Just to clarify, the +2 (or whatever #) indicates the # since the last shot, not since the 12 hour mark. AMPS and PMPS indicate the test right before the shot, regardless of when that is. Might be at +12, might not. So if you tested at +12 but the # was too low for a shot, then you tested in 2 hours and gave a shot, its something like:
+12 BG#
+14 (PMPS) BG# dose
It's confusing because on Lantus they stick to a tight 12/12 schedule b/c the insulin requires that, so for them AMPS & PMPS are pretty much always +12. But PZI we all get off schedule a lot :lol: so usually people say AMPS or PMPS if it is close to +12, but if it's off by more than a little bit, you would indicate shot time by the hours. I think you shot at +14 maybe? (otherwise it means you gave a shot, then a second one 2 hours later). No biggie, just wanted to clarify it so it's hopefully less confusing.
As far as your question about giving the shot early because he's hungry, I would feed him if he's hungry, but still give the shot at the regular shot time. With some insulins it's important they eat before the shot since the insulin acts fast, but with PZI there's nothing magic about eating at shot time. As long as they eat sometime within the first 3 or 4 hours of the shot, that should be fine.
That said, with PZI, you can give a shot earlier than +12 as long as you are sure that he is past nadir. I probably wouldn't try it earlier than +10 until you have the hang of things a little more, but if you wanted to give a shot say an hour early to get on schedule, as long as the PS is high enough, that is fine. If you get to shots much earlier than that you might need to reduce the dose a little, but something just an hour or so before the usual 12 hour mark is generally fine.