Blood sugar levels and use of otc diabetic solutions

Status
Not open for further replies.

howdy

Member Since 2014
I am testing Howdy's BS at home now and am getting better about drawing blood from his ears without too much difficulty or pain. He is up to 2 units of Lantus insulin now, but his BS is still above 400. I have been giving him some Vetonics solution each am for about 2 weeks. Has anyone tried this or the blood sugar gold drops? It is supposed to help with the symptoms. He seems to be feeling pretty good. He can jump on things and plays with his toys. He is also going outside which he had not done for a while. I just wish his levels would come down. We just went up to 2 units about 48 hours ago.
 
What is in the solution?

Are you testing in the +5 to +7 hours after the shot to see how low he is going? That is critical for dose adjustment.
 
I got the Vetonics on line. It is supposed to help with diabetic symptoms and aide in blood sugar control. You can use it with insulin. It has seemed to help. He seems to feel better. I stopped it today because I was afraid it might be interfering with his insulin since I can't get his numbers below 400 even though I have increased his insulin. He did not seem to feel well today without it. He did not play and appeared depressed. If his numbers do not improve without it, and he continues to not feel well, I will start the Vetonics again. The vet said if Howdy's numbers do not get better by the time we get to 3units per dose, she will test for underlying conditions.
 
I tried both Google and Amazon and found nothing.

Who is the manufacturer?

What is listed on the label?
 
As much as we'd all love to say those OTC things work, the truth is they don't. Period. If they did, we wouldn't be a nation full of diabetics (both human and feline). Diabetes is reaching almost epidemic proportions, so if there was some "magic drops" out there, I'm sure it'd be all over the news.

If your kitty's BG is still in the 400's, it's probably because you're not dosing the Lantus the best possible way. The protocol we use most here, if done correctly, has been proven to get up to 84% of newly diagnosed cats OTJ (off the juice) within the first 6 months .

It's GREAT that you're home testing!! Do you have those numbers available to share with us? We could help if you have those numbers.

What are you feeding Howdy? Dry foods are way too high in carbs for our diabetic kitties, as are quite a few canned foods. We have a Food Chart that lists pretty much every kind of canned and raw foods and the percentage of carbs. We want them to be eating foods that are under 10% carbs (Column C)

We would be happy to help you learn how to best control Howdy's diabetes!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top