? BG still erratic, help needed please

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Georgiana & Perlutz, Sep 1, 2019.

  1. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Creating a new thread as the previous one got too long :p (you can see it here).

    Perlutz's numbers are still erratic after nearly 8 months since being diagnosed. At the beginning of July, I thought we were getting somewhere, we were getting yellow, blues and even some greens but that didn't last long and was followed by lots of reds and blacks :( Now he has a bout of better numbers again but I don't know how to make this last this time... Any ideas would be much appreciated!

    Tonight's PMPS was 9.7, I stalled 20 minutes and it went up to 10.7 so I fed him and gave him 3.25. Again I changed the dose but I was afraid 3.5 would've been too much on a low number and with a new insulin vial.

    @Diana&Tom @MrWorfMen's Mom tagging you in the new thread :cat:
     
  2. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Interesting that low PMPS tonight. Wondering if it has anything to do with the new vial of insulin. Your previous vial was only about a month old so it should still be fine but definitely something to keep an eye on. Good idea lowering PM dose as long duration from day cycle could suggest dose too high but again past days readings didn't really give that impression. Hopefully this is a sign that things are turning around a bit. The blues are showing up more often again now. :D
     
    Diana&Tom likes this.
  3. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    He is giving us mixed signals, isn't he? :rolleyes: One moment I think the dose is to high, one moment I'm thinking he might need an increase :woot:
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  4. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Well done on starting a new thread, Georgiana ;)
    I can well see your dilemma re dosing of course... uhhhhh... I'll leave it to Linda with her superior experience to make the constructive comments and will just chip in myself if I have anything to add.
    Let's hope you'll see a better run again now!
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  5. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Looks like we might have a long night ahead of us Perlutz and I :coffee: +7.7 at +3

    We haven't had an easy time with testing and shooting this evening :( We've been testing one ear only for few days (hit right in the vein few days ago and there was a lot of blood coming out and now the ear is badly bruised and we're leaving it alone) and he really didn't want it to be pricked anymore, tried to hide the ear, tried to run, shook his head...poor lil munchkin really wanted to be left alone. Then after I finally managed to test him, he wanted to eat in peace and kept moving when I gave him his shot and about 0.25 might have been a fur shot :facepalm: I didn't see any wetness but 0.25 is such a little drop I don't even know how much wetness there would've been.

    Now I'm sitting here regretting yesterday's bad choice of going to bed so late and stressing over pocking his ears even more :( I'd normally test him hourly but I don't think he'll let me tonight so I'll just see how it goes.
     
  6. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    5.7 (103) at +4.5 seems it's dropping quite fast :nailbiting:

    I fed him 1/4 sachet Nature's Menu Country Hunter, he ate it all.
     
  7. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    OH dear! So sorry to hear Perlutz has a sore ear. Have you tried using something like Polysporin with pain relief (not sure what's available in the UK) on his ear? What's the carb level of the Nature's Menu Country Hunter? Right now I'd try to stick with low carb food but if you need to go to bed, you could give Perlutz something with higher carbs to try to slow his drop. Nice to see those blues but their habit of doing this on night cycles is frustrating.
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  8. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Nature's Menu is 6% carbs and I will stay up with him to test so I won't bring out the HC unless I really need to. Loving the blues, as always, and in a way I'm glad it's at night so I can watch him and test. Here's to dark circles and being a grump tomorrow :coffee: :smuggrin:

    Unfortunately I don't have any Polysporin as it's not OTC in UK and I stupidly forgot to get some when I was back home this summer :facepalm: I only have calendula cream which some UK'ers use but I don't know if it helps much. I'm calling the vet again tomorrow to ask for a prescription cream, we will really need both ears after more testing than usual on only one ear tonight :arghh:
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  9. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Hopefully the vet can prescribe something for those poor ears. I'm actually pleasantly surprised that Polysporin is not available OTC in the UK. I have an issue with the use of antibiotics willy nilly. In the meantime how about some plain old petroleum jelly (Vaseline here in Canada). Might help a bit.
    Not familiar with calendula cream at all.
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  10. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    I do have some Vaseline but I didn't think it would help so haven't used it. Will give it a shot! And you might know Calendula as Marigold? Supposed to help damaged skin.

