Bombay 10/14: dosing advice.

bombay14

Member Since 2020
Bombay had a follow up at the vet today. I explained everything that I’ve been doing and showed him the chart of Bombay’s blood sugars. Right now he is taking 0.1 units in the AM of lantus. The vet told me that as long as his pre meal blood sugar is above 100 than it’s okay to give the dose if he eats breakfast. I am a little confused by this because he also said below 150 is normal .. normal high... but normal and that he will likely be on that 0.1 units for a long time. He said Bombay is showing signs of remission. I guess I’m confused why I would continue to shoot if he is below 150 or 140 or less? Like today preshot he was 134 and +8 he was 94. I’m worried he got lower than that at +6 but I wasn’t able to check his sugar. Should I keep giving the 0.1 units if his sugar is below 150 in the AM ?


https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1hbByq0GpnXyM2cGHxsAA9FE1zJe0aOgf2EMMpt9tR6E/edit
 
Why are you only giving the insulin in the morning and not at night as well. Lantus only lasts 12 hours in a cat?
Can you get a BG at the normal PMPS time please for a couple of days so we can see what is happening? Also a test before you go to bed so we can see how high Bombay is going without the insulin at night.

You would be better reducing the dose to a drop and giving it twice a day than giving 0.1 unit once a day. But first take the BG for a day or two so we can see what is happening please.
 
Right now he is taking 0.1 units in the AM of lantus.

Can you take a picture of where you're pulling the insulin into the syringe? It's very, very unusual for us to hear a vet that thinks we can even do doses that tiny. For comparison, here's what .1 looks like:
.1 unit.PNG


This is 1.0 unit:
1 unit on insulin syringe.jpg
 

Attachments

  • .1 unit.PNG
    .1 unit.PNG
    74.8 KB · Views: 143
  • 1 unit on insulin syringe.jpg
    1 unit on insulin syringe.jpg
    5.7 KB · Views: 149
Why are you only giving the insulin in the morning and not at night as well. Lantus only lasts 12 hours in a cat?
Can you get a BG at the normal PMPS time please for a couple of days so we can see what is happening? Also a test before you go to bed so we can see how high Bombay is going without the insulin at night.

You would be better reducing the dose to a drop and giving it twice a day than giving 0.1 unit once a day. But first take the BG for a day or two so we can see what is happening please.

i worry about him dropping too low when I’m sleeping... but I’m getting better and better about sticking him so I will get evening sugar checks and update. Thank you!
 
Can you take a picture of where you're pulling the insulin into the syringe? It's very, very unusual for us to hear a vet that thinks we can even do doses that tiny. For comparison, here's what .1 looks like:
View attachment 57236

This is 1.0 unit:
View attachment 57237
Yes I will take a pic and post it tomorrow w the insulin. It is definitely 0.1 unit and not 1 unit. But I’ll gladly snap a pic. :) thank you!
 
Back
Top