Blue AMPS 367 9/2 388 9/3

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Patty and Blue GA & Brat, Sep 2, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Blue is at a lower starting BG this morning so hopefully with the morning shot it will be lower for the day.
    We'll see.
    :cat:
     
  2. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Morning, Patty! How are yourself and your beautiful Bluebird doing today?


    Mogs
    ,
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  3. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Nice to see a pink start today. Keep it down Blue!
     
  4. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Actually I think Bluebird feels good. He is eating and seems happy.
    I'm good because this morning my knee feels ok so far. The pain has been so bad and all of the sudden poof...I hope it lasts!
    I'll retest Blue +3 to see where he is. I'm hoping lower....but I'll be patient.
    Pink was definitely a great surprise!
     
  5. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Ugh I KNOW the feeling. 6 years ago specialist said I needed BOTH knees replaced. (Use to run 4 miles every morning) I've held out till I just cant walk anymore. The thought of foreign parts and pieces in my body just gives me the willies. :eek::nailbiting::stop:
     
  6. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Oooh! Getting the wibbles over here just reading the above. Sending you both some :bighug::bighug::bighug:.

    Glad your knee and your cat are both feeling better today, Patty. :)

    .
     
  7. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Oh no, I'm sorry for you. Are you planning on doing the replacements? I had 2 tears in my meniscus in my right knee. They repaired them but the next step is a replacement. I hurt it playing tennis. I've never had a knee problem before. It's not fun. I feel for you!
     
  8. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    What local time is your +3 due, Patty?

    .
     
  9. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Not unless it means I will be wheelchair bound.
     
  10. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Morning, Elise! Hope you had a good sleep. :)

    .
     
  11. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    11:30 is +3 so about an hour... Blue has come to get some love. He doesn't hold the testing against me.
     
  12. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Awwwwwwwwwwwww:bighug:
     
  13. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    What Jeanne said.

    Please give Blue some scritches from me.

    [​IMG]

    .
     
  14. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    BTW, Blue shouldn't hold testing against you. He's smart. He will be making the connection between all the strange poking type activity with his feeling better. :)

    And you're keeping your Bluebird safe. :cat:

    .
     
  15. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
  16. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Go on, Blue! Work it. Own it...

    (And yes, I did say that in a Kit De Luca accent. :rolleyes: )

    .
     
  17. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Would he eat a teaspoon of food for you now, Patty? Might help slow him a little and smooth out the cycle.

    .
     
  18. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Probably. I'll see. I forgot to post so yes, he ate along with 3 others...ha ha ha I'm going to have some fat cats!
     
  19. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Next test at +5?

    .
     
  20. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Oh my, now he's 411 +5. How did that happen? I rechecked the carb content in the food and it's low. He only ate a little dry food. He's all over the place. What do you guys make of it?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  21. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Uhhhhhhh :eek: smh good question.:oops:
     
  22. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    If you want you could do another test to check whether that was a false result.

    Looking at Blue's data, I wonder whether he's dropping too fast at the beginning of the cycle and whether that might be triggering bounces?

    Ideas, Elise?

    .
     
  23. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    PS: Is there any way Blue might have got hold of any contraband?

    .
     
  24. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    No. I've been taking all the food away for everyone so he won't get hold of any high carbs.
    Would it be okay to test him later? I don't like waking him from his sun puddle again. :arghh:
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  25. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Getting ready to feed and tested again. It's 387 +7
     
  26. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Sorry for tardy reply, Patty. I've only just seen your alert. :rolleyes:

    The second test recommended earlier was purely optional. I hope you didn't disturb his nibs in his sun puddle. :)

    That +7 was a bit of a curiosity: down from the earlier reading.

    .
     
  27. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Close to the earlier one at +5 than the morning low. Have you seen this before?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  28. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    You do see anomalies on occasion, Patty. You can also get duff test strips (hence earlier suggestion to immediately retest - always a good plan when you get an unexpected low BG).

    .
     
  29. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    I'll test again in a bit.

    I bought a variety pack of Purbite treats and opened the shrimp to see if he liked them. He went crazy for them. When I put them away he started tipping everything off the coffee table. I'm glad he likes them. :joyful:
     
  30. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    I believe they're irresistible. :D

    I'm chuffed Blue likes them too. :cat:

    .

    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  31. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Just looking back over the thread, Patty. I wonder whether that +5 might have had a bit of a food bump after Blue's +3 snack?

    .
     
