BG Up's and Down's - HELP!

Status
Not open for further replies.
We are on Prozinc, and we're having trouble getting Ruckus regulated.....He's high for his PMPS and he's low for his AMPS.......not understanding why we're having such a hard time? Please help!!
 
He may be bouncing from highs to lows. Often, especially early in this sugar dance, their body reacts to numbers lower than they are used to by releasing extra glucose, causing their levels to raise more than usual. It is possible that he drops low in the middle of the cycle and then bounces back up.

Can you give us some numbers so we can see what kind of levels?

Use this kind of format for now:

Amps (morning number before shot and food)

Any number you get between the two shots. If you get a number 3 hours after a shot, list it as +3. If you get a number 7 hours after a shot, +7. This is helpful because we don't use times - we are all in different time zones. So it might look like: +3. 254

Pmps. (Evening number before shot and food)

The protocol we put together for ProZinc is in my signature in blue.
 
Well, this morning's number warrants a dose reduction. The number on 9/1 didn't move from mid cycle to pmps.

It looks like he is gradually needing less insulin, which is a good sign. It is logical if you give 3 units for a 408, you probably need a little less for a 292 preshot. Since you skipped today (the absolute right thing) he is likely to be high for pmps, having been 24 hours since his last shot. I would still reduce the dose.

If you want, post his levels here daily and we will try to help you with dosing. To do so, you need a spreadsheet so we can see his levels and doses at a glance. Here are the directions:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/

If you need help, just ask.
 
We are new to the spread sheet.....started using it yesterday.......will continue to keep track.....we are suppose to do our first curve tomorrow, but I know you have to shoot to do the curve......correct?
 
There is a spreadsheet for the AlphaTrak. Your numbers will be be in higher ranges than human meters. So your hypo range is 68 rather than 50.

You can attach your spreadsheet to your signature so we can see it updated each time you post. First choose "Anyone with the Link can View". Then publish to the web. At this site, use the URL that comes up when you ask to publish and include it in your signature.

Yes, the curve should be from shot to shot. But after skipping, you should be able to shoot at least a reduced dose.
 
Ok. Then take that URL and copy it. Go on the forum. Under your name on the top, pick signature and then edit signature. Go to your signature. Paste in the URl.

You have a lot in your signature. It may say you have too much. If so, limit it to date diagnosed, what insulin and food and what meter. Then paste in your spreadsheet URL. If you have problems, use the link in the tool bar. It's the little chain without the X. Paste it in that way. Then be sure to save it.
 
Great job. 38 but no shot this am? The insulin should be gone but that is a low number. Maybe give him a little snack and retest in 20 minutes. It's a perfect number for no insulin - I just wonder if there it is a really long cycle and insulin is still impacting the numbers.
 
Not sure. More data over the next few days may help. Maybe his pancreas has started to wake up a little or maybe you've broken through an insulin resistance and he just needs less.
 
Just checked him again....and he's 136 :D Perfect.......I don't get it.....it's now +17 since his last shot........and he's eating....like normal......he's drinking.......he's playing, talking, chilling.....is not showing any signs at all of having an issue at the moment, so why the low #'s? Can his pancreas just start working like it's supposed to?
 
Yep! The pancreas can just kind of start working. Most of the time, when a kitty is heading to remission, they kind of sputter...so they help some and then stop a little.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top