    I'm gonna test him again in a minute, it's been an hour since the last one. I'll get the stink eye tonight :oops:
     
  11. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Well apparently I have to brush up on my "holistic' remedies. Haven't hear of Marigold either and I am a great one for "old wives tales" remedies.

    When you get the stink eye, look the other way. They are so good at ignoring us..... maybe a like message will sink in. :woot:
     
  12. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Tell me about it :D Marigold was nothing more than a brand of household gloves until I started poking Perlutz's ears :oops:

    He was 5.9 at +5.75 so just a tiny, tiny increase from the food. I gave him 1x treat (11% carbs) for letting me poke him again. Should I give him some more food now or wait a bit? Usually he would get some food from the auto feeder in more or less an hour from now.
     
  13. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Let the auto feeder guide you and stick to the program. While numbers are nicely down, they are not in any way critical so I'd just let him surf for the moment and give him some food on the schedule you've been using.
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  14. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Ok, he will get his usual autofeeder meal and I will give him 1 more hour after eating until I test again. I'll take advantage and try to take a nap in this hour. Thank you for all your help, as always, Linda :bighug: Will you be around later? This is not our first pyjama party but for some reason I'm a little bit nervous tonight:confused:
     
  15. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    I have some other kitties I've been monitoring that don't shoot for another hour so yes I'll be around for a bit yet. If you truly do need to hold a PJ party, I'll stay with you or find someone who can. We have a lovely member in Australia I think you'd love who quite often helps when we North American folks are off sawing logs. :D
     
  16. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    It’s good to have someone to chat to and it gives me a sense of security to know someone is there, but I think we should be fine if you need to go. He is in good numbers and he seems okay, having a little shower atm. I think he is a bit surprised of the sudden blues, but no alarm bells.
     
  17. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Ok well I'll be checking in a bit for an hour or so anyway so I'll keep an eye on you folks! Just took a break to have some dinner hence the 40 minutes. :smuggrin:
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  18. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    9.2 (166) at +8 so I'll be heading to bed and leave his ear alone for now :cat: Good night! :bighug:
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  19. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Sweet Dreams!:D
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  20. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Crikey, Georgiana, what a rollercoaster! Whatever is Mr P playing at at the moment... he's certainly keeping you on your toes. I take my hat off to you for how you're handling things - you seem to be very cool, calm and collected, and know exactly what you're doing.

    I'm glad Linda is giving you good advice, amd I'm sure others would too if you tagged them at any time. I'm sorry I can't offer anything useful - I can do anything you like with letters and words but numbers just scramble my brain! Looking at a spreadsheet nearly gives me a migraine ;)

    Keep going and keep smiling :)
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  21. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Yep, he likes being the centre of attention one way or another, reds or blues :facepalm:
     
  22. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    AMPS was quite high, I guess a bounce? It took me a bit by surprise, I didn't expect such a high number after a 9.2 when I went to bed. PMPS, however, was a nice yellow. I went ahead with 3.5 units again so we might have another long night.

    Today he vomited another hairball, a little bigger than yesterday's one and this time mixed with a little food as well. These are the first hairballs in almost 2 months. He doesn't seem to be in pain but I would say he might look a little less like himself? I'm thinking maybe he is just not used to lower numbers and doesn't enjoy all the unwanted attention his ears are getting :blackeye:

    Like Diana said, his SS is giving me a migraine more than an idea what to do :banghead: We've been at this for 8 months now and while I definitely learnt a lot, regulating/remission seem like a dream that might never come true :( I know there's no precise recipe to success and that it can take a lot of time and patience... I guess it's just one of those days when it's harder to stay positive....

    EDIT: We're seeing the vet this weekend. Mostly because I want the vet to check his teeth properly and give him a general check up as well as discussing Lantus. She did his dental but all the other appointments were with a different vet so I'll try to pick her brain on diabetes in general as well. I don't know if she will recommend any tests but if she doesn't, do you think there's something I should request?
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2019
  23. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
  24. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    12.7 PMPS and then went all the way up to 24.1 at +3 :eek: What is going on?!:arghh:
     
  25. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Can you get some tests earlier in the cycle over the weekend? I'm wondering if Perlutz is dropping lower between +3 and +7 and we're just not seeing it on the day cycles. I can't help but wonder if any of what you are seeing is from bouncing and we're just not seeing the lows associated.
     
