Bølles curve 03.17.12

Status
Not open for further replies.

Charlotte & Prop

Member Since 2011
Today Nina did a curve on Bølle, you can see it on his spreadsheet below.



His pmps is getting close to the point where he usually begin to get high numbers again. So within the next 24 hours we will see if he once again get skyhigh numbers, or if the low dose have settled. We are now on day 4,5 on .25 u
 

Attachments

OK, that's good. The difference between today and the last day he had solid yellows is the dose, so he may not be getting ready to bounce skyhigh.

Getting nice, even numbers is the first step. After this is working to get the best numbers without causing the high numbers again. I would left him at .25u a few more days and see what happens.

Good job Nina and Charlotte (and Bolle, of course).
 
Oh my goodness! That is an amazing curve! It is exactly what we want to see - surfing!!!!

Surfing is when they remain at steady BGs for several hours and is what Levemir does best. Even if it is in the 200s that is a very very good thing.

Agree with Sheila, please please stay with .25U for a few more days. You may be surprised that his numbers go down even further. Don't be to discouraged if he has another bounce, it is possible. But the longer he stays in stable numbers the less chance of that happening.
 
Thanks for your support and advice.
This morning amps was 315, and I gave .25u. Now the number is 196 at +6.
This is where it's getting really exciting to see, if Bølle can handle a blue number, this is where he has bounced before.
 
Very exciting! Sounds like things are getting better for Bolles with the reduction. This is giving me hopes for my Munchie as well- that reducing might help her. Fingers and paws crossed that the cycle is nice and even for Bolle today :smile:
 
Bølle was at 142 at +9 so he has taken a pretty good fall today. In case he is not bouncing and his pmps is in the blues, should we still keep the dose on .25 u or should we reduce it a bit?

Thanks a lot for all your help :)
 
Unless he has a huge bounce, he should be fine to stay at .25U. Another huge bounce (400s or better) could mean he had a low which they didn't catch with a test and needs the dose reduced.
 
CharlotteDenmark said:
Ok thanks. So if he is really high we reduce to what? 0.2 or lower? And if there is no bounce, then no reduction.

Let's see what Sheila says, but as quickly as he's dropped with .25U, we should consider going lower, maybe to .1U or .15U. I know that is challenging to measure, but can be done with the drop method.

When the blood glucose remains in normal range, it allows the pancreas to heal and function normally on its own again. That's why these stable BGs are so important.
 
Hi guys
Bølle's numbers at +3: 279
Is he bouncing again?
I do need to know whether to reduce or hold the dose at .25u?
I will check his numbers at +5 before bedtime
 
Nina, that sometimes happens on Levemir. The PM dose you gave may not begin its action till +3, so we tend to see a rise until about then. Hopefully he will be lower or steady by +5. The .25U looks very good for now, no need to change it yet.
 
Thanks for answering so quick.
I'm just so anxious to see him on the right path, and you are right looking at his numbers he is probably not responding until +5, so I'll hope for the best.
Thanks again for all your concern :-)
 
You're very welcome. :smile:

Oh, in case anyone wonders how sometimes we respond quickly - you can set up your board preferences to send you an email when topics you post in or start are replied to. Go to "User Control Panel" (second line below the logo above), select "board preferences" then select "posting defaults" from the menu on the left. Make sure that you have selected "yes" by "Notify me upon replies by default." That will generate an email to the account you listed at registration. It may be marked as "yes' by default, I'm not sure. I find the service very handy, the email includes a link right to the topic's most recent post. pc_work
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top