BOGIE GOING FOR SURGERY TOMORROW

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cattluvr49

Member Since 2014
Bogie's ear hematoma keeps filling up. After two attempts to drain it, we finally scheduled his surgery for tomorrow morn. Of course, his numbers are horrible. After being normal for 3 weeks and on no insulin, we are back to square one with preshots in the high 400- low 500. Tonight I am supposed to give insulin but he can't eat after midnight. I believe they said nothing after midnight so that means no water either and he is drinking like crazy. Drop off is 9:30 AM but they won't be doing surgery that early. Just wondering if I can leave water in room with him for a few hours after midnight. Bogie gets no insulin in the morning tomorrow.
 
I think you may need to monitor him this evening and take it from there on the water. Maybe feed and shoot early.
When I had Spitzer in for a dental, the vet had me give a half dose in the morning; you might check him to see how he is in the morning and over 300 mg/dL, ask the vet about a token dose. They do tend to go low(er) under anesthesia.
 
I will keep Bogie in my prayers for tomorrow. I pray his surgery goes well and will be back home soon. :bighug:

Kimmie
 
Thanks so much for the prayers and info. I think I will leave some water for him. I am so nervous about the surgery. You would think he was going for heart surgery and not ear surgery, but it is his diabetes which complicates the surgery that worries me. He is also hyperthyroid for 7 years. We don't even know how old he is since he was abandoned in a cat carrier at a shelter where I volunteered. That is him in my picture. I hope to get a better picture of him up in a few days.

Purrs, Barbara and Bogie
 
Sending prayers that sweet Bogie will breeze through his surgery. Keeping you both in my thoughts :-) Please keep us posted.

Christi
 
Good luck, Barbara and Bogie! Sending prayers that he will do just fine. Soon, this will all be behind you and you can get back to getting those numbers back where they should be. We will be thinking of you. :cat: Please let us know how he's doing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top