? Blood glucose testing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Catcrzymom

Member Since 2016
How often do most of you test your sugar babies? We just started doing home testing and our vet said twice a day two days a week is ok for us. I feed Garfield FF classics, 1 can 4x day.
At the vet on Friday he tested bg608. Then Sunday I tested him at 6pm(2hr.pre injection ) bg 105 then at 10:30pm bg 641.
Today 7pm(1hr.pre injection ) bg 472. Will test again tonight.
We are up to 6units 2x day.
Also, does it matter which of the FF Classic that I feed him? I've been giving him the chicken, beef, turkey, cod, salmon but only the classics.
I appreciate all feed back!
 
Hi...I was originally testing Tigger all the time, even though the 1st two vets I had told me once a week would be fine. Well, I didn't believe them, and wanted to make sure his numbers were high enough to shoot..and they always were. Its been almost a year since he was diagnosed, and we were on this schedule. Recently, he had a DKA episode...and we have a new vet..a team of vets, actually. They recommend observing him for clinical symptoms rather than so much testing. In reality, all the testing really didn't get us anywhere..he was ALWAYS high enough to shoot. Of course..its a gamble if you don't test. But whether you choose to test often or not...she told us what to WATCH for. Watch for lethargy, suddenly not eating, etc. If he was way under 50, he'd probably have these symptoms, test or no test. I still test once or twice a day before feeding..but if I don't, I'm ok with it, as long as I've observed him and he seems fine. He eats voraciously! (when he suddenly stopped eating...that's when he had DKA. It was a VERY obvious thing) He also eats about 3 1/2 cans of FF Classics a day. Right now, he's on mostly all Ocean Whitefish & Tuna, recommended by the vet, but I still give him the other varieties once in awhile too. He was also on Vetsulin for the last year, and recently made the switch to Lantus....HUGE DIFFERENCE! I don't know why I waited so long to switch! His numbers used to be in the upper 300's, 400's, and occasionally in the 500's. Since his DKA, and switching to Lantus...its the opposite now. Nice low numbers during the day, and hopefully during the night. At feeding times, he rarely tests over 300 anymore. Usually he hovers just below 300 at the end of the 12 hours. Lantus lasts much longer than Vetsulin did! I'm very pleased with how Tigger is now!
 
6 units twice a day is a LOT of Vetsulin, and doubly so if you're feeding a low carb food like Fancy Feast classics. (Some cats do need high doses but they are more the exception than the rule.)

If Garfield were my cat, for his safety I would test before every dose of insulin and I would do everything possible to test morning and evening at about +2 hours after each dose to see how low it is taking him. Depending on the result of the +2 test I might continue to take further BG readings for the rest of the cycle.

Then Sunday I tested him at 6pm(2hr.pre injection ) bg 105 then at 10:30pm bg 641.

I'm just presenting the above info in a slightly different way to make sure I understand it properly:

18:00 - BG tested at 105 (+10 hours after previous dose, 2 hours before next dose due).
20:00 - 6 Units Vetsulin given (presumably after Garfield had food).
22:30 - BG tested at 641 (+2.5 hours after 6 IU Vetsulin).

Have I got this right? (Very important - please let me know ASAP.)


Mogs
.
 
Unlike Tigger Fern reacts greatly to insulin. And I am thankful my vet told me I need to test prior to giving shots. I use Prozinc that often uses different doses dependent on testing numbers. I have not given the same dose in over a week and have had 2 incidents where I have caught Hypo before clinical signs.

Home testing now being encouraged via AAHA guidelines particularly for cats as hypos don't present clinically until cats are very low.
 
6 units twice a day is a LOT of Vetsulin, and doubly so if you're feeding a low carb food like Fancy Feast classics. (Some cats do need high doses but they are more the exception than the rule.)

If Garfield were my cat, for his safety I would test before every dose of insulin and I would do everything possible to test morning and evening at about +2 hours after each dose to see how low it is taking him. Depending on the result of the +2 test I might continue to take further BG readings for the rest of the cycle.



I'm just presenting the above info in a slightly different way to make sure I understand it properly:

18:00 - BG tested at 105 (+10 hours after previous dose, 2 hours before next dose due).
20:00 - 6 Units Vetsulin given (presumably after Garfield had food).
22:30 - BG tested at 641 (+2.5 hours after 6 IU Vetsulin).

Have I got this right? (Very important - please let me know ASAP.)


