Boo 5/9 AMPS 4.2(76); PMPS 4.3(77); thunder and alarm-test!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vidya & Boo

Member Since 2012
Yesterday

Today (0.5u -shaved dose):

AMPS: 4.2 (76 US)
PMPS: 4.3 (77 US)

An afternoon thunderstorm followed by a test of the building's fire-alarm today. Poor little guy spent a lot of time hidden away somewhere. :-(

Do other folks here generally treat a 'shaved' dose as a dose-level in its own right (i.e., do you hold it for a week's worth of cycles), or do you look at it strictly as a transitional dose (for a few cycles)? We started off doing the latter when Boo's BG numbers were dropping on their own; now that his numbers are holding steady, we've moved toward holding the shaved dose for a longer while, to maximize healing and prepare his pancreas for each new tiny dose-reduction.
 
Re: Boo 5/9 AMPS 4.2(76); PMPS 4.3(77); thunder and alarm-te

Poor thing, Boo! Frightened by the thunder? Tried having the Feliway? Maybe catnip?
I dont know about how other mumbeans are working on the shave. With Rosy, I gathered she holds better with a shave rather than a full 0.25 reduction she earned. I think the TR is aggressive but sometimes, we know our kitties. You share my thoughts?
 
Re: Boo 5/9 AMPS 4.2(76); PMPS 4.3(77); thunder and alarm-te

Usually a little catnip or some treats -- or just some cuddles and nose-kisses -- after the noise has passed make everything better. :-) He refuses to be reassured in the midst of a storm, however, so we usually let him just go off and find a place where he feels safe.

Yes, especially as the dose is getting so low now, a 'shave' is proportionally a bigger drop than it was with earlier doses, so I feel most comfortable going slowly. Especially this month, when Boo has to deal with the daily stress of all sorts of construction noise in the building, I feel like going cautiously suits him well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top