Blaze and Paola AMPS 16.3 (293.4)

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Blaze and Paola, Sep 1, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Good morning Mogs and friends.
    I slept last night!! And I feel refreshed this morning, ready to work :?
    AMPS is 16.3 he is still eating really well this morning...planning on shooting 0.5 units. Good plan?
    I am home until 11:45 then I am on site at work for more meetings. This week is different with times and I am glad because it's more virtual than anything so I can monitor.
     
  2. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Going to get ready for work, I think someone had sent a link with all the FF nutritional values for the classic pates.
    Can you send the link again?
    Do you always give your kitties the same flavour to stay consistent with the nutritional values?
    The vet yesterday told me to use the same all the times but my boys get bored easily.
    I just want to see the different in nutritional values, carb content, fat and protein.
    I found this: http://my.execpc.com/~geezer/catfood.htm
    But I am not sure if it is updated and recent.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  3. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Scroll down to FF. You want under 10% carbs.
    A variety is fine.
    Not all foods are available in Canada.
     
  4. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
  5. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Oh I see it’s already linked. Whichever one gets a response gets moved to the top. This should help.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  6. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Learning curve is not just huge, it’s enormous. No apologies needed when you forget something. Sleep deprivation makes it even harder. Plus I remember how hectic the beginning of the school year can be. :bighug:
     
  7. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Especially in a pandemic mode...I gave him a bit of food, put some food out and I am going to go...i will be thinking about him the whole time. But I know he will be ok.
    Thank you for EVERYTHING.
     
  8. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    HAVE A GREAT DAY PALOA!!
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  9. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Sorry I missed you earlier, Paola. Hope school goes well. :)

    Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers - Beef Feast 20% carbs
    Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers - Other varieties c. 15% carbs


    Mogs
    .
     
  10. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Hope your day is going well, Paola. :)


    Mogs
    .
     
  11. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Thinking of you. I hope you aren't worrying. You left him in safe numbers. :)
     
  12. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Hi Tiff and Mogs,

    I have been worrying all day, I tried not to but couldn't. I went to work, came back stayed with the boys and tested him. Then worked on my online modules was. Now I am ready for the dinner routine! Sorry I wasn't able to reply I had to try and finish today's work load.

    I managed to test him mid day and just now PMPS 9.4 (169.2). He is lower than usual at this time...worried 0.50 might be too much?
     
  13. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    This is where it gets interesting. He’s over 150 so it’s safe to safe to shoot. If you are okay to stay up if need be it will help us figure out what to do in the morning. What is your day like tomorrow?
     
  14. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Tomorrow I have more training BUT I am allowed to do it from home and not at work. I have a virtual staff meeting at 8:45...which means I can sleep longer. So I can monitor tonight. Another pj party it is.
     
  15. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    He had a really good day. Lantus likes consistency and he hasn’t had consistent doses for really good reasons. I think it will help a lot to try and give him the same dose tonight and tomorrow morning since it works for you. If he drops under 90 we know he goes down to .25 for sure.
    Do you agree Mogs?
     
  16. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    The terror I have is starting from next week when my long days away from home start...That scares me, I will leave everyday at 7:45 and come back at 3:45 pm.
    That's when official school starts for the kids. To be honest I hated virtual school back in March to June but I hope we go back to it so I can be with Blaze all day and night.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  17. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    ah...he left his eating area and the bowl still has a lot of food in it. He ate less than half
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  18. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    He is making things complicated tonight :/
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  19. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    He ate enough to dose? Or are you worried he won’t eat? That’s why we need as much info before you return to work full time.
     
  20. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Full dose?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  21. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Are you worried about his appetite? How long since you last tested? If less than 30 you could test again.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  22. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    I tested 25 minutes ago but the shot time would be in 3 minutes...or I miss the mark
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  23. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Test now.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  24. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    I guess he wasn't very hungry today overall except for the morning...
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  25. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    I do, Elise. What I've been hoping for over the next few days is to grab this excellent chance for Paola to monitor extensively so that she can determine whether the 0.5IU dose is safe, and she will have greater peace of mind when she's at work, etc.

    And yes, didn't Blaze have a very good day! :)

    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  26. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    We will see if he’s on the rise.
     
  27. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Me too! We sure agree a lot.
     
