Bibo and I need your advice please!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Last night, I gave him .40 at +2 and that was at 9:00pm. It's 7:00 am and I just tested his bg and it measured 361. It hasn't been 12 hours yet, can I give him his shot because he's hungry? I'm confused about scheduling, I understand it has to be every 12 hours, but that could change, if he's lower than 150, we skip that hour and the whole system changes, and the morning shot, becomes almost noon. I don't know if I was able to explain it right, but please let me know if I can give him his insulin now.
 
Hi Taline,

What time do you want his schedule to be? Are you home to keep up with the moving 12 hour schedule?

Since it's two more hours until the 12 hour mark (AMPS) I think it's ok to feed him a little bit now, but then pick up the food until after you test and shoot.

Some people might say it's ok to give the insulin now, but since you and Bibo are new at this I'm not sure what to tell you about that.

Robin
 
Hi Robin, I took a chance a gave Bibo a .75u (on a U40 needles, so by guessing) an hour and 15 min before the 12 hours completed and gave him his morning food. I would like to keep my schedule around 6:00 or 7:00 am and the same at night, so I don't switch from one schedule to another and big swing of hours. Fortunaltely, I'm home today, so I'll be monitoring as much as I can (Bibo is giving me a hard time with the testing) that is why I don't test him as much as I would like to.
 
Hi Taline,

I think that's just fine. I have to shoot and hour & 15 minutes early once a week too.

There are ways to stick to the 12/12 schedule. We'll help you figure that out.

I'm sorry he's hard to test, but he will get used to it, most kitties do, don't forget the treats and extra lovin at test time. Actually you are doing a great job at testing PS and getting spot checks.

Robin
 
Just to clarify, the +2 (or whatever #) indicates the # since the last shot, not since the 12 hour mark. AMPS and PMPS indicate the test right before the shot, regardless of when that is. Might be at +12, might not. So if you tested at +12 but the # was too low for a shot, then you tested in 2 hours and gave a shot, its something like:

+12 BG#
+14 (PMPS) BG# dose

It's confusing because on Lantus they stick to a tight 12/12 schedule b/c the insulin requires that, so for them AMPS & PMPS are pretty much always +12. But PZI we all get off schedule a lot :lol: so usually people say AMPS or PMPS if it is close to +12, but if it's off by more than a little bit, you would indicate shot time by the hours. I think you shot at +14 maybe? (otherwise it means you gave a shot, then a second one 2 hours later). No biggie, just wanted to clarify it so it's hopefully less confusing.

As far as your question about giving the shot early because he's hungry, I would feed him if he's hungry, but still give the shot at the regular shot time. With some insulins it's important they eat before the shot since the insulin acts fast, but with PZI there's nothing magic about eating at shot time. As long as they eat sometime within the first 3 or 4 hours of the shot, that should be fine.

That said, with PZI, you can give a shot earlier than +12 as long as you are sure that he is past nadir. I probably wouldn't try it earlier than +10 until you have the hang of things a little more, but if you wanted to give a shot say an hour early to get on schedule, as long as the PS is high enough, that is fine. If you get to shots much earlier than that you might need to reduce the dose a little, but something just an hour or so before the usual 12 hour mark is generally fine.
 
p.s. just peeked at his #s, wow he is doing awesome!!!! If this morning's shot was early, that could give it a little extra oomph that could account for the lower #s. I would probably consider pulling the dose back to 0.5 at this point, but raise back to 0.75 right away if you stop seeing the nice green #s.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top