blood sugar still on at 33

Status
Not open for further replies.

harrysmom

Member Since 2011
Should her cat be going to the vet?

The first test was at 10:30. He has been fed 3 times and had syrup put on 2 times and he doesn't seem to be going up? still only 33

what's next???

Sorry started a new thread...
 
Have a call into the vet now - waiting to hear back

Just did another test and still only 35. Poor kitty turned into a pin cushion on his first day :sad:
 
More syrup. Does he like ice cream? Sometimes that will be something they want to eat. Just not huge helpings.

Really a judgement call for her. If he is not showing any hypo symptoms and the syrup will keep him stable and not dropping, he could be okay. If he drops lower, he could start seizing or having other symptoms that could make it late to transport him. Calling the vet is a good idea. How far away is he?
 
I was just going to say that a little melted vanilla ice cream, or some 1/2 and 1/2 might do it.
 
Sorry about the second thread.

The food is Nutro Max Cat slices in sauce. Will have her pick up some gravy lovers - hopefully she won't ever need it again!!!

Did use more syrup but she doesn't have ice cream.

She is talking to the vet now...and the verdict is - keep feeding him and testing him and if he starts to act off rush him in.

She suggested no insulin tonite and she did agree he has been getting to much insulin for extended time. So she is gonna skip the shot tonite and just start fresh in the am with new diet and 1 unit - if needed.

Thank you so much for all you help and suggestions!!!
 
Usually syrup will bring the bg up faster than gravy (you don't feed the whole can, just the gravy). It doesn't usually stay up with syrup while the gravy sometimes last longer.

It is unusual that he is staying in the low numbers so long and that the glucose isn't bringing him up a bit even. What good luck that this was the day you came over!

Is he still in the 30s?
 
I felt comfortable enough that she had a handle on it so I left...Yes at last test he was 36 - next test time is 3pm.

Oh I didn't know you're not supposed to feed the food only the gravy - he was given it all. The vet was surprised that the numbers didn't come up either - we even tested one of her other cats to make sure the meter was working. He is acting completly normal - grooming, playing etc.

She got a quick crash course in testing that's for sure!!!

I will keep you updated after I get more info
 
The reason, we sometimes mainly feed the gravy is because in cases like this, the cat may be asked to eat, and eat, and eat, over and over, and may become full and not want to eat anymore. The gravy is where the high carbs are, and won't fill him up as much as the food and gravy will.

Is she getting an FDMB membership?
 
Just talked to her and Chubbs is up to 49 - YAY!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

I don't think she will join - she is not a computer person at all - I made up the spreadsheet we use to track numbers and printed a copy for her. I think that is gonna be how she does it. She just learned the hard way today how important it is not the shoot without testing. I am confident she will contact me if she has any questions and if I don't know the answer I will ask here.

I think we are out of the woods - thanks again so much for all the info and tips!!!

Sharon
 
Sharon, great job on being in the right place at the right time!

If your friend is not computer literate, I am sure you will be working with her to help her through regulating her cat properly. Sounds like you have a good start with printing out and setting up a tracking spreadsheet for her to use.

I would also print out a few of the "How To" stickies for your friend, such as storing insulin, and how to measure units correctly, etc etc
 
Here is the update on Chubbs:

at 5:15 (which would be around +11) he was 48
at 6:15 (PMPS) 38
at +13 59
at +15 53

The emergency vet said to just keep up the testing and for now keep feeding the high carb till they are sure he will stay up and of course bring him in if he starts acting off.

Since this was all found out in the practice run since she is changing his diet in the am - what do you think of the idea of just stopping the insulin till we see what kind of numbers he gets on the new food and then if needed we could add the insulin back?
 
I don't know enough about Prozinc to answer your question, but just wanted to say you are doing a great job in helping your friend. I'm so glad you were there for her and Chubbs, today.
 
I didn't see how much she gave & what she was feeding before but if she is switching to FF wet she needs to be careful about testing before giving any insulin. Typically Pro Zinc would be out of the system before now but yours & the other cat seems to be hanging on. That +13 & +15 is pretty much the same number & she wants to get 2 rising numbers before being sure its ok to leave him.
 
