? Blood glucose headed towards OJT QUESTIONS

Diane Tyler's Mom GA

Member Since 2018
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/conversations/blood-glucose-headed-towards-ojt-questions.115736/

Hi everyone I received this PM and told her she should post it so everyone can give advice
I see she has never posted before other than in the supply closet
Here is the discussion and I answered a few questions for her

Looking at her SS the numbers and doses are all over the place
I see she had given insulin when her kitty BG was in the 50's and 60's at times
Also I see her kitty dropped below 90 and she did not reduce, she is doing SLGS
She doesn't have much tests during each cycle so obviously it's hard to see how the dose is working for her kitty.
Looking in her remarks section all the way towards the bottom it looks like she is feeding FF Pate. I asked her to add what she is feeding to her signature
I also see she has given bupe and gabapentin

Can some of you give her some advice
I hope I did the correct thing and posted it for you all to see

@Wendy&Neko


@Chris & China (GA)


@Christie & Maverick

@tiffmaxee

@Sienne and Gabby (GA)


@Bandit's Mom


@Bron and Sheba (GA)

Thank you ladies






meConversations>
Blood glucose headed towards OJT QUESTIONS
Mark as UnreadStar ConversationLeave Conversation

  1. carlascalico
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2020
    Hi Diane,
    First congratulations on Tyler. Phenomenal feat on you former diabetic kitty.
    I have been following you and spreadsheet recently because lower numbers are unfamiliar territory to me and most of the forums deal with new members with higher numbers. I am still on 1.5 units of Lantus for my sugar kitty Cali. I started following the document dosage guidelines I found on our website group from the University of Queensland. This is pretty consistent with advice I have seen from moderators responding to members.

    My spreadsheet is Carla’scalico. On SLGS method. On AMPS and PMPS, numbers above 100, I feel comfortable with test, feed and shoot. Below those numbers is where I panic or stress to hold before shot for 30-60. Minutes or reduce dose age by 0.25.
    Specific discussion with you and your gained expertise would be so helpful to me. From my spreadsheet you can see I have fewer tests between AMPS AND PMPS because it takes two people and very hard to test. Cali has not conceded to frequent tests. She gets SO amped up. Numerous tests fail after repeated pokes.
    Did you use a caliper devise? To dose 0.1 and drops. If so, I need to research and obtain.
    I hope we can dialog as I am determined to keep this wild “love of our lives” cat alive. We have made much progress and I don’t want to blow it now.
    Thank you so much
    Carla

    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1TYtdbtf_qGzMgCvHlw8ulzE6StM8c1Ez6fLFXYDquJ4/edit?usp=sharing
    carlascalico, Today at 3:37 PMReport
    Reply


  2. Diane Tyler's Mom
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Hi there I will be happy to answer some of your questions , but the members like for you to post so everyone can see it, can you go to the lantus forum and post this.
    One thing I can say I never used calipers to dose 0.10 or the drop dose

    Tyler’s Spreadsheet
    Diane Tyler's Mom, 23 minutes agoReport
    Reply


  3. Diane Tyler's Mom
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I was looking at your SS and see you have given him bupe , gabapentin,
    Is this every day, I would add that to you signature also and add what you feed her

    Tyler’s Spreadsheet
    Diane Tyler's Mom, 11 minutes agoReport
    Reply


  4. Diane Tyler's Mom
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Believe me I'm no expert lol The members here have helped me get Tyler into remission
 
Last edited:
49822973598_f0540f7a37_w.jpg


0.1
 
To measure a drop dose, push the plunger of the empty syringe in fully, keep it pressed and insert in the pen. Let go of the pressure on the plunger and it will draw a drop. When you insert the needle into him, push the plunger and count to ten if he will let you.
 
Welcome. Since you are following slgs you should reduce if a bg is ever under 90 but you have not been reducing. When you get a test under 100 and especially if at amps/pmps it is very important to test again in a couple hours. The dose is too high if following slgs. If you want to follow tr and are feeding all wet food you can shoot these lower numbers but again need a minor one more test each cycle. What do you think?
 
I so appreciate the additional information and agree more data will help me switch to TR. I monitor (visually) constantly but want to give the right dosage to Cali. She is on 100% wet food, Friskees pate 1 1/4 can per day. I have many additional handwritten notes that I have not typed into my spreadsheet. Hardest things to do now are not dropping dosage immediately when I hit a lower number, then immediately increasing when a spike occurs. Each day helps with more data. I have not given GAB nor BUP since some time in May. That way I have fewer variables to consider. Sounds like I need to reduce 6/25 dosage by 0.25 down to 1.25 for 4-6 cycles and see if we are holding good BG. THANK YOU DIANE AND ALL
 
Carla why don't you start posting everyday on the lantus board with Cali's BG
Everyday we start a new thread (post)
It would be the
Date Cali AMPS (her BG number)
Then additional tests after that such as +2 her BG)
+4 her BG
You can also put her PMPS
In case you needed help if her AMPS or PMPS is too low
Such as ? Need Help AMPS LOW What to do?

Or if she drops too low during the cycles
 
Hardest things to do now are not dropping dosage immediately when I hit a lower number, then immediately increasing when a spike occurs.

When they drop too low, they can "bounce". Bounces happen when 1. they drop too low, 2. they drop too fast, 3. they drop into numbers their body isn't used to anymore (or any combination of all 3). The liver releases stored sugars and hormones to bring the blood glucose back up (and it usually overshoots it quite a bit)....so the cat "bounces" high. It can take up to 6 cycles for those hormones to clear the body, so you just have to sit on your hands and don't react to them by going back up to the dose that just caused the bounce in the first place!

It's also important for you to be getting at least 1 test "before bed" on the PM cycle. Most cats go lower at night so it's important to know she's going to be safe before you go to Snoozeville. Also, without tests on the PM cycle, you're missing half the data....that's like trying to figure out what the puzzle picture is when you only have pieces filled out on the left side.

Hang in there!
 
Back
Top