Big increase in BG levels over past two months

Status
Not open for further replies.

biddledunning

Member Since 2011
Hello all,

I haven't been here for a long time partly because my cat Blue has been doing so well. But recently there have been some changes which I wanted to throw out there incase any one had any thoughts. So, briefly, following advice I received here about two years ago, I started home testing, took my cat of the prescription dry food that he was on and put him on "natural" food, high protein, no grain etc. His insulin needs went down from about 5 units to 1 or 1/2 unit (2 x a day) almost instantly!! So the past 18 months or so we have been cruising at a low dosage with not a great deal of fluctuation. However, in the past 8 weeks, Blue's insulin needs have been slowly creeping up and we are now at 5.5 units, and his BG are still hitting 200's. I haven't been testing extensively, put when I test him, approximately six hours after his shot, his levels aren't much lower when what they were pre-shot. :cry:

So, he is 14 yrs old, on Lantus, seems to be acting normally. The only thing that has changed is that he has become a terror at stealing food. I thought he was just gettting more attitude with old age!, but I don't know. He pulls the door open with trash in it and pulls out pizza crusts, old sandwiches, etc. Knocking over cereal boxes and stealing the food. He never did that when he was younger. Obviously eating pizza is not good for your blood sugar, so I've really had to keep tabs on him.

I will go my vet about this, but to be honest, I have received better advice here sometimes, so I wanted to see if anyone had any ideas.

Thanks!
 
When you say natural food is it still dry or is he eating a wet canned diet?

Also could it be possible that he has something else going on like an infection or a bad tooth? A lot of things can lead to a spike in BGs, infection, pain, underlying health problems etc.

I think the first place I would start is with a good all over checkup by the vet to rule out anything other than just the diabetes flaring back up. Once you have ruled out other things like infection or pain, then start testing him like you did in the beginning, before each shot and try to get several spot checks through out the day, and maybe even on a free day see about getting in a curve on him. To give you an idea just exactly where his BGs are going throughout the day.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Thanks for your response. Yes, I just do wet food--no-grain Wellness and Evo 95% meat. Good idea on the curve and then I'll get him a vet visit. Thanks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top