Bix & civie update

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joanna & Bix (GA)

Very Active Member
Bix is still going strong, YAY! He is of course going downhill, but slower than I expected, and he still seems well enough. I am struggling off & on with the "when is it euthansia time?" decision, YUCK, but so far my gut is that it just isn't time yet - I haven't seen barfing in ages, and though he doesn't eat a lot, he still is eating, and looks moderately comfortable most of the time. No signs of distress, and the feeling somewhat icky seems up & down. When it comes, so far it hasn't been severe enough or stayed long enough for me to feel like it's time to pick up the phone & call the vets. So we keep going day by day. It is really a blessing to have this time with him, and he is semi-snuggly, so that is nice to feel like I'm getting some quality time with him every day.

On the civie front, Pippa, one of my torties, is having some problems. She has had mild IBD for years and so far I have been able to manage it with diet changes periodically. This fall that strategy failed, and she has been losing weight & vomiting frequently w/intermittent icky-poo, no matter what food I have tried for her. We put her on Budesonide (and FortiFlora) which has seemed to reduce the vomiting, but she hasn't gained weight. So last week we raised the Budesonide dose - so far I haven't seen improvement, but I want to give it another week. I've also been experimenting with different foods. She's eating better now, but I haven't found anything so far that doesn't get barfed back up at least a couple times a week (and then she doesn't want to eat it so much after that, poor girl).

The vet is thinking if this Budesonide dose doesn't help we will put her on Pred. She had a BG of 180-ish at her last bloodwork, a few weeks ago. :evil: So I am pretty freaked out at the thought of going the Pred route with her, and a reasonable chance of turning her into a sugar-cat. She is my most fidgety cat, rarely sits still (near me) for more than a couple minutes, so I think home testing is going to be a challenge (jeez, I could be a newbie again! :? ).

I've been bummed about Bix of course, and now bummed too that Pippa isn't responding better to the Bude. I had always assumed that if it came to the point of meds for her, we'd slap her on a low dose of Bude and she'd be fine for a year or two before I had to think about it further. The fact that she hasn't responded like I thought she would makes me wonder if it could be that it's already jumped to lymphoma nailbite_smile. My gut is that it isn't that, since otherwise she seems the same - not subdued, coat is beautiful, she isn't underweight, just dropped the excess poundage, etc. (compared to Bix who has for months seemed to be changed and going downhill). But I'm puzzled she hasn't done better on the Bude.

Anyhow, I am going to give the Bude another week and keep my fingers crossed that it helps, as well as continue to look for alternative foods and maybe I'll stumble on something that works for her. I'm feeling kind of overwhelmed with what to do beyond that. Realistically I think we'll have to try Pred, I can't just leave her losing weight & barfing all the time, but gosh my insides really balk at the idea, arghhhh.
 
I'm so sorry you're going through this! I have no words of advice, only support. I hope the bude does kick in and things mellow out for you soon.
 
Bix & Pippa are very lucky to have such a great cat mom. :smile:

My experience with H and Pred was that yes the pred did put him over the edge and was a major factor in his diabetes. However, I failed to recognize that H was likely a borderline diabetic to begin with. The above normal BGs from blood draws at the vet were in interpreted as white coat syndrome. And he was getting cruddy food.

I think what I'm getting at is that I would definitely have more concerns about pred and a cat that showed signs of pre-diabetes to begin with.
 
It's good to hear that Bix is hanging in there and is pretty comfortable. Sorry to hear about Pippa. With such a borderline fd bg number, I hope that a switch to pred doesn't push her that way. Hopefully she was just high because of vet stress. But I'm sending lots of positive thoughts your way that she won't need the pred. Scritches to the kitties!
 
Yeah, I'm not sure if Pip's 180 was white coat syndrome or not. That's the kind of stuff we saw with Bix pre-diagnosis, and wrote it off as that too, but in hindsight I think he may have been pre-d too. He was on crud food too though, and then on Bude for a year, and then Pred for a year, and that's when the diabetes symptoms became apparent.

So maybe I'm worrying too much. I've been thinking sort of like 1 week on Pred and she'll be diabetic, but maybe it takes a lot longer than that, and if I can keep her on LC food maybe she'll do ok? Gosh, that would be nice. I had another cat once who was on Pred for years and on good food (not that I knew that, just turns out his prescription food was likely LC and didn't have a lot of gunk in it), and he never went diabetic.
 
Joanna, I'm glad to hear that Bix is hanging in there so well. It makes me happy that you don't have to make that terrible decision yet. I'm very sorry about Pippa. It is probably stressing you out to no end. I don't know if this will help, but 2 of my civies were vomiting regularly until I switched their foods to the gluten free Fancy Feast. They are mostly the Classics. If you haven't tried them, you might want to do that. I don't have any other suggestions.

FYI - Blackie was just diagnosed with pancreatitis, so I am researching how to help him.

I'm sending prayers for continued health for Bix and for Pippa to get better soon.
 
thanks for the good wishes everyone, and nice to see you around Ele!!! That is tough about Blackie - does he have symptoms, or just something they figured out from a blood test? Hope he is feeling ok. We did try the FF's with Pippa - she likes the chicken classic (in fact she is nibbling on some as I type), but throws it up as much as anything else. I'll recheck the gluten free list, maybe there is something else on it we could try. Give Blackie hugs from me! Bixie says "meow Blackie! getz betur or itz teh pink tutu for ya!"
 
I'm glad Bix is feeling better. Sorry to hear about Pippa, I hope you can get her figured out too.

I'm going to be in the same boat with all of mine being the same age, they will all decline at about the same time.
 
I'm going to be in the same boat with all of mine being the same age, they will all decline at about the same time.
Yeah, 7 of my original 9 were all within a year of each other in age, I got them all from the shelter as kittens or under 1yr (fosters I ended up keeping). Two were older - 1 died quite young, and the other made it to old age, but then died at the same time as one of the younger ones who didn't make it quite as long. But yeah, as I adopted them all I remember thinking "I'll be more mature by the time they are older & hopefully I'll be able to deal with it then!". Guess how you get more mature. ;-) Probably more than you wanted to know :roll: . Hoping yours (and mine & everyone else's!) will stay as healthy as they can for a long time to come! :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top