Mogs
.
He gets his injections at 8am and 8pm.
I'm not good with military time.
Friday 1:30pm bg 608
Sunday 6:00pm bg 105 (2hrs pre 2nd injection)
Sunday 10:30pm bg 641 (2 1/2 hrs post injection )
Today 7pm (1hr pre 2nd injection) bg 472
He's been going to the litter box more today. The last couple times he got in the box and acted like he had to go but nothing happened. I know he's peed a lot today cause I had to clean up where he missed the box.
He acts like he's very hungry even though he's had all his food today.
 
My cat is also onVetsulin...yes, 6U 2x daily is a lot of insulin! I seriously recommend testing before meals, and a couple of times during the cycle as well, to find his nadir (lowest point of the cycle). We have had several hypos, and Squallie has never showed any evidence of it, I have always caught it by testing. I would be terrified to give him insulin without testing him before-hand.
 
Is it purple I can't find that brand online. I've only seen the Alphatrak or the Ipet here in the US
 
I'd like to invite you to use our spreadsheet to track Garfield's BG and insulin. It is really a great tool to have, it lets you see patterns you might otherwise miss and gives you information you need to have to make dose adjustment, etc, all at a glance, in one place. It's also a great help to us to be able to glance at it if you need help or advice. Here is the link to it:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/

If you have any problems setting it up just sing out, someone will be able to give you a hand with it. :)
 
On your FF question. I think all of those are fine. I would just look at the label and make sure there aren't any carb heavy ingredients in any of the ones your a feeding (such as corn starch) just to make sure.

I noticed one of the 600 readings was at the vets, likely this is higher than normal because sugar babies often read higher at the vet due to stress.

ETA: The 2nd 600 could in part be a bounce, if he hadn't seen 100 in a while his body may have panicked and compensated by releasing extra Glucose. Human diabetics have some fancy name for it, we just call it bouncing.
 
First, as others have said, 6 units of ANY insulin is a huge amount, especially for a newly diagnosed cat. You need to always test before each shot, and then test again about 2-3 hours after .....and very possibly get more tests in after that

The fact that he dropped down to 105 and then was in the 600's about 4 hours later indicates to me that he's getting way too much insulin which is causing him to continuously "bounce"

Bounces happen for one (or more) of these reasons:
1. dropping too low
2. dropping too fast
3. dropping into numbers the cats body isn't used to being at any more

When any of those things happen, their livers release stored sugars and hormones to bring them back up quickly. Think of it as a leftover survival mechanism from when our kitties were wild...If their blood glucose dropped too low (usually due to starvation), their liver would release those stored sugars and hormones to bring them back up quickly so that they could hopefully be able to hunt successfully.

The way to find out for sure what's going on is with testing....and not just twice a week, but several times every day.

The sad truth is that most vets know very little about treating diabetes in cats (it's much more common in dogs) and they end up treating their feline patients the same way they do dogs. Vets only get a few hours of formal education in school on diabetes, and that covers all the types of animal they see.

Vetsulin is much more of a "dog" insulin, than a cat one. Cat's metabolism is faster than dogs, so Vetsulin generally drops them fast and hard and then wears off long before it should. There are better insulins that are longer acting, like Lantus, Levemir and ProZinc

PLEASE start testing your sweet kitty more often....we would all hate for you to come home to a tragedy
 
Sorry everyone, hit send before I was finished, the vet said with numbers under 50 the cat would be lethargic and not eat but when Scotty goes under 50 he gets hyper, rather aggressive and so hungry that if I am asleep he will claw my head to wake me up and feed him, I would never give him a shot without testing. he has been staying between 70 and 90 on a Relion for 2 months no matter when I test him, he has been on 4.25 units of Levemir twice a day, the day before yesterday on his PMPS he was 37, 2nd strip 38 so he gets a reducie and it looks like it is going to hold. You cannot depend on symptoms to tell you if your cat is too low, you really need to test.
 
Sorry everyone, hit send before I was finished, the vet said with numbers under 50 the cat would be lethargic and not eat but when Scotty goes under 50 he gets hyper, rather aggressive and so hungry that if I am asleep he will claw my head to wake me up and feed him, I would never give him a shot without testing. he has been staying between 70 and 90 on a Relion for 2 months no matter when I test him, he has been on 4.25 units of Levemir twice a day, the day before yesterday on his PMPS he was 37, 2nd strip 38 so he gets a reducie and it looks like it is going to hold. You cannot depend on symptoms to tell you if your cat is too low, you really need to test.
Thank you. I will test him more often. I'm not really liking what I've seen with him today. I will be calling vet in the morning.
 
