising, plus over 200 mg/dL (for new folk) or 150 mg/dL (for more experienced folk) you may be OK to shoot. When in doubt, or unable to monitor, safety first - skip the shot.

Have you any test data between +5 to +7? If Booboo isn't getting down near 50 mg/dL on this dose AND you've been on it a good week or more, you may be OK shooting.
 
Thank you both for your responses earlier this morning. I got pulled into a meeting first thing and have not been able to respond until now. BooBoo is a rescue cat that I nursed back to health and could not let him go. He's a DSH and completely white. My sister could not reach our vet this morning so she called the ER vet. BooBoo was hospitalized over the 4th of July weekend so they know him very well. The ER vet that took care of BooBoo asked us to drop the dose in half this morning, which my sister did. She texted me and at 7:30 (preshot an hour late) he was up to 153, then at 10:30 he was at 168, then at +5 he was back down to 123. +7 is only 20 minutes from now so I'm hoping he's not dropped drastically when she calls. She had actually fed him again right after your first response. I don't have the +5 or +7 from last night. The last time I tested was at +2 because we had a fur shot yesterday and he had hovered in the low 400's all day. The reading at +2 was still quite high at 368. We have never had numbers this low in the mornings. His numbers in the morning for the last week have all been 250ish - 300. I need to finish my spreadsheet so that everyone can see what I am talking about. His isulin dose was upped last Wednesday so tomorrow will be a week. I'm really anxious about his reading at +7 nailbite_smile. Only 15 minutes to go..... Also, I had my sister feed him a small amount right after +5. She just called, we are up to 203 at +7.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top