Blackie AMPS 377 - Hubby Seems To Think...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Member Since 2010
That Blackie will never become regulated. :( I know that she's been on the Lantus since July 25th, and this does take time, at least many months, to get a cat regulated. I'm beginning to feel the same way that hubby does, although I'm trying to keep the hope up that she will become regulated. Eventually. I'm seeing a pattern when I increase her dosage, the first day usually is the best one, and then she gets wonky #'s again, and then she's back in the pinks, and doesn't seem to want to let go. Am I increasing too quickly? I'm going according to the protocol, however, I'm thinking I may need to give her at least 2 more days for her body to become adjusted to the insulin increases. I don't know. I'm feeling discouraged. That's all I know.

I know this is the same thing that ya'll have heard me say before, many times, and I'm sorry if I feel like a broken record.
 
Re: Hubby Seems To Think...

Hey Angela,

No broken records here. Questions are always beneficial for you, your kitty and others learning. I'm sorry Blackie is taking awhile to adjust. I"m a newbie so I can't give any great information on the dosing question. However, in reading others SS here, I see lots of kitties taking a period of time to adjust and then something clicks for them.

One of the LL experts here might be able to look at Blackie's information and provide some valuable feedback.

Hang in there....We're pulling for you and Blackie.
 
Re: Hubby Seems To Think...

Angela, I think you had it right when you said this:
"I know that she's been on the Lantus since July 25th, and this does take time, at least many months, to get a cat regulated."
What are Blackie's AMPS today? And how is Blackie feeling? All Ps in place?
I know everyone will want to know the answers to the above so I asked them right off the bat. Maybe you can change your header to include Blackie's name and AMPS, k?

Perhaps your expectations were different from what you said in that statement.
ECID but usually it does take time and a lot of patience to see this through. Shadow has been struggling for a year now while his sister went off the juice last Dec, 4 months after starting insulin. I hear your frustration ~ believe me!
Will Blackie ever be regulated?
I believe the answer is Yes, but I couldn't venture a guess as to exactly when that will be.
I hope you will try to look at the big picture...Blackie is doing better on insulin and needs it, and then maybe realize that patience is really important for each one of us here....hang in there! Hopefully, someone will come along who will be able to suggest something about how long to hold the dose...
 
Re: Hubby Seems To Think...

I see you have another condo for today...no one has replied to that one yet, so can you ask that question in this thread Angela? You will be able to delete that other condo...and then put the AMPS in the header of this one, okay? :razz:
 
Re: Hubby Seems To Think...

Here's my post copied from your duplicate post|:

To know the road ahead, ask the man coming back.

What you are feeling is perfectly natural; it's something that everyone here has felt at least once.
You need to step back and look at the protocol and the reasoning behind it, plus you need to look to the cat and see how Blackie is doing, because it's NOT all about the numbers. It is for that reason you see people posting the WCR:

Now, what you are doing is searching for Blackie's perfect dose, in baby steps. If you go too quickly with the dose, you are most likely going to jump WAY over Blackie's perfect dose.

The protocol says when to increase, and most times after holding for 6 cycles because some kitties wait till that last 6th shot to give you a better number. Sometimes I have to wait even longer for Oliver like 8 or 10 shots before he 'decides' to give me a better number. He takes his time with everything!

Always keep the shed in mind - you have to fill that bucket before you can tell if the dose is fitting. Right now, you are at still a low dose, so just stick to the plan and watch for the improvements in Blackie. There are some kitties who are nicely regulated at higher doses, so it's that slow slow slow climb up the dosing ladder that can get you down, but ONLY if you let it!

As for never getting regulated, you need to keep in mind that Blackie did not become a diabetic overnight or in a couple months, so just like losing weight, you need to give it time.

The time will depend on the kitty and Mr. Liver and Mr. Pancreas, and not the length of time on insulin.
You are doing a great job and I am sure the Blackie feels the same way.
Don't worry; you'll get Blackie regulated and who knows, maybe even right off insulin!
If you were to look at Randi/Max and see how they were and how they are now, maybe it will help you a bit. Max got up to a high dose around 6.75u or something,
then started coming down and is now OTJ.

