Boo Boo update pancreatitis management

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kaz and Boo

Member Since 2015
Hello everyone
Firstly I wish to thank the FDMB and all of its members for being a wonderful support since I joined (newbie!). I want to thank everyone for taking the time to provide advice, links to food options and various resources internal and external that were so helpful.
It is amazing to be part of a committed and passionate group of people who, like myself love their sugar babies so much they are willing to do anything to keep them healthy and extend their lives. Because basically that's what we all do every day...is keep these precious creatures alive by our individual treatment protocols.
Boo was extremely ill when I joined the forum a few weeks ago and there have been a few occasions when as a nearly 16 year old I thought I would lose him. (Dx 2010). I couldn't understand what had gone so horribly wrong as the diabetes was well managed but severe vomiting was present over a weekend for no apparent reason.
To cut a long story short after a vet visit on the Monday morning, a shot of antibiotics and anti nausea and a prescription of carafate and meloxicam a few days later on his existing diet there wasn't much improvement. I cried for two hours early on the Wednesday morning when I found bloody vomit again! Thought it was the end of him...but he's a tough cookie so back to the vet we went for a blood test and I said treat him like he's going to live.
He was diagnosed with pancreatitis. We are now on a low fat low carb diet, and after a week or so of extremely bland food e.g boiled chicken only, and insulin adjustment accordingly we are finally back on track.
i understand many members don't necessarily support the feeding of prescription diets, however as a matter of interest through trial and error this is what is working for Boo twice daily in order to manage the pancreatitis and diabetes well:

1/4 can wet m/d (40g)
2 tablespoon poached chicken breast chopped fine (heated in microwave 8secs)

I did try other low carb wet foods (not easy to source in Australia) but the vomiting continued due to the high fat content. We're very fortunate to have ongoing veterinary support-the same vet has been treating him since dx diabetes 2010.
He's looking pretty good and hopping up on the bed every morning at 5.30am lol, so I know he's back on track. The amazing thing is that being a carer for a diabetic feline brings you close, and this has bonded us even more! Every day is precious.....
 
Congratulations. It sound like you are making progress. These things do take time and sometimes it feels like one step forward and two steps back. My cat remi took Carafate for a while and I do believe that helped protect his tummy when he was being sick a lot.
 
It definitely felt like one step forward and three back at times! I'm so pleased with his progress but still cautiously optimistic due to his age.
 
... so back to the vet we went ... and I said treat him like he's going to live.

A thousand hugs to you for this. :) (((Kaz)))

I'm so glad that Boo is back on track. I remember how scared I was when Saoirse was really bad with the pancreatitis last year (I was scared out of my wits) and the overwhelming relief I felt when she started to improve.
 
I'm very glad to hear that Boo is feeling better- P-titis is a horrible thing to watch happen to our beloved kitties! :bighug: My Tiger received Cerenia for anti-nausea/vomiting; Metronidiazole for diarrhea;Bupe for pain, Carafate(to protect the GI tract as she was vomiting blood) and Famadodine for acid tummy/vomiting. The ER vet sent us home with Purina EN, which is a bland, low fat, protein food, it was all she could eat at first. Gradually I could mix her regular Wellness foods and wean her off of it. She still has an off day even today, which causes tremendous stress in her beans, so we know how you feel!

I am very concerned, Are you still giving Meloxicam for pain? I found this link about Meloxicam AKA Metacam-it appears that Meloxicam has a black box warning from the FDA. I now have specific instructions on file with my vet that Tiger is not to receive METACAM(Meloxicam) or a newer NSAID ,Onisor as I don't want to risk harm to her kidneys.
 
Update on Baileys SEB treatment.
Saturday morning in the UK AMPS 13.8 about normal for my boy,over night I normal poo in the litter box,so there seems to be no adverse effect over the last two days admin of 1/8 t.spoon once daily.
 
A thousand hugs to you for this. :) (((Kaz)))

I'm so glad that Boo is back on track. I remember how scared I was when Saoirse was really bad with the pancreatitis last year (I was scared out of my wits) and the overwhelming relief I felt when she started to improve.
Thanks @crittermom,it's great to have the support of forum members..definitely don't feel alone in this!
 
I am very concerned, Are you still giving Meloxicam for pain? I found this link about Meloxicam AKA Metacam-it appears that Meloxicam has a black box warning from the FDA. I now have specific instructions on file with my vet that Tiger is not to receive METACAM(Meloxicam) or a newer NSAID ,Onisor as I don't want to risk harm to her kidneys.[/QUOTE]

Hi Ruth
I have discontinued the Meloxicam a cpl days ago, no longer feel it is necessary. He was on one drop a day only. BJM also advised there are warnings about using this drug, we discussed in a previous thread and the thinking is that here in Australia the dosage is lower than in the U.S so probably safer. Anyhow I'm not taking any chances, long term use of any anti inflammatory is not good for humans or animals.
The wet m/d is also extremely bland so Boo and I have compromised with the boiled chicken mixed in. He wouldn't eat the m/d on its own, very difficult to source low fat options here in Oz I don't think we have the Wellness.
Every day that passes without any vomiting or other adverse symptoms is a small victory and I'm pleased with his progress!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top