Biting at me, fluids, ptitis, not getting up

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm giving SubQ fluids 1x per day-1 unit. The first time, Sunday, I tried it was a little less but Monday, yesterday, was ok. She is taking the needle & fluids well but biting at me when I test & give insulin. She has done this before--every time I test her in last week or more, but she has always been pissy when she doesn't want or like something. I also put it up to not feeling well - ptitis. With all of this i never really felt in danger The vet warned me about the dangers of a cat bite and last night she bit at me while giving insulin. I started in one spot and she reacted so I went to another spot thniking i had hit a bad spot. I got the insulin into her but she did bite at me hard enough for me to look to see if any skin was broken. Maybe I'm more sensitive after the vet's warning. I would think insulin needles are easier with a hydrated cat but she didn't seem very hydrated when I lifted her skin for the needle. How can that be with fluids?

She seems bright & ok when I call her name and pet her this morning but hasn't gotten up. She's usually gets up when I get up and pesters me for food or to go out. She's still in bed!

I'm going to call the vet this morning for pain meds. She seems so much better than Sat am but she's not getting up. All her blood work was good on Sat.
 
Ask about a appetite stimulant as well, it sounds like she's just in pain and cranky-hopefully the pain meds will take care of that. Glad you were able to get fluids in her, but you think the skin isn't tenting normally still? Ask the vet, maybe they'll want to re-check hydration. You're doing great, I'm sorry this happened though.
 
To add, Ptitis HURTS, I think you'll see a lot of improvement with some pain management. Also the P is responsible for some digestion, so your cat could be off the food because of that and the pain. Ptitis in humans feels a lot like really bad heartburn, so you can understand why food might not look good to her right now. I have no experience with subq's so I can't really help you there, but I have been thinking about you two and hoping Chong starts healing.
 
Good Morning,

I posted on your thread the other day, but just to recap-- INSIST on the Bupe, it will really help the pain. Cats hide pain well, so she probably is in more pain than you realize. Ptitis is VERY painful. Also, I would ask for Odansetron, it is an anti nausea medicine and nausea can have a big impact on not wanting to eat-- Pepcid is also a good choice, but not as good as Odansetron in my opinion. You might not see symptoms of nausea, but it almost always accompanies Ptitis. Appetitie stimulants also work well-- I am using Mirtazapine with Kitty-- I give it every 72 hours. I would add water to her food if you can-- any fluid intake is Great! Hang in there....it will get better. Glad she is feeling some better since Saturday. When Kitty has a big flare up of Ptitis she is very inactive..just wants to lay around, I think the increased activity and movement is very uncomfortable on the inflamed abdomen.

Sub Qs are great for Ptitis....Kitty never seemed to mind getting them. You said 1 unit....is that 100 mls?

Please ask for Bupe, some vets try to give Metacam for pain......the Bupe is a much safer choice.
 
Thanks. I have called the vet for pain meds and will insist on that particular one and also on the anti-nausea (spelling?). I just tested Chong's BG and it is 163! She took a few bites of food. I didn't give her any insulin in light of this number and very little food. Hope that is a the right choice. Opinions?

Barb & Chong
 
Yes, if she is truely not eating then I would def. not shoot below 200, and probably reduce dose when you do shoot. Of course, if she eats again you will have to go back to your current dosing. Kim should pop in and give an opinion on how much to reduce to compensate for the lack of food, she's got it down!
 
Hi there, hope today things are looking better.

Did you get your meds, and how is Chong? What is BG like, if she's over 200 and eating some but not normally you might want to try 0.5u
 
Hi,
I got the meds - the pain reliever that starts with a B anyway. I gave it to her and she was so out of it I worried something was wrong. Later she seemed ok. She is eating and her BG is in the 200s. I didn't get the anti nausea. The vet read what she had on it and it seemed like more risk than I wanted. I'll stick with Pepcid AC while I can, plus she's eating.

The vet gave me 5 days worth of pain meds---2x/day 12 hours apart. Chong seemed fine so I didn't give her the pain meds again. I also didn't like the initial reaction to it. Do you give as needed or on a schedule?

This morning she doesn't seem to be feeling well and in retrospect she might have been hurting last night. I'll go ahead and give her the meds now.

Still doing the SubQ fluids. She certainly seems to absorb it quickly. That lump of liquid goes down pretty fast. Yesterday is the first day that she wasn't so cooperative and it seemed to either bother her or make her uncomfortable while it was going on.

I'm starting to wear rubber gloves when giving insulin in case Chong bites too hard. It bothers me that the insulin bothers her so much. Sometimes its the needle and sometimes its the insulin. Maybe too cold.

I have trouble with Google Docs sometimes. Cells don't line up and sometimes I'm not able to type in it at all. Have you experienced this?

I'm feeling overwhelmed and worried. I'm worried about trips I have planned in June & July, and how it will effect Chong. We are very attached and I'm not sure how she will be if I go away. Last time I left for 2 days she was very angry and the very experienced cat sitter couldn't test her at all. I cut the insulin dose in half to be safe without testing and her numbers have never been that good since. I think I lost my only chance of her remission. The trips in June & July are a week to 10 days . . .

I keep thinking I should leave for a day or two here and there, even if just going to a friend's house, to get Chong used to it but I can't seem to get myself to do it. The preperation it takes to leave and have someone come in and stay, and the cost, when it's all 'made up' has me frozen. I should do it but can't seem to.

Sorry to unload. Just had to, I guess.

Barb & Chong
 
You're doing great, and with all this you have the right to vent!

Bupe will knock a cat out, but she needs it because if you notice any discomfort you can bet she feels pretty bad, cats hide pain very well so of you see it you know its bad. Maybe if you post your dose and her weight someone will chime in on it, maybe you can give a little less but please give it when scheduled, until the Vet confirms the ptitis is gone.

Cold insulin stings, try filling your syringe and leaving it on the counter for a few to warm, maybe that will help.

As for the travel, it is hard.some harness train their cats and take them along! You might try a post in gen health and try to find a member in your area that you can trade PeT sitting duties with, even a L insulin user will be able to test and follow dosing instructions. Hope Chong starts feeling better
 
Hi Barb,

I hate giving the Bupe too! It makes Kitty's pupils big and she seems zonky at times on it, BUT Ptitis is really painful and the Bupe helps. I do normally give it on an as needed basis, but for the first few days, you probably would be better to give it consistently. What is the dose you are giving?
 
It's the biting and scratching that keeps the cat sitter unable to test. Chong slaps and looks like she is going to bite me too but I'm used to it. I'll post, though, to see who else turns up.

I'll try leaving the insulin out for a bit to warm it up.

I've given her the pain med and will do the whole protocol. The vet never did a test to see if ptitis was flaring. She was pretty sure that was it, felt the test would be expensive and there wasn't that big a need since protocol wouldn't change, and Chong's blood work was good. So how do you know if/when it is gone?

Thanks

Barb & Chong
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top