As a reminder of the protocol to know if you are increasing correctly:
"General" Guidelines:

--- Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 cycles).

--- Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).

--- Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.


Increasing the dose...
--- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.


Reducing the dose...
--- If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

--- If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.

--- Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.


Random Notes...
Because of the cumulative nature of Lantus and Levemir:
An early shot = a dose increase.
A late shot = a dose reduction.

A "cycle" refers to the period of time between shots. There are 2 cycles in one day when shooting twice a day.

Sometimes a dose will need to be "fine tuned" by adding some "fat" or "skinny-ing up" the dose.

There are some circumstances such as ketones present, an unusually low preshot number, a caregiver leaving the cat with a sitter, relatively high flat curves, loss of appetite, infection, a schedule change, ability to monitor, etc. which may call for adjustments to these guidelines.
 
Re: Hubby Seems To Think...

Isn't it frustrating? Before I knew that the Tight Regulation protocol existed I used to just wave my magic wand and wonder why Rufus was still running upstairs and hiding every time someone came to the door (he tends to get anxious when his regulation is poor). Looking at Blackie's spreadsheet, it doesn't take an experienced eye to see she's having a difficult time of it. :sad: However, it probably takes an experienced eye to help you pull Blackie out of her hot-air balloon.

Remember, Blackie's working her hardest to get better, but she needs you both to stay optimistic for her, too, even as impossible as that can seem sometimes. We (both Rufus and I) are rooting for you.
 
I have another condo because I wasn't thinking. I only hope that she doesn't need 8u BID like she did when she was on ProZinc. I know that she's not frequenting the water bowl as often as she used to, and hasn't been for quite a long time now. She's cleaning herself more. Throwing up those proverbial hairballs, of course.

I guess what I'm truly feeling is discouraged with everything, not just her alone. Our lives are quite a bit stressed right now (I know that everyone's is, don't get me wrong), and I just would like something good to come our way for once. Perhaps even something good to happen for Blackie. That'll be a start in the right direction. Lord knows.. She needs something good to happen for her.

I need to check her for ketones today sometime.
 
Angela --

The protocol is meant as a guideline. If you think that Blackie will benefit from a few more cycles on a dose, wait and see if you're right. There are all sorts of factors that influence when you change a dose -- not just the protocol. I try to not increase Gabby's dose early in the week especially if I know I have appointments that I can't move around, should I need to.

You're doing everything right. Just try to remember that Blackie has the lead in this sugar dance. All you can do is follow.
 
I may leave this dose for 4 or 5 days and see where she goes. I know that I keep saying that everytime I increase her dosage. Perhaps this time there may be a difference. Guess we'll have to see.

I appreciate all of your support. I know that you've been where I am right now. I'm truly glad that others are OTJ, and getting lower #'s. I continue to send my prayers and wishes for them all to have continued success. :)

Thank you, folks, for being here for me. Like I said, I apologize for sounding like a broken record.
 
Sienne's for sure right about sticking to a dose longer if that's what you think is Blackie's style .... I have two opposites - Shadoe reacts much faster to shots and to dose changes, but Ollie sure likes to take his sweet time about things! Sometimes, it takes him almost a week to react!

It's great to hear that there are less trips to the water bowl - it's that sort of thing you will see that says the insulin is working.
I hope things pick up soon for you and the numbers start to look better for Blackie.

I don't see why you need to apologize; I am betting that almost everyone has felt the frustration and disappointment when they wait after an increase, hoping for a magic improvement, then find it's still not the perfect dose. It's OK to vent; we all need it from time to time.
 
:YMHUG: Angela

I hope Blackie will show you some better numbers soon! I know I keep saying that, but eventually, she will! You are starting to see some signs that she is feeling better, so you're on the right track. I would listen to the experienced folks here, they have been there, done that, and can help guide you. I can only be a cheerleader for you and Blackie and keep rooting for you both!!