  32. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    You think? Maybe. It was lc pate and just about a teaspoon. He doesn't normally eat at that time in the morning. You were probably thinking he would go too low, right?

    I think I'll wait to test. It's only an hour or so and feed, then shoot at 8:30. That ok?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  33. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Not too low in this case.

    Sometimes cats drop quite quickly early in the cycle when the insulin kicks in and then rebound at the end of the cycle. In some cats, if you feed a small snack around the time of onset it can slow the drop and then they don't bounce up as much later on. It's very much an ECID, you don't know whether it will work unless you try.

    .
     
  34. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Absolutely. :)

    .
     
  35. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Just about to sign off but wanted to pop in to bid yourself and your beautiful boy a safe and peaceful night, Patty.

    Catch you on the morrow. :)

    (((Patty and Blue)))


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  36. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Blue is at 561

    Night Mogs
     
  37. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    331 +3
    I never know what to expect...
     
  38. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
  39. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Morning, Patty! :)

    388's not too shabby.

    How are you and that gorgeous meezer of yours doing this day?


    Mogs
    .
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2020
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  40. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Hey Mogs.

    We are pretty good. I just am worried about him. No reason other than his BG being all over the place. I think I'm just tired so it's causing me to be a little emotional about him. I'll be better in a bit.
    How are you today? Thank you for being here for us. :bighug:
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  41. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    All the worry and emotion goes with the territory, Patty, and perfectly natural: Blue's your furbaby and you want him to be all better faster. :bighug: Been there...

    It's a real pleasure to share your company and maybe help you a little. :)

    I'm tagging @tiffmaxee to ask about the dose. After tonight's PM cycle Blue will have been on the 0.5IU dose with no skips for 7 days so it's due for a review.

    .
     
  42. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Hi Patty. I know the frustration and worry too well. I think he needs a boost. I would increase tomorrow morning unless we see a big drop today or tonight. I was getting you prepared a couple days ago. So his dose in the morning will be .75. We could move faster if he wasn’t eating dry but why rush him?
     
  43. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Agree.

    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  44. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    He's doesn't eat much dry. I could probably stop but sometimes he'll get hungry and I just give him a few morsels.
    I plan on testing him but he's sleeping so soundly I didn't want to wake him. I'll test when wakes up.
    418CBA82-DC19-482D-853B-357C3F0D2311.jpeg
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  45. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    If he just gets a few pieces you could. Then we wouldn’t need to reduce under 90. It would be under 50. But don’t your others eat dry? You need to think about all of them plus your life style.
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2020
  46. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Another lovely picture, Patty. :)

    .
     
  47. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Agree.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  48. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    I got it 201 +4 but actually 3.5

    I have started feeding dry to the others when I feed wet and shut the door so Blue can't eat the food. It's not lc so I take it up when they finish and open the door. I have worked it out for now. I have supplemented Blue during the day with the dry but as I said, it's not much. I'm not sure what the best course of action would be. His BG doesn't seen to be going that low at .50 but then I don't have the syringes in yet from Chewy so it's been hard to gauge the amount. Sometimes I wonder if he's getting any at all. I'll be glad to get better ones.
    (another thing is I think the LC dry is messing with the others so I can't feed them the high protein)

    Thanks Mogs. He looked so sweet laying there and I didn't have the heart to wake him. Once he yawned I woke him and we tested.
     
  49. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    So he could still have treats if I don't give dry?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  50. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    You can give treats. I used to give one after every test. If lc he could get more. You can even free feed though he needs to be fed by you to eat. How we ALL spoil them.
     
  51. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    I'm thinking about what to do. I just fed him a little wet food because he was meowing at me in the kitchen. When I do that I have more than just him, but if I have just a small bowl of dry I can discreetly pull it out. Let's increase the dose for now and see what happens. I have PT so will test when I return.

    Thanks girls
     
  52. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Turns out my PT is half hour later than I thought.

    I wanted to mention that Blue has fallen/tripped twice in the last 24 hours. I've never since this and he’s still jumping fine but didn't know if this has anything to do with him being unregulated?

    Ok I'll be back.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  53. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Are you giving him any B12 methylcobalamin?

    .
     
  54. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    No. Should I?

    205 so no significant movement. Of course he didn't have any dry food. Thoughts?
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2020
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  55. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Is he walking on his hocks? If not sure how that looks google it. I saw a short video. It’s a good idea to add Zobaline when cats are not regulated.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  56. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    It's possible (though in no way certain) that Blue might have a slight touch of neuropathy.

