Bombay: 10/5: AMPS 140. Dosing advice

bombay14

Member Since 2020
10/5 : Good morning...

Bombays AMPS was 140 At 520AM. Typically I dose at 0730 but he and his sister have been asking for food earlier. So I wanted to check it before he eats. Yesterday at 0400 he was 151 and I didn’t shoot. I checked his sugar at his usual Nadir time and he was 218.

i haven’t been able to get a steady dose in him. He is all wet food and no carb kibble now.

should I recheck and dose at 0730? How much should I give ? Please look at my spreadsheet.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1hbByq0GpnXyM2cGHxsAA9FE1zJe0aOgf2EMMpt9tR6E/edit
 
Last edited:
ok, so this is your 2nd post on the forum. Let's start by updating your title please:

Like this: 10/5 Bombay AMPS ### (the number from your preshot)...then your question: Dosing advice...

I'll look at your SS...

Ok I looked, what happened last night? I don't see any numbers for the night time cycle: PMPS ? any tests after that?
 
ok, so this is your 2nd post on the forum. Let's start by updating your title please:

Like this: 10/5 Bombay AMPS ### (the number from your preshot)...then your question: Dosing advice...

I'll look at your SS...

Ok I looked, what happened last night? I don't see any numbers for the night time cycle: PMPS ? any tests after that?
He only has been getting insulin in the AM. So I didn’t do any evening checks
 
Ok, so make a note there at the PMPS time - NS = No Shot....

Why no test/shot in the evening?

Lantus is a 12 hour insulin; meaning you need to administer two doses a day, every day.

So, please update your title so we can keep things straight as far as the rest of the day goes...this is a busy forum and things get lost and pushed down easily as more people post throughout the day...thanks!
 
Ok, so make a note there at the PMPS time - NS = No Shot....

Why no test/shot in the evening?

Lantus is a 12 hour insulin; meaning you need to administer two doses a day, every day.

So, please update your title so we can keep things straight as far as the rest of the day goes...this is a busy forum and things get lost and pushed down easily as more people post throughout the day...thanks!

He was started on just one unit a day. So just the daily dosing is what I have been doing.

ok I will update the spreadsheet to make it clear that I didn’t shoot in afternoon.

also, when I hit edit it doesn’t let me update the title of my post. I will remember that for next time.

thank you for your help!
 
Here is a pic of where to Edit your Title: On the right hand side, underneath your title, there's a little pull down menu - marked "Thread Tools". Click there and your title will appear - you can change it there.
upload_2020-10-5_6-45-6.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-10-5_6-45-6.png
    upload_2020-10-5_6-45-6.png
    21.6 KB · Views: 68
10/5 : Good morning...

Bombays AMPS was 140 At 520AM. Typically I dose at 0730 but he and his sister have been asking for food earlier. So I wanted to check it before he eats. Yesterday at 0400 he was 151 and I didn’t shoot. I checked his sugar at his usual Nadir time and he was 218.

i haven’t been able to get a steady dose in him. He is all wet food and no carb kibble now.

should I recheck and dose at 0730? How much should I give ? Please look at my spreadsheet.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1hbByq0GpnXyM2cGHxsAA9FE1zJe0aOgf2EMMpt9tR6E/edit
Hi :)

Here is your post from yesterday: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/amps-151-should-i-dose-or-hold-the-lantus.236338/

Each day that you start a new thread, please include a link to your last post. That way all of your information is tied together so if we want to read what happened for you on previous days, we can click through the links in your posts.

Also, could you please copy and paste your spreadsheet link right into your signature? By doing this, it is always easy for members to find it, and also then you don't have to keep copying it into your thread every day.

I noticed you made a similar comment yesterday about your kitties getting hungry and asking for food earlier just before shot time. Butters used to do this, too! You want to keep shot times consistent at AM and PM (I see Sue is helping you figure out twice daily dosing), with no food given two hours prior (so the pre-shot BG isn't food influenced). The way I manage Butters is by giving her a small snack around +9 or +9.5, 1 tsp LC usually, and that tides her over so she isn't ravenous in the hour before AMPS / PMPS. An auto-feeder does come in handy for this, but I used to wake up and feed her something @+9 before I had one.
 
It's a little late for this morning's shot, but how would you feel about doing a lower dose, but twice a day? Something like 0.25 units? It looks like Bombay might need a little bit of insulin still with those yellows in there. I think the switch to all low carb is really helping, but he might need just a tiny bit of insulin support for a bit yet.

Sorry to add to the "guidelines" but do you might adding "AlphaTrak" somewhere in your signature so we know what meter you are using.
 
It's a little late for this morning's shot, but how would you feel about doing a lower dose, but twice a day? Something like 0.25 units? It looks like Bombay might need a little bit of insulin still with those yellows in there. I think the switch to all low carb is really helping, but he might need just a tiny bit of insulin support for a bit yet.

Sorry to add to the "guidelines" but do you might adding "AlphaTrak" somewhere in your signature so we know what meter you are using.
Hmmm that’s a good idea!!! How often would I check sugars if I switch to twice a day?
 
You would still get the preshot tests, and if possible, at least one other test in the cycle. A PM+2 or just before you go to bed will tell a lot about what is happening in the night time cycle.
 
Back
Top