I second Chris' observation; as a Vetsulin user myself I am concerned that Garfield may be getting too much insulin. Those highs and lows look suspiciously like a bounce, to me.
 
Why do so many vets keep telling us we don't need to test as much?? I'm still testing..that's our choice. My new vet also has a cat and is very informative about feline diabetes. With our cat, he gets hyper, aggressive, and very different if he's too high, not low. I just don't know what their aversion is to testing?? Anyway, it does sound like your kitty is bouncing..with such erratic numbers I definitely would test frequently!
 
... the vet said with numbers under 50 the cat would be lethargic and not eat ...
As you've already observed, that is not always the case with a cat in hypoglycaemic numbers. Also if your vet is advising you that 50 is the number to worry about then this is also may be incorrect. The 50 threshold is typical of results seen on human meters used to test a pet's blood glucose (they read lower than if the sample was tested in a lab). You need to get confirmation of the correct reference range to use with your pet meter.

Important Note: You may see the number 68 quoted on the forum as being the bottom of the normal BG range when measured on an Alphatrak pet meter. We have some basis for using this number for an Alphatrak meter but we have no way of knowing if this reference number is OK for the meter you're using. If I were in a similar situation, as a safety precaution I would look to not let my cat go below 80 until I could get proper confirmation of the correct blood glucose reference range to use with the meter (and I'd get confirmation of the reference range as soon as possible).

Thank you for posting the BG test results. I'm very glad that you are home testing and that you asked for help with it. I agree wholeheartedly with Chris that, even with this small amount of data, there is strong indication that your cat is receiving too high a dose of Vetsulin. The blood glucose mini curves are upside-down (i.e. BG is higher when insulin dose is at peak effect).

Insulin Dose Times: 8am & 8pm

FRIDAY
8:00am - 6 units Vetsulin
1:30pm (AM+5.5) 608

SUNDAY
8:00am - 6 units Vetsulin
6:00pm (AM+10) 105

8:00pm - 6 units Vetsulin
10:30pm (PM+2.5) 641

If you look at Friday's AM+5.5 result, that is slap bang in the middle of the period of peak effect of Vetsulin (typically 3-8 hours after injection time). The same goes for Sunday's PM+2.5 reading.

Here's what I'm particularly worried about. Vetsulin tends to drop BG levels rather hard at the beginning of the cycle. Again typically, there's about an hour and a half or thereabouts before you notice the Vetsulin dose starting to 'kick in' (often observable as an uptick in appetite where cat looks for food). In such cases testing at +2 - +3 hours after the injection was given is a good time to catch how low the dose is taking the cat. Typically, the lowering effect happens over the first few hours, the cat's BG stays lower for a few hours then starts to rise a good bit as the dose wears off (a cup-shaped curve). However ... every cat is different and sometimes Vetsulin can kick in much earlier. My cat's a case in point. Sometimes it might take as little as 45 minutes for a dose to really kick in, reach the lowest point in the cycle less than 2 hours after the dose was given, and for BG to be rising by the time a test is done at +3 hours after injection time.

I think you need to contact your vet as a matter of urgency to decide on a suitable dose reduction. I can't suggest a suitable dose reduction for you but if it were my cat I would not be comfortable with giving any further doses at 6 IU.

I strongly suggest that you keep to the following for the time being:

1. Sort out a dose reduction ASAP.
2. Get a preshot test 30 minutes before every insulin dose then give Garfield a good feed (so that there are some carbs in the system for the insulin to work on when it kicks in).
3. Where possible monitor for clinical signs of onset of the Vetsulin dose (e.g. obvious sign of food-seeking).
4. Test at +1, +2 and +3 hours after each insulin dose wherever possible so that you'll be able to see what the Vetsulin dose is doing earlier in the cycle (and possibly catch lows that are driving the bounces).
5. ALWAYS get a before bed test for Garfield to make sure he'll be safe while you're sleeping.
6. For the time being, if Garfield was mine I would ensure that he had free access to foods with a reasonable carb % if I had to leave him unattended (e.g. leaving the house for whatever reason).

He's been going to the litter box more today. The last couple times he got in the box and acted like he had to go but nothing happened. I know he's peed a lot today cause I had to clean up where he missed the box. [...] He acts like he's very hungry even though he's had all his food today.