I use ProZinc and have been told if the AMPS is below 200 not to shoot (after a hypo situation). If you are changing to a low carb diet it's normal to start on a 1u bid with ProZinc and work upwards, if needed. Others with more experience could share more, I'm sure. :smile:
 
harrysmom said:
Since this was all found out in the practice run since she is changing his diet in the am - what do you think of the idea of just stopping the insulin till we see what kind of numbers he gets on the new food and then if needed we could add the insulin back?

Hi Harry's mom - First off, congratulations on being there for your friend and for doing such an awesome job! Tell her she is now a proud member of the Vampire club.

I think your idea above is absolutely the best way to go given the situation. If Chubby were my kitty and had just experienced a prolonged hypo episode on 4u ProZinc BID and dry food, and if I were switching to low-carb food tomorrow, I would withhold any insulin until the hypo episode clears and keep on testing BGs tomorrow to see what the effects of the food change are. It is possible, but I don't want to get yours and Chubby's mom's hopes up, that the diet change alone may be enough to bring him back into normal BGs. If not, at least you and Chubby's mom and Chubby's vet will be in a position to see what his true BGs are with a low-carb diet and at home with hopefully less stress.

Wishing you both a Happy New Year!
 
As you know I'm going through the same tonight & it's super scary! I don't have any advice since I'm wet behind the ears but I'm so glad you were there to help. I can't even imagine a cat having to suffer w/o the owner knowing it & as I've found out tonight their actions don't always speak loudly! GL & I hope her baby comes around soon!
 
Thanks all for all the encoragment and advice. :-D

AT 1230 am (+18) he was 79 and at +24 he was 65 - so we changed his diet and are gonna try an otj trial with the diet change and see what happens...
 
Lets hope he will be diet controlled and can go OTJ!
Wishing good luck to persuading her to sign up... Does she have the internet? Wasnt for sure if I missed that or not. Just that she is not a puter person.
 
Here's the lastest:

+18 - 71
+24 - 65 (low carb canned)
+26 - 49 (she got nervous after yesterday and gave some gravy food)
+28 - 73
+30 - 50
+33 - 46 (more gravy)
+36 - 48 (fed normal low carb canned)

Do you think he is still running low becasue of the hypo or could he just tend to run in the 40-60 range? I think she is still nervous when she sees the 40's after the ordeal
What do you guys think??
 
So the last insulin shot was 36 hours ago....
I am told...no insulin...no hypo
those are actually non diabetic numbers,
wait to see what everyone else says, but after 36 hours I would hope that all insulin is out of the body
and he is holding his own
:mrgreen:
 
if you aren't giving insulin - then you don't need to give any more high carb or sugar to the cat.

just keep with the low carb food and test regularly to see if the bg can maintain - for your reference normal bg ranges from 60-120. of course you can get lower and a bit higher and still be considered normal range.

if you do need to administer again, please tell your friend to start at 1 unit or even 1/2 unit of insulin. maybe just maybe with the diet change thecat won't need anymore insulin.

can't wait to see the outcome of the trial. trials are for 2 weeks and as for testing - test before feeding and randomly during the day - pick different times to test so you get a good range of numbers to help confirm what's going on.
 
no insulin = no possibility of hypo.

i've tested non-diabetic cats and seen low 40's and have heard others OTJ report the same. i would tell her to retest 2x a day for the next week and as long as the cat is under 120 he's probably fine.

and very lucky you were there to help. *whew*
 
I tested my civvie cat the other day and he was 44.
From what I understand BGs in the low 50's to 60's is fine as long as kitty can maintain that level. As the other posters have said, it's been so long since the last insulin injection it isn't possible that what you are seeing are the effects of insulin.

I'm sure kitty is loving all the extra attention and gravy :mrgreen:
 
My Sugar Bean always runs low - see spreadsheet.

Just today, she was at the bathroom sink, wanting water...... nailbite_smile

Imediately to the pokey poke we go, and she was 49. wheeeew
I have not tested since 12/17...........

Still sitting on pins and needles hoping she doesnt start that again and come out of OTJ! :shock: :shock:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top