BG was 170 @ 6am!

Kuma's BG has been very high since I began testing him, ranging from high to mid 500s, to high to mid 400s. Well, today he was 170. Currently he is at 3 units. My vet and I agreed on increasing his dose steadily from 2U to 2.5U to now 3U which he has been on since about 9/25.

I am not going to give insulin at this time. I plan to test frequently throughout the day to see how his levels will be. Or should I just wait until the next feeding time to test and shoot which is 6pm?

Thanks.
 
Last edited:
Since you've only been testing pre-shots, the numbers are naturally going to be high for the most part. Pre-shots are the last numbers to come down. For all we know Kuma is dropping too low during the day and bouncing by pre-shot. Right now you have no idea how Kuma is actually doing. The data is in the mid-cycles, so you're technically increasing the dose blindly.

I also don't recommend jumping the dose in half units, kitties are small and don't need much, so quarter unit increases are better, else you'll bypass the perfect dose.

If you get a number unusually low or lower than 200, you want to stall feeding 20 min to see if BG is rising on its own. Check the Prozinc Dosing Method Sticky for shooting low pre-shots, I'd link you but I'm on mobile and I struggle lol.
 
Since you've only been testing pre-shots, the numbers are naturally going to be high for the most part. Pre-shots are the last numbers to come down. For all we know Kuma is dropping too low during the day and bouncing by pre-shot. Right now you have no idea how Kuma is actually doing. The data is in the mid-cycles, so you're technically increasing the dose blindly.

I also don't recommend jumping the dose in half units, kitties are small and don't need much, so quarter unit increases are better, else you'll bypass the perfect dose.

If you get a number unusually low or lower than 200, you want to stall feeding 20 min to see if BG is rising on its own. Check the Prozinc Dosing Method Sticky for shooting low pre-shots, I'd link you but I'm on mobile and I struggle lol.


It's ok. lol Yeah, I tested his BG 1 hour and 30 min after he ate and he was 616. (The jump blew my mind.) So I gave the insulin then. That was around 7:30 or so. So I will try to test around half past noon.
 
That's a considerable jump ... the 170 this morning may have been a bad strip. Anytime you get a surprising number, re-test to be sure. I'm doubtful he actually jumped 450 points in under 2 hours.
 
That's a considerable jump ... the 170 this morning may have been a bad strip. Anytime you get a surprising number, re-test to be sure. I'm doubtful he actually jumped 450 points in under 2 hours.
Yeah, it really shocked me. I did re test after I got the 616 and it was 546. I wanted to test again after the 170 but he was so impatient I just nixxed it to not stress him out further. I was wondering how a spike like that could be possible.
 
Back
Top