BG ups and downs

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melita & Chnoudi

Member Since 2020
Hello, I m totally new to this and my English isn't so good, so excuse my mistakes...
My cat is diagnosed on 10/13, her fructosamine was about 500.. She started eating dry food Hill's m/d and Lantus (pen) 1U day/night and I started hometasting on 10/25..BG was about 300s.. On 10/31 vet increased the dose to 2U day/night but BG did not change. 11/5 I reversed the food to wet, low carbs. From then, ups and downs started. That night BG was 150,vet told me not to shoot her but in the morning BG was 480. 11/7 at night BG was again 153 and I shot 1U. Next morning 452... Last night BG was 243 I shot 2U and today she had 429!!!!! Why??? I'm totally disappointed...
Now vet insisted that above 210 I should shoot 3U... Please help me. I m gonna cry..
 
WELCOME Melita, Is this your first post? I dont remember seeing you name. I understand your confusion. Its a confusing disease! Do not worry. we will help you sort out whats going on here. Its what we do! We are dedicated to helping anyone who finds these pages.
I'm going to direct you here:
New? How You Can Help Us Help You!
This page will get you more acquainted with how things work around here. Please note the "Profile Signature" section. All the information you add to your signature will appear at the bottom of all your posts. That way we save time asking the same questions, LIKE "What insulin is your kitty on?"

You have landed in a safe place as we will do our very best, to get you and your kitty feeling better about this disease. You will become a manager not just a frightened kitty mom.

WELCOME TO OUR FAMILY:bighug:

Hang in there, more people will respond as the day grows.
You have found the very best site on this planet, for learning everything you need to know, about feline diabetes.

jeanne
 
Welcome. The information and people on this website are the best for helping a diabetic cat and its owner.

After you set up a spreadsheet that shows the times and values for your cat's injections and blood glucose readings, you will start to see better what needs to be done to help your cat. And the folks here can help!
 
It can be frustrating, but remember you are just starting. It's a marathon. My cat didnt even see a number under 300 for about 7 weeks. You'll get there. The best way for us to help is to see all the numbers in the spreadsheet. Two awesome things are you have your cat on a food insulin, and you are home testing which is awesome. Oh, and you switched to low carb wet! Another great move. You are doing. a good job and we will help. BTW your English is great! Very easy to understand.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top