    Mild neuropathy may cause some hind leg weakness (e.g. not able to jump as high) and occasional urinary incontinence.

    More severe cases result in a cat developing what is known as a plantigrade stance - walking on 'wrists' and hocks (see video below), and possibly more frequent incontinence.

    Improved regulation and supplementation with B12 methylcobalamin can reverse the neuropathy. Here's Tootsie's story:





    Mogs
    .
     
  57. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Well, I guess I should nip it right now. I'll order some vitamins for him. Thanks for the video. I just thought he slipped yesterday but when he fell again today I realized he might be starting to have a problem.

    I feed him on the counter so the others don't get his food. This morning his bowl was on the floor. It wasn't broken so I just thought it was odd. Then just now I watched him tip his bowl full of food off the counter! Seriously? Crazy boy
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  58. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Make sure its Methylcobalamin B12
     
  59. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    @Diane Tyler's Mom -

    Hi Diane,

    When you have a moment, I'd be grateful if you could post details of the right B12 methylcobalamin supplement to order for Patty and Blue.

    Thanks in advance! :)


    Mogs
    .
     
  60. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Zobaline is the one recommended. If you read how much meth is in it yiu can find less expensive brands. I have seen Vitacost for one used.
     
  61. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Your dry is low carb so hard to say.
     
  62. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    He's at 418 tonight. I just got him some wet food and will shoot at 8:30. We're going up for sure in the a.m.?

    He's not walking on his hocks but has fallen a couple of times. This is very unusual for Blue.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  63. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Awwwwww (((((Blue Bird)))))
     
  64. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes. I would take him up to .75 unless of course he dives which I don’t see happening Good luck with the new dose.
     
  65. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Hi Mogs I just saw this I will definitely post it for Patty
     
  66. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Hi Here is the link https://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitamin-b-12-methylcobalamin-5000-mcg-100-capsules-6

    Alot of members use this , I use it myself you can buy it on line from Vitacost
    Vitamin B-12 Methylcobalamin -- 5000 mcg - 100 Capsules
    It's 17.99 just be sure this is the one you buy
    The only difference is the Zobaline has 200 mcgs of folic acid
    So I buy the folic acid at the supermarket and crush it up and add it to the B-12
    If you can't find the 200 mcg get the 400 mcg and cut it in half
    The Vitacost brand is a capsule so just open it and pour the powder on the wet food
    Has no taste, no need to crush it up
    The Zobaline is 33.99 for 60 pills, too expensive
    I saw a big improvement I'd say 3 months, could be sooner. One capsule a day.
    Once you get your kitty better regulated the B-12 methyl will help


    Vitamin B-12 Methylcobalamin -- 5000 mcg - 100 Capsules

    • SKU #: 835003001804
    • Shipping Weight: 0.23 lb
    • Servings: 100
    [​IMG]
     
    Polgeria and Critter Mom like this.
  67. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Thank you, Diane. :)


    Mogs
    .
     
  68. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    You are welcome Mogs what are you doing up this late, I just woke up to get some water and figured I'd check in
     
  69. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    @Diane Tyler's Mom -

    I'm in the UK, Diane. (Local time here is 09:50 at time of posting.) It's when you see me here while it's evening in the US that you know I'm still awake at stupid o'clock. ;)


    Mogs
    .
     
  70. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Thank you both. I will order some today. I think I already have some folic acid.

    I don't see my post from last night. He was high again. I'll start a new thread now.
    I overslept and am behind again. :banghead:
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  71. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Morning, Patty. :bighug:

    Will follow you over.


    Mogs
    .
     
  72. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020

    So this isn't specifically for cats? Does it not have to be? Just checked and I have B12 and folic acid I take myself. It's not the correct dosage for a cat but I can just buy human vitamins?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  73. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    You need to watch the other ingredients in the human supplements, Patty. Not all supplements are diabetic- or cat-friendly and may contain sugars, starches, or other ingredients that aren't good for cats. Also you need to check the doses contained in the products you're using. (Zobaline tablets are 3000mcg methylcobalamin and 200mcg folic acid., recommended dose is 1 tablet per day.)


    Mogs
    .
     
  74. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    It might take a few cycles for the increase to kick in. Don’t get discouraged.
     
  75. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    You are too funny, after I had asked you what you were doing up so late, I realized you were in the UK and saw what time it was for you, I googled it lol :cat:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page