BG went from 120 to 438 in 3 hrs

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wonton

Member Since 2012
I'm doing a curve today with Wonton. She's on Lantus 2 u/2x daily. 7am BG was 328 Feeding at 7:30am w/Friskies Chicken w/gravy Insulin after she ate +3 was 202 +6 was 120 Small snack of Friskies Ch w/gravy +9 was 438! I am in the process of slowing changing her food to low carb, so i know about gravies being bad. Is it normal for BG levels to go up that much and that fast? Is there anything I can do, or just wait for her insulin that's due at 7pm? I will feed her 2/3 Friskies Ch and 1/3 Wellness Chicken which has low carbs before I give her insulin.
confused_cat By the way, where can I find the spreadsheet so I can post it?
 
That type of BG change typically means that the BG went too low and the body was compensating by dumping glucose in the bloodstream. That is called rebound. Usually a dose decrease is in order.
 
I took Wonton's BG at 6:45pm and it was 422 from 438 3 hrs earlier. She didn't want to eat anything . I gave her 1.5 u of Lantus instead of 2 u since she is pretty high right now. Hopefully her BG will lower and she'll feel like eating. Did I do the right thing?
KT's Mom, 11 mos. and still wide BG fluctuations? Is it to be expected? Is it more 'normal' to go from around 300 down to 100 and back up again?
Thank you everyone for your very helpful posts, it means alot!
 
Without seeing a spreadsheet showing Wonton's particular patterns and responses to food and lantus it's going to be near on impossible for anyone to give you dosing advice but I certainly would not have decreased by a quarter of your dose with such a high BG reading.
 
Gravy would be my guess as the reason for the soaring high. No gravies or grilled foods, or you can expect the high carbs from them to give you higher numbers.

ETA: you are very fortunate to know that you have a cat who reacts BIG time to the high carb food.... it will come in handy if you get really low BG and want to bring them up .... just a tsp of gravy and the numbers will come up for you.

if a cat is SUPER sensitive to carbs, YES, you will see a rise like that. My Shadoe would rise like that easily if she got any HC foods, gravies or even dry food. The gravies get you high numbers much faster.
 
Thank you for your replies. I am working on changing her food and am going slowly since i tired a total change and the next day she was so sick I stayed home from work. She wasn't able to keep anything down until mid-afternoon. So I am giving her 2/3 Friskies Chicken with gravy because that's what she's been eating for awhile, and 1/3 FF Classics. Within a week I hope to be at 100% FF Classic which I know if low carbs. I reduced her insulin by .5 because she wasn't eating. I will be posting her spreadsheet once I get one set up.
Hugs from Wonton and me
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top