Those clinical signs indicate that Garfield is not properly regulated. If your vet's response to your concerns is to advise you to increase the dose (happens) I suggest you seek a second opinion from another vet with a better appreciation of how to treat feline diabetes; one who recognises that the effect of too much insulin can look like too little (i.e. both can result in BG going too high).

Finally, just in case you've not found these forum stickies yet, here is advice on things to look for and how to treat hypoglycaemic episodes:

How to Treat Hypo (print this out and keep it somewhere it's easy to lay your hands on in an emergency)

Hypo Tool Kit

Please keep posting and letting us know how things are going, and ask about anything you're unsure of. We'll do all we can to help you and Garfield.



Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
As you've already observed, that is not always the case with a cat in hypoglycaemic numbers. Also if your vet is advising you that 50 is the number to worry about then this is also may be incorrect. The 50 threshold is typical of results seen on human meters used to test a pet's blood glucose (they read lower than if the sample was tested in a lab). You need to get confirmation of the correct reference range to use with your pet meter.

Important Note: You may see the number 68 quoted on the forum as being the bottom of the normal BG range when measured on an Alphatrak pet meter. We have some basis for using this number for an Alphatrak meter but we have no way of knowing if this reference number is OK for the meter you're using. If I were in a similar situation, as a safety precaution I would look to not let my cat go below 80 until I could get proper confirmation of the correct blood glucose reference range to use with the meter (and I'd get confirmation of the reference range as soon as possible).

Thank you for posting the BG test results. I'm very glad that you are home testing and that you asked for help with it. I agree wholeheartedly with Chris that, even with this small amount of data, there is strong indication that your cat is receiving too high a dose of Vetsulin. The blood glucose mini curves are upside-down (i.e. BG is higher when insulin dose is at peak effect).

Insulin Dose Times: 8am & 8pm

FRIDAY
8:00am - 6 units Vetsulin
1:30pm (AM+5.5) 608

SUNDAY
8:00am - 6 units Vetsulin
6:00pm (AM+10) 105

8:00pm - 6 units Vetsulin
10:30pm (PM+2.5) 641

If you look at Friday's AM+5.5 result, that is slap bang in the middle of the period of peak effect of Vetsulin (typically 3-8 hours after injection time). The same goes for Sunday's PM+2.5 reading.

Here's what I'm particularly worried about. Vetsulin tends to drop BG levels rather hard at the beginning of the cycle. Again typically, there's about an hour and a half or thereabouts before you notice the Vetsulin dose starting to 'kick in' (often observable as an uptick in appetite where cat looks for food). In such cases testing at +2 - +3 hours after the injection was given is a good time to catch how low the dose is taking the cat. Typically, the lowering effect happens over the first few hours, the cat's BG stays lower for a few hours then starts to rise a good bit as the dose wears off (a cup-shaped curve). However ... every cat is different and sometimes Vetsulin can kick in much earlier. My cat's a case in point. Sometimes it might take as little as 45 minutes for a dose to really kick in, reach the lowest point in the cycle less than 2 hours after the dose was given, and for BG to be rising by the time a test is done at +3 hours after injection time.

I think you need to contact your vet as a matter of urgency to decide on a suitable dose reduction. I can't suggest a suitable dose reduction for you but if it were my cat I would not be comfortable with giving any further doses at 6 IU.

I strongly suggest that you keep to the following for the time being:

1. Sort out a dose reduction ASAP.
2. Get a preshot test before every insulin dose then give Garfield a good feed (so that there are some carbs in the system for the insulin to work on when it kicks in).
3. Where possible monitor for clinical signs of onset of the Vetsulin dose (e.g. obvious sign of food-seeking).
4. Test at +1, +2 and +3 hours after each insulin dose wherever possible so that you'll be able to see what the Vetsulin dose is doing earlier in the cycle (and possibly catch lows that are driving the bounces).
5. ALWAYS get a before bed test for Garfield to make sure he'll be safe while you're sleeping.
6. For the time being, if Garfield was mine I would ensure that he had free access to foods with a reasonable carb % if I had to leave him unattended (e.g. leaving the house for whatever reason).



Those clinical signs indicate that Garfield is not properly regulated. If your vet's response to your concerns is to advise you to increase the dose (happens) I suggest you seek a second opinion from another vet with a better appreciation of how to treat feline diabetes; one who recognises that the effect of too much insulin can look like too little (i.e. both can result in BG going too high).