  28. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    He's a cat. That's his job. ;)

    .
     
  29. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    10.2 (183.6)
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  30. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Great minds, Elise... ;)

    .
     
  31. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
  32. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Shoot .50. Agree Mogs?
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  33. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
  34. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    You have gravy if he goes low. If he drops under 90 you know he’s going to .25.
     
  35. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    I shot. But I am 11 minutes late from the time I shot this morning...is it bad?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  36. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    That's absolutely fine, Paola.

    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  37. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Thank God! Thank you...I think that the amount of the anxiety I have had this week alone will surpass the one I have in the past year lol
     
  38. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    It won’t change a thing. Shooting 15 early or late should not make any difference. You will still be able to shoot on time in the morning.
     
  39. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    We are hoping to get enough data to change that so you can go to work without worrying, even if he gets less than he might need at first. He’s looking really good right now.
     
  40. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Thank you, that is good to know. I am learning so much. If it wasn't for you gals, I would be lost
     
  41. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    [​IMG]



    (Told you I was gonna half-inch that. :) )

    .
     
  42. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    I put the results of the post PMPS quick test (10.2) in the notes...Is that where is goes?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  43. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    You could put it in the PMPS box. Put both. 10.2@+25
     
  44. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Now I have 1 hr 45 minutes to make dinner, eat and chill a little. Just between you and ...everyone else here (lol) I lost 4 pounds in 4 days...from all the stress. I want to try and have a good dinner tonight...like veggies and fish and rice.
     
  45. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    I am gonna do a +2 I am assuming when the Lantus starts taking effect, right? that's where calculation came from lol
     
  46. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Sounds good, Paola.

    .
     
  47. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    One more thing...neither of my cats are going to the water fountain anymore...before they were drinking way more, especially Blaze
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  48. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    In a regulated diabetic cat, there is less glucose that needs to be flushed out through the urine, therefore less drinking.
    Also, it was not as hot the last couple of days.
     
  49. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    +2 reading 4.8 (86.4)
     
  50. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Let's say I wasn't home...what if this happens when i am at work? He is playing right now, he seems happy...but it is a lower number
     
  51. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    That is why trying to figure out the best dose for Blaze is happening this week.

    You will have the feeders. You will have more knowledge. You may be able to dash home on your break. One person occasionally took their cat to school with them. Her kindergarten class was delighted. But that was in the US at a private school.

    Find out if one of your stay-at-home neighbours is willing, on occasion, to come in to get a test and feed. Or even make sure Blaze has eaten and feed some more.
     
    Critter Mom and tiffmaxee like this.
  52. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Do cats know if they need to eat if they feel low sugar? Would he be able to know he needs food on his own?
     
  53. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Some do, some don't.
    Some people have had their cat literally screaming at them for food. Other people don't know the cat is below 50 until they take a test.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  54. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    And then the cat messes with you by not being consistent.
     
    Critter Mom and Blaze and Paola like this.
  55. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013

    taking a cat to work would never have been allowed where I worked. this is why I suggested you shoot .50 tonight. Her new dose is now .25. We now know that. :D.
     
  56. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    I can't take him to work...not allowed but also way too stressful on him. My work is 25 min away from home :(
    Should i give him some food?
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  57. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    It will help slow the drop.
    Blaze has earned the reduction. There's nothing to prove.
    Don't feed him too much though. You may need him to be hungry if he drops below 50 later on.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  58. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    He is not eating
     
  59. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Is a treat ok instead?
     
  60. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Wait 30 minutes and see if he'll eat. He may be full.
    Save the high carb treats for low numbers events.
     
    Critter Mom and tiffmaxee like this.
  61. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    He had a little bit
     
    Critter Mom and Red & Rover (GA) like this.
  62. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    You just want him to eat every hour to keep his bg up until he hits nadir. How long has he had appetite issues? I’m thinking something else is going on.
     
