? BG testing question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Corie

Member Since 2016
I posted this in another thread but was asked to post here as well. Yesterday evening I split up Lucy's food into 3 different meals. Her amps was 295, I checked it pmps and it was 315. That's when I came on here and saw that some people feed multiple small meals a day. I did this in the evening an gave her her pm insulin and checked her BG 2 hours later it had gone down to 193. So I feed her again. And fell asleep before I could check her BG again. This morning it was 46. I didn't give her her shot. Now I'm just worried that I messed up. I ran out of test strips, getting more this evening, so I couldn't test again before I left for work. She'd eaten her whole can of FF classic beef before I left. Sorry for the long post. I don't know the name of the meter, I'm at work, will get it when I get off. My mother is diabetic so she got it free and I get the strips at a discount as well.
 
Glad you skipped the shot this morning. Lucy has clearly earned a reduction in dose to 1.25u. It's important to have plenty of strips, HC, honey & karo on hand. Do you have syringes marked with 1/2 units?
 
Glad you skipped the shot this morning. Lucy has clearly earned a reduction in dose to 1.25u. It's important to have plenty of strips, HC, honey & karo on hand. Do you have syringes marked with 1/2 units?
Yes, I use the 3/10ml syringes. Thankfully, my parents are wonderful and are going to meet me when I get off with more strips. They live an hour away. After her DKA episode I'm trying to save money where I can.
 
Last edited:
I've woken up to those numbers too, it's a bit scary. Congrats on the reduction and don't worry if she's high tonight. It can take 6 cycles for the depot to fill from a skipped shot and she'll likely bounce from the drop. Have you taken a look at any of the stickies at the top of the page? Is she currently eating only wet food? What insulin was she on before starting Lantus?

We use 2 protocols here. TR Tight Regulation (TR) and Start Low Go Slow SLGS. If there is any dry food she'll need to follow SLGS. Mid cycle tests are super important since Lantus is dosed based on how low they go. On TR you reduce when she drops under 50 and with SLGS you reduce if she drops under 90. Take a look at those and continue to ask any questions. Are you able to get daytime mid-cycle tests at all?
 
She eats FF classics. She's been eating that since she was diagnosed. She's only ever been on Lantus. She started at 1 unit twice a day. She's been at 1.5 units for about 8 months now. I work from 6:30a to 3p in surgery so I'm not able to leave. I've been checking her BG as soon as I get home, around 3:30. I'm going to check out the stickies. Thanks so much for your help so far!
 
Feel free to continue asking questions. There are many people here that are more than happy to help. We rely on the SS and bg tests for dosing advise so I can only comment on what you have. Regardless, congrats again on the reduction!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top