Blue pre shot

Im seeing the vet this weekend, but i just wondering i have just started writing times down on my spreadsheet and i got a blue number 178 i believe after her shot time so it would of been 1 hour after what should of been her shot. What does this mean?

I never really asked how specific i had to be with prozinc my vet said just to do my best which wasnt helpful but im going to ask the good/ new vet also Saturday.

I gave her a half dose because in the past she goes way high if i dont give her anything. I will not be home tonight to test her agian.
 
I think it was wise to only give a half dose, especially is you will not be home to test. I use ProZinc also, but I am not as experienced as other members. I'm sure someone else will come in and advise you.

Don't be afraid to skip a dose if you have to. Yes, her numbers might be high the next dose time, but better a day of too high than a dangerous low, especially if you are not home to monitor. I know some ProZinc users will do a small .25 dose, or even just a drop, if the number isn't high enough to inject. And you should have a BGL where you consider it too low to inject at all. For new members, that number is often 200. However, you have been doing this for a while and have a better idea how your cat might react. In that case, the number might be 150.

Do wait to see what other members have to say, but perhaps it's time to try reducing the dose again. You could try a .75 dose, give it three 12-hour cycles to settle in, and then reevaluate.

My apologies if I'm giving you information you already know. I figure too much information is better than not enough.
 
I think it was wise to only give a half dose, especially is you will not be home to test. I use ProZinc also, but I am not as experienced as other members. I'm sure someone else will come in and advise you.

Don't be afraid to skip a dose if you have to. Yes, her numbers might be high the next dose time, but better a day of too high than a dangerous low, especially if you are not home to monitor. I know some ProZinc users will do a small .25 dose, or even just a drop, if the number isn't high enough to inject. And you should have a BGL where you consider it too low to inject at all. For new members, that number is often 200. However, you have been doing this for a while and have a better idea how your cat might react. In that case, the number might be 150.

Do wait to see what other members have to say, but perhaps it's time to try reducing the dose again. You could try a .75 dose, give it three 12-hour cycles to settle in, and then reevaluate.

My apologies if I'm giving you information you already know. I figure too much information is better than not enough.

No no please i love all the information i can get. I dont usually give her anything 120 or below. Thats been working for her. I was wondering about another dose decrease agian. I will be home tonmrow night and part of the afternoon so hopefully i can get more tests done. To see whats going on.
 
Thumbs up for seeing the new vet this weekend. Hope the visit goes well. Keep us posted. Is this a new vet clinic also?

Oh my! Looking at your schedule on your SS as to when you are home or not makes me think you are SuperWoman! I don't think I could do a schedule that jam packed full. Does the purple on your SS mean you are home overnight or you are away overnight? Never mind, I did see a note in the remarks column that the purple means you are away overnight and can't test.

"Know thy cat." and you already do much better than we ever will. You knew that MiddieMittens soared up to high if you skipped the dose. So you gave half. You knew that shooting below 120 did not work for you and your schedule.

Did you 'stall' without feeding and retest to see if that BG of 175 you got last night, 1/29/20 was a rising BG number? Was the 0.5u dose 1 hour later than usual? Or was the shot given on time and the 178 a test at 1 hour after the shot.

Hard to tell since you simply are not home enough to get some mid-cycle tests if the dose should be increased or decreased. I know the protocol here says to look for about a 50% drop between pre-shot tests and the nadir. Much more than that, and a dose decrease is in order.

She dropped kind of low on 1/28/20. 288 pre-shot and then 76 at mid-cycle on 1/28/20 was about a 74% drop. So she has probably been bouncing since then.

My gut says reduce to 0.75U but I'd like to see your test data tomorrow first before you reduce.

I'll keep my eyes out on Mittens' SS for those tests you can get tomorrow. Not as familiar with Prozinc as I'd like to be. But helping the best I can.

You definitely missed a dose decrease back on 1/14/20, with that mid-cycle low of 45. Hindsight is great, isn't it? Deb says facetiously.:rolleyes:
 
Back
Top