Bogey's first at-home curve

Status
Not open for further replies.

ajouteast

Member Since 2011
Ok, folks... I checked Bogey every two hours from his AMPS to PMPS. I think the results are really odd. I checked twice on a couple of the readings and they were basically the same as listed below. (I had him on 4 units Lantus BID since Friday night). The vet had increased him to 5 units BID on Wednesday, but because of a low reading PMPS on Friday night, the vet said to take him back to 4 units.

AMPS = 286
+2 = 310
+4 = 335
+6 = 365
+8 = 331
+10 = 337
PMPS = 408

Thoughts? Thanks!!
 
Hmmm - hard to say from just one set of numbers. How low was the number that made the vet decide to drop back a unit? Have you thought about setting up a spreadsheet to track his numbers? It has lovely colours that help to highlight patterns. The advantage is that others can see your data and then when you ask for thoughts, there is some info to be able to offer thoughts. Others can give you the link and help you set up if you'd like.
 
5 units is a lot of Lantus.
You should join the lanuts group - they are amazing.
You will need to set up a spreadsheet to get the appropriate help.
There's too much movement in the dose in such a short period of time.
Don't wait. Get over the Lantus Group! (they have day to day experience with using it. They are the experts because they are DOING it) Tons of cats get to go OTJ because of lantus, mine included, but you need to use it correctly.

ajouteast said:
Ok, folks... I checked Bogey every two hours from his AMPS to PMPS. I think the results are really odd. I checked twice on a couple of the readings and they were basically the same as listed below. (I had him on 4 units Lantus BID since Friday night). The vet had increased him to 5 units BID on Wednesday, but because of a low reading PMPS on Friday night, the vet said to take him back to 4 units.

AMPS = 286
+2 = 310
+4 = 335
+6 = 365
+8 = 331
+10 = 337
PMPS = 408

Thoughts? Thanks!!
 
More than likely the low number he had the evening before set up a rebound reaction, which is why the cycle you tested has continually rising numbers. Very typical of a rebound.

It does not mean that 4U is too much, but that 5U almost certainly is.

Is your vet aware of the accepted approach to using Lantus? First of all, it does not include increasing doses in whole units. That is just asking for trouble. It's almost guaranteed that if his doses have been raised in whole units each time, he is getting too much insulin.

Please read over and print out the Tilly protocol to go over with your vet. This is the generally accepted approach to using the longer acting insulins Lantus (glargine) and Levemir (detemir). It is what the Lantus section of this board uses quite successfully.

http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top