Tinkles is on the pink floor with Blackie this morning. Hopefully they will find their way down the elevator together!
 
hang in there Blackie will show improvement soon. I won't tell you to be patient since I'm terrible at it. I'll just provide you with a cyber hug
 
Please hang in there you have no idea how many down moments I have had as well Do Lou has been on insulin since Nov 2(novolin) and lantus (March) and now Lev but we are not giving up every cat is different and every cat takes a different amount of time I consider my cat to be a difficult case actually but still have that hope that he will get to have a OTJ party one day but if he does not he is doing much better now then he was. BUT it took him about 2 months of being on lantus to see the changes in him and you are not that far along yet so try to hang in there I know how hard and frustrating it is sending you a HUGE ((((((HUG)))))) :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
I hear you loud and clear Doodles was diagnosed in April, we have had our good days and our not so good days where it seems it's never going to get better :sad: But my mother
put it into perspective for me. She is a Nurse Practioner and reminded me that medicine is not perfect it is a practice ohmygod_smile
I have tried for months to be perfect, to make Doodles insulin free and have an awesome OTJ party in just a few short months :smile:
Now I'm happy to know that she is not the cat she was in April, she is happy, she plays, she cleans herself more than any cat I've seen :lol: I think she cleans so much
she is licking the color right out of her fur :lol: she was pure black she now has red highlights :lol:

If you would have talked to me the other day my spirits were down because she's hanging in the darn yellows with some really stinkus pinkus numbers ohmygod_smile I increased by just
a drop and she had great numbers yesterday! She was in the blues whoo hoo!

Hang in there, take a deep breath, then take a nap :lol: I've come to the conclusion she may be on insulin her whole life and that's ok for me, the bonus will be if she becomes juice free for
now both of us are happy :-D

Have a great day!
 
Dear Angela, never, never, apologize for your feelings. I'm sure we've all been frustrated at one time or another. I certainly am. Checkers has been up and down, since he started on Lantus in Feb. I have hopes that he will be regulated, but if he isn't , so be it. I will do whatever makes him feel good.

Tell us every day, how Blackie feels, and what he's doing. When you write it down, I bet you see, he is a happy kitty, despite numbers you don't like.
 
I hope you're feeling better.

And I agree with all the posts you received today.
We too were in your shoes.
Sad days yes, but try to focus on the good things.
She's very lucky to have you and DH. cat_pet_icon


(((hugs))))
 
Hi Angela, Don't despair! Blackie is the leader in the sugardance. She'll get regulated at some point, and in the meantime she is getting good care and lots of love from you and DH. Stu has been on insulin (first PZI vet, now Lantus) since January of 2006. I've made numerous mistakes, but he has always been a good, cheerful cat despite some awful numbers. Focus on your cat and not just on the numbers. You are doing a good job. It just may take a while for all the pieces to fall into place. Hang in there!

Ella & Stu
 
We've been at this since 5/2008. I have felt like you have today so many times - I have lost count. It takes alot of patience, alot of support. Blackie will get there - it just takes time for some cats. Mannie is one of them - I'm finally after all this time and so many dose adjustments starting to see some good results. Mannie has the lead - I rejoice in every accomplishment he makes. Good luck - fear not: it will all come together.
 
Hi! We are here since 02/2008--First I thought Moonie would go into remission after a few months, she didnt..
Then I thought it would take a little more time..Still waiting
Then I hoped for regulation, and Finally she is regulated..BUT FD is an unpredicible disease--She goes through different stages of regulation--
Sometimes she loses momentum, & slides back a bit--
Then I REALIZED How Much Better She Felt & How Happy she is, and How wonderful IT IS TO BE Part of this Board which has helped me manage my darling fur baby, --What great friends I have found here, What devotion & inspiration really mean..

The first day Blackie has a Really Good day, you will smile & feel the same way as I do--
BIG HUGS From Us! :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top