Boo amps 69 +2 71 +3 62 +10 90

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy and Boo (GA)

Member Since 2009
Hi everyone!

I need a bit of advice. Boo is a Levemir user. He's had some beautiful numbers lately, but I must say it makes me nervous to shoot such low numbers, especially 2.25 units. My work schedule does not allow for me to keep an eye on him all the time. I don't know what his numbers were today between the +3 of 62 and the 92 at +10. I left extra canned food out today but he did not touch it. Do you think he needs a .25 reduction this pm or should I hold the dose??

Many thanks,

Wendy and Boo
 
here's what I see - it looks like Boo has had what we sometimes call "the Snap," where they hit a good dose and suddenly the spreadsheet is all blue and green. Gorgeous!

Usually we are looking for a number below 50 to signal a dose reduction, or for the cat to be surfing mostly under 100 for a week on the same dose. See how nice and flat Boo was after you shot that low number today? That is exactly what Levemir is *supposed* to do. The data you got today should help you feel more comfortable. You know the dose is safe, because you worked up to it in a methodical way.

That said, sometimes once the Snap happens, the cat does do a mad dash down the dosing scale. It is time to step up testing as much as you can. That doesn't mean you need to be fanatic, but do what you have been doing and try to get spot checks whenever you're home. Those spot checks will give you the information you need so you can know what is going on when you're NOT home.

It is definitely time for you to read these posts, if you haven't already.

Dealing with Low Numbers
Dealing with Low Preshots

I was a little long-winded, but what I was saying is that I would try to hold the dose as long as possible, until Boo insists on a reduction. We find that giving the cat as much healing time as possible on a dose usually makes it easier for them to hold onto the next dose (and the next, and the next). Of course, it's all your decision so do whatever makes you comfortable. Questions?
 
thanks Libby!

I'll try to get more spot checks at night, but during the day I can't get any mid-cycle checks. A +8 or later until PMPS is the best I can do. Was hoping to get some checks in this weekend, but I couldn't.
 
aww, wendy, so wonderful to see these numbers! glad libby weighed in for you. yea, boo, yea! :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top