    Red & Rover (GA) likes this.
  63. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    What is nadir again? He was very fond of the dry food, he ate that a lot, now that the dry is gone, he has been eating the wet well but it's like he gets tired of the same flavor after like 3 days of having it. for example, when i tried to give him a little bit before it was the turkey and giblets one...he walked away. Then I tried with a little Ocean whitefish and he had a little bit of that...
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  64. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Sorry. It’s the lowest point in the cycle. Lantus is dosed upon how low it takes a cat. We test to see if safe to shoot, we feed to make sure they will eat, and then shoot. What about getting a low carb dry food? There’s nothing wrong with that. I think Jayla suggested a Nulo. There’s also Dr. elseys. Do you have any dry left?
     
    jayla-n-Drevon and Critter Mom like this.
  65. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    I bought the Dr Elsey's one, i have it
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  66. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    See if he will eat any.
     
    Critter Mom and Blaze and Paola like this.
  67. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    the thing I don't understand is how can I know when his nadir is if I give him little foods to keep the blood sugar higher when he is approaching a lower zone?
    But on the other end, to see how low it gets it's scary because he could go into hypo...it's like there's no win here
     
  68. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    he is devouring it
     
  69. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Right now we are trying to figure out how much insulin he needs. Some cats go into remission just from a lower carb diet. That just might be happening here. Staying in safe normal numbers helps the pancreas to heal.
     
    Critter Mom and Blaze and Paola like this.
  70. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    and he is looking for more
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  71. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Bingo! He was on a food strike.
     
  72. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    So I guess I will have to give him some dry options as well...he was so used to it before...but this is the good kind finally, and it looks exactly like the other one in shape. My other cat Ash, when he saw it, he dove right in and ate some too
     
    tiffmaxee and Critter Mom like this.
  73. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    The work you're doing now with all the monitoring will enable you to 'see' the effect of Blaze's insulin dose. You've already established tonight that 0.25IU is the dose better suited to Blaze's current insulin requirements. Over the next few days, you'll hold that dose and the Lantus depot (Blaze's 'insulin tank') will build and stabilise. In the couple of days after that, you'll be able to watch the dose working and ensure it is safe without the mid-cycle feeding. That should help to reassure you that Blaze will be OK while you're at work.

    .
     
    Red & Rover (GA) and tiffmaxee like this.
  74. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Gannet. :rolleyes:

    .
     
    Blaze and Paola likes this.
  75. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Your goal will be to get him to eat both wet and dry. It’s funny but my two I have now are raw fed and one won’t even tough dry. I bought some Dr. Elsey’s to give as a treat. One ate a few pieces. The other would not touch it.
     
    Blaze and Paola and Critter Mom like this.
  76. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    In a diabetic cat, what is the best range for the blood glucose to be for the pancreas to start healing
     
  77. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Is it between 120 and 300?
     
  78. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Ideally you would like him to be in normal numbers which is under 120. Renalthreshold is around 240 so at least under that.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  79. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Normal BG reference ranges:

    On a human meter, 50-120mg/dL, or 2.8-6.7mmol/L (per FDMB protocols).

    On an Alphatrak, 70-150mg/dL, or 3.9-8.3mmol/L (per information provided by my vet).

    .
     
    Blaze and Paola likes this.
  80. jayla-n-Drevon

    jayla-n-Drevon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Dr Elsey salmon is almost 10% carb and chicken is almost 5%
    Dre was crazy about it until I got him Nulo---as for the wet and not liking it after 3 days LOL welcome to my world:smuggrin:
    :bighug:
     
  81. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    +4 test is at 3.8 (68.4)
     
  82. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    I have the chicken one
     
  83. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    More food please. Maybe a treat to bring up a bit.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  84. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Nite, peeps. And cat.

    Wishing you all a safe and steady night. Will check in when I surface later on this morning.

    :bighug:

    .
     
    tiffmaxee and Blaze and Paola like this.
  85. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Good night and thank you!! :bighug:
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  86. jayla-n-Drevon

    jayla-n-Drevon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    if he is that picky on food you may want to get salmon as well to bring his bg up-
    Im going to look for Nulo carbs-mine love it going to investigate
     
  87. jayla-n-Drevon

    jayla-n-Drevon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    I can't find the carb value but I found this...
    • ideal diet for cats who need a low carbohydrate and glycemic food regimen.
    https://www.chewy.com/nulo-freestyle-chicken-cod-recipe/dp/104626

    Dre does not spike from this and it has helped when he eats it with some wet when his bg is too low.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  88. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    The salmon is 7.9 according to chewy.
     
    Blaze and Paola and Critter Mom like this.
  89. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    tiffmaxee likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page