Finally, just in case you've not found these forum stickies yet, here is advice on things to look for and how to treat hypoglycaemic episodes:

How to Treat Hypo (print this out and keep it somewhere it's easy to lay your hands on in an emergency)

Hypo Tool Kit

Please keep posting and letting us know how things are going, and ask about anything you're unsure of. We'll do all we can to help you and Garfield.



Mogs
.
I tested Garfiled at midnight (4 hrs post injection) his bg was 197. He's sleeping now and I'm going to try and rest too. I'm going to call his vet in the morning and voice my concerns about the amount of insulin he's getting.
Thank you for all the helpful information. I have a tablet and will try to figure out how to do a spreadsheet using a tablet. It may take me a while to figure it out. Until then I will post the information.
Thank you!
 
I have a tablet and will try to figure out how to do a spreadsheet using a tablet

You'll need to download Google Drive or Google Sheets onto your tablet from the Play Store, as well as have a Google account set up.

If you have any trouble, just holler....several of us can set it up for you and transfer it to your ownership once you've got it figured out....and in the meantime, we can help by putting what numbers you report to us into the spreadsheet
 
I downloaded the google drive app on my tablet. I need help setting up my spreadsheet! Please and thank you.
 
As you've already observed, that is not always the case with a cat in hypoglycaemic numbers. Also if your vet is advising you that 50 is the number to worry about then this is also may be incorrect. The 50 threshold is typical of results seen on human meters used to test a pet's blood glucose (they read lower than if the sample was tested in a lab). You need to get confirmation of the correct reference range to use with your pet meter.

Important Note: You may see the number 68 quoted on the forum as being the bottom of the normal BG range when measured on an Alphatrak pet meter. We have some basis for using this number for an Alphatrak meter but we have no way of knowing if this reference number is OK for the meter you're using. If I were in a similar situation, as a safety precaution I would look to not let my cat go below 80 until I could get proper confirmation of the correct blood glucose reference range to use with the meter (and I'd get confirmation of the reference range as soon as possible).

Thank you for posting the BG test results. I'm very glad that you are home testing and that you asked for help with it. I agree wholeheartedly with Chris that, even with this small amount of data, there is strong indication that your cat is receiving too high a dose of Vetsulin. The blood glucose mini curves are upside-down (i.e. BG is higher when insulin dose is at peak effect).

Insulin Dose Times: 8am & 8pm

FRIDAY
8:00am - 6 units Vetsulin
1:30pm (AM+5.5) 608

SUNDAY
8:00am - 6 units Vetsulin
6:00pm (AM+10) 105

8:00pm - 6 units Vetsulin
10:30pm (PM+2.5) 641

If you look at Friday's AM+5.5 result, that is slap bang in the middle of the period of peak effect of Vetsulin (typically 3-8 hours after injection time). The same goes for Sunday's PM+2.5 reading.

Here's what I'm particularly worried about. Vetsulin tends to drop BG levels rather hard at the beginning of the cycle. Again typically, there's about an hour and a half or thereabouts before you notice the Vetsulin dose starting to 'kick in' (often observable as an uptick in appetite where cat looks for food). In such cases testing at +2 - +3 hours after the injection was given is a good time to catch how low the dose is taking the cat. Typically, the lowering effect happens over the first few hours, the cat's BG stays lower for a few hours then starts to rise a good bit as the dose wears off (a cup-shaped curve). However ... every cat is different and sometimes Vetsulin can kick in much earlier. My cat's a case in point. Sometimes it might take as little as 45 minutes for a dose to really kick in, reach the lowest point in the cycle less than 2 hours after the dose was given, and for BG to be rising by the time a test is done at +3 hours after injection time.

I think you need to contact your vet as a matter of urgency to decide on a suitable dose reduction. I can't suggest a suitable dose reduction for you but if it were my cat I would not be comfortable with giving any further doses at 6 IU.

I strongly suggest that you keep to the following for the time being:

1. Sort out a dose reduction ASAP.
2. Get a preshot test 30 minutes before every insulin dose then give Garfield a good feed (so that there are some carbs in the system for the insulin to work on when it kicks in).
3. Where possible monitor for clinical signs of onset of the Vetsulin dose (e.g. obvious sign of food-seeking).
4. Test at +1, +2 and +3 hours after each insulin dose wherever possible so that you'll be able to see what the Vetsulin dose is doing earlier in the cycle (and possibly catch lows that are driving the bounces).
5. ALWAYS get a before bed test for Garfield to make sure he'll be safe while you're sleeping.
6. For the time being, if Garfield was mine I would ensure that he had free access to foods with a reasonable carb % if I had to leave him unattended (e.g. leaving the house for whatever reason).



