BG test meters

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pat

Member Since 2013
Hi folks need some more help. BG numbers are looking pretty good, 12 days no insulin seems to good to be true. I would like to purchase another test meter to compare results with the old one which is a Walgreens Truetrack. The prices vary so much and people seem to have good and bad to say about all of them. Which ones do you folks find the most reliable? I cannot tell you how much help this site has been, I spend hours reading posts.
 
Darn, your numbers might be higher than you think. Many people report that meters with True in the name are not accurate, especially in the lower ranges. I would definitely get another meter and compare. Many people here like the ReliOn from Walmart. It and the strips are the least expensive. You can get another OTC meter (other than ones with True in the name) and get strips on ebay.
 
IMHO, you can't beat the Relion brand from WalMart. The meters are all about $15 and depending on which one you get, the strips are affordable too.

The Prime takes a little bigger sample, strips are $9 for 50

The Confirm and Micro take the smallest sample and strips are about $18.98 for 50
 
Thanks, will get a Relion tomorrow, was afraid news was too good to be true. Let you know the results, Thanks for your help don't know what I would do without you all. :sad: :sad:
 
What boggles my mind is that humans rely on these meters, if there are no standards there sure ought to be.
 
There are standards +/- 20% but feline bollod is different than human blood.

Blood Glucose Meter for Cats
Facts:
Blood has two constituents, the red and white blood cells and the liquid (serum). Blood plasma is blood serum without the clotting factor
The blood glucose value obtained via laboratory analysis is the glucose level in the serum/plasma constituents of blood
The glucose is in both the serum and red-blood cells (RBC) themselves. However, the distribution of glucose is different between humans and cats (and dog too)1
In Humans 58% is in plasma/serum and 42% in RBCs
In cats 93% is in plasma/serum and 7% in RBCs
In dogs 87.5 % in plasma/serum and 12.5% in RBCs.
The point-of-use blood glucose meters (the ones we use at home) all use whole blood.2 However, what specific blood glucose they measure varies with the manufacturer. Some manufacturers only measure the glucose in the serum/plasma. Others lyse (disrupt the cell walls of the RBCs) and thus mix the glucose that was in the RBC into the liquid and thus measure total glucose. The meters then correct/adjust the reading to be equivalent to human blood plasma
Discussion:
Since the glucose distribution is different n humans and cats/dogs the resulting BG valve obtained from the human meters will be different that lab values and animal-calibrated meters. Also, some manufacturer's meters will be much different that lab values for animals depending upon which method (lyse cells or only use plasma/serum) they use to measure glucose.

Animal calibrated meters correct the value to be equivalent to lab values.

What clouds any BGs obtained from hand-held meter is that they are only accurate to +/- 20 %. That includes the animal-calibrated meter. Also, do not confuse accuracy with reproducibility. It is expected that one meter with one lot of tests strips to be relatively repeatable, that is if you use the same drop of blood, you BG value will be much close than +/- 20%

References:
1. WHY DO YOU NEED A SPECIES SPECIFIC METER?
 
First: Comparing a human glucometer to a pet-specific glucometer is like reading temperature in Celsius vs Fahrenheit. Both are correct. You just need to know the reference ranges to interpret what the numbers mean.

[Glucose reference ranges are unsubstantiated and have been removed by Moderator]


* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *​

How to use the glucose reference values chart:

When you get a test, look for the number on the chart that either equals, or contains, the test value you have. Read the information. As needed, make a decision and act.

Ex. You are a new insulin user and you test your cat before giving insulin. The test is 300. It probably is safe to give insulin.

Ex. You are an established user of Lantus, following the Tight Regulation protocol. You've tested around +5 to +7 to spot the nadir. It is 200 mg/dL. You probably need to increase the dose, following the instructions for the protocol.

Ex. Your cat is acting funny. The eyes are a bit dilated. You are concerned and test the glucose. The number is 35 mg/dL. ACK! The cat may be in a hypoglycemic state. You quickly follow the HYPO protocol linked in the glucose reference values chart. (which we really, really, suggest you print out and post on your refrigerator.) Funny you should ask that.. let me find it.
 
I think the point we may be missing, and the question Pat was asking, is whether some human meters read less accurately than some other human meters for cats. And generally, I have found, in 4 separate cases I have helped with, that meters that are the "true" brand from Walgreens tend to give lower readings at lower ranges than other meters, in cats.

I don't know why this is, Pat, or even whether these kind of readings show up in humans using these meters. I think it's like everything else - there is good quality and poor quality in everything we buy and sometimes we don't know which is which.I do seem to remember the maker of the meter with butterfly strips recently recalled their meters and admitted they did not give true readings. So it happens....
 
Thanks all for the information but Sue understood my concern, sorry I didn't make my point.
 
Hi Pat,

I tried two different brands (Target's Sync and Walmart's Relion Micro). I had better luck with the Relion Micro, as it used a smaller sample, which I found easier to get. Price-wise, they are comparable.

I hope this helps!

Liz
 
I think my reply answers it. Some meters lyse the blood cells and measure total glucose and some just measure the glucose in the plasma. The meter then converts the value to human plasma equivalent.

Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
I think the point we may be missing, and the question Pat was asking, is whether some human meters read less accurately than some other human meters for cats. And generally, I have found, in 4 separate cases I have helped with, that meters that are the "true" brand from Walgreens tend to give lower readings at lower ranges than other meters, in cats.

I don't know why this is, Pat, or even whether these kind of readings show up in humans using these meters. I think it's like everything else - there is good quality and poor quality in everything we buy and sometimes we don't know which is which.I do seem to remember the maker of the meter with butterfly strips recently recalled their meters and admitted they did not give true readings. So it happens....
 
Interesting, tested same blood sample with both meters,( got a good sample) The ReliOn read 134 the Truetrack read 144. Guess I can assume the Trutrack was not giving false lows all along, darn tho BG seems to be rising.
 
Great news that the meter was right. Sorry about the higher number. I'd continue with the smaller frequent meals and see if he drops again. If not, decide on a no shoot number and plan to giving a tiny dose when he reaches it. If you want help figuring out doses, start posting on the PZI forum to get daily suggestions on doses.
 
Thanks for all your help Sue, thought we might make it off the juice ooh well it was nice while it lasted. Is there any advantage in doing a curve when off insulin or do they not curve to any degree when off insulin?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top