Those clinical signs indicate that Garfield is not properly regulated. If your vet's response to your concerns is to advise you to increase the dose (happens) I suggest you seek a second opinion from another vet with a better appreciation of how to treat feline diabetes; one who recognises that the effect of too much insulin can look like too little (i.e. both can result in BG going too high).

Finally, just in case you've not found these forum stickies yet, here is advice on things to look for and how to treat hypoglycaemic episodes:

How to Treat Hypo (print this out and keep it somewhere it's easy to lay your hands on in an emergency)

Hypo Tool Kit

Please keep posting and letting us know how things are going, and ask about anything you're unsure of. We'll do all we can to help you and Garfield.



Mogs
.
I called the vet and talked with her about the dosage of Vetsulin Garfiled is on. She's looking over the bg tests I've done this past week and will be calling me back soon.
 
Ok. Garfields vet called me back about his dosage of Vetsulin. She said she wants to keep him on the current dose for now. She said when she last saw him he had a bit of infection in his ears and wants me to bring him in to get it checked out. She also said to not do bg test for 2-3 days to let him rest and then recheck his bg levels. She did say his bg tests have been bouncing around and that's why she wants to let him rest a couple days.
He seems to be doing fine. Eating well, using his litter box, drinking ok.
When I tested him today at 1:00 pm (5 hrs post injection ) his bg was 153.
 
Got it set up for you and sent you the link

Learning how to use it on a tablet is a little trickier than on a computer, but we have lots of people using tablets and smartphones so I'm sure you'll be able to too
Ya. I was looking over the spreadsheet and I am a bit stumped. How do you put in the numbers?
 
How do you put in the numbers?

What kind of tablet do you have? It can make a difference

Basically, you should be able to open the spreadsheet through the Google Drive app (as long as you're signed into Google) and then find the cell you want to enter information into and "tap" it to highlight...then your "keyboard" should show up for you to enter info with
 
What kind of tablet do you have? It can make a difference

Basically, you should be able to open the spreadsheet through the Google Drive app (as long as you're signed into Google) and then find the cell you want to enter information into and "tap" it to highlight...then your "keyboard" should show up for you to enter info with
I have an IPad 2
 
Maybe I've got this wrong but the vet seems to be implying that the testing has something to do with the high numbers and not the insulin dose. Does your cat get anxious when you test?

If it were my cat I would still test to make sure that my cat was safe.


Mogs
.
Garfield does not like to be tested. My husband has to help me keep him steady so I can do the test. I reward Garfiled with love and praise after the test.
I think the vet also is thinking that maybe the infection may be part of the problem with his numbers. I will still test him just to be safe.
 
I think the vet also is thinking that maybe the infection may be part of the problem with his numbers.
Is Garfield receiving any treatment for the infection?

BTW the presence of an infection is another reason to be more vigilant. A cat may be on safe dose X with an infection present but if the infection resolves then BG levels may decrease as a consequence which could then result in dose X being too high and potentially no longer safe.

I had the opposite problem last week. Saoirse has a UTI and there was inflammation at the surgery site. Her BG was sky high - way above renal threshold - but the vets would not even give a token dose to her just in case the infection resolved and her numbers dropped. Vets! :banghead:

I think it's a good call to keep an eye on Garfield's BG levels.


Mogs
.
 
I'll be glad to set up the SS for you and tell you how to use it on your iPad. It's far easier to set up on a desktop.

I'll send you a private message to get some info so I can set it up for you. Look in the upper right corner of this page and click on "inbox" and you'll see a message from me.:):)
 
Is Garfield receiving any treatment for the infection?

BTW the presence of an infection is another reason to be more vigilant. A cat may be on safe dose X with an infection present but if the infection resolves then BG levels may decrease as a consequence which could then result in dose X being too high and potentially no longer safe.

I had the opposite problem last week. Saoirse has a UTI and there was inflammation at the surgery site. Her BG was sky high - way above renal threshold - but the vets would not even give a token dose to her just in case the infection resolved and her numbers dropped. Vets! :banghead:

I think it's a good call to keep an eye on Garfield's BG levels.


Mogs
.
I take Garfield to the Vet on Friday so he can be checked for infection in his ears. Then the vet will put him on anti biotic.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top