    Diana&Tom likes this.
  26. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    I feel your frustration Georgiana and I know how hard it is to keep plugging away and stay positive. You are doing an amazing job, actually, try to remind yourself of that. A living creature is a very complex thing and sometimes despite all our analyses and efforts, things still don't go to plan... I think all you can do is what you're doing now, ie giving your best guess at doses and see what happens one day at a time. And remember - as long as Perlutz himself is still happy and enjoying his food, play time, etc, that's what's really important right now. There used to be a phrase here on FDMB that I haven't seen for a while - remember to look at the whole cat not just the diabetes. We tend to lose sight of that at times.

    Hope you have a good chat with the vet - do let us know.
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  27. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Hi Linda,

    I’ll try to get some testing between +3 and +7 tomorrow, today we have the vet appointment at +4 and his BG will go through the roof :facepalm:

    The same happened this morning, from 12.1 to 24.1 in 2 hours :woot: I don’t think food would almost double his BG, no?
     
  28. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    No I can't see BG going up by that much from food unless he got into some very high carb food. Every cat's food bump will be different because some cats are more carb sensitive than others, metabolism different etc. but most I would expect to less than 5 or 6mmol at most.
    The vet elevation is to be expected and that can elevate 5 or 6 mmol too.

    I think a discussion about changing to Lantus is a good idea. While ProZInc is a good insulin for cats, the duration and faster action may be causing some of these ups and down for Perlutz so trying a longer acting insulin might just be the ticket.
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  29. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    The conclusion of our appointment today is that we need a new vet.

    The vet won’t prescribe Lantus because “there is no evidence it works in cats” and believes we are better off staying on Prozinc or going back to Caninsulin. No ideas on how to proceed with Prozinc either, just “keep doing what you’re doing now”. Didn’t seem to be even remotely aware of the RVC studies, their diabetes remission clinic and the many other studies in support of Lantus.

    Had to go through the good old chat about why prescription diets work best for diabetic cats :mad: I was tempted to ask if it’s better for their business or my cat but I just explained why I will stick to low carb, good quality wet food.

    There is tiny bit of redness in the upper left side of his mouth, less than it used to be. Right side looked fine. She recommended Stomodine f gel for the redness.

    Also wants to do blood tests in a month’s time to check kidney function but want me to give him Gabapentin prior to taking him there so he is “calm” and they don’t have to sedate him. He’s never been sedated before and I don’t think he is feisty enough to require any sort of medication for a blood test. I don’t know anything about this Gabapentin but I generally don’t like the thought of any drugs unless really needed..

    Just a moment ago he vomited another hairball, very large one and looks a bit reddish to me but could be the food he is eating? His food is of a similar colour to this. I’ll attach a picture if anyone with a strong stomach can open it...

    Last time we saw few days of lower numbers (beginning of July), he was also vomiting hairballs. There have been no hairballs whatsoever between these lower numbers. What could be the connection? Can there be one or it’s just a coincidence?

    My only action plan for the moment is to extend my search for a good vet outside our town. I don’t know what else to do at this point... If anyone has any ideas, I’d be grateful for a bit of insight/help.
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2019
  30. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    I'm not even sure what do to in regards to the insulin tonight... His PMPS was 12.9 and he ate a little bit, maybe just slightly less than half. Not sure if I should give him the full dose or reduced... Ideas anyone? I need to make a decision quite quick...
     
  31. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Well that seems to have been pretty much a waste of time, energy and money. Now if you are like me and find utter cluelessness difficult to deal with, I'd send the vet copies of the ISFM and AAHA treatment guidelines along with Roomp and Rand and suggest the vet read them. You could soften the message with a " this is why I asked" if you're nicer than me! If you want those docs, just holler, and I'll find the links.

    Not sure what to think about the hairball issue. I have an old long haired guy who used to look like death warmed over, vomit several days in a row (projectile fluid or food), produce a hairball or 3 over a few days and then be right as rain for another few months. I have to think that hairballs and the associated attempt to expel them has to make them feel punky but Perlutz appears to be a shorthaired cat (so wouldn't expect hairballs to be as big a problem) and it's odd BG is up when he isn't expelling any.

    On dose tonight, if he seems uninterested in food reduce the dose to 3u and retest by +3. to see what he's up to.
     
  32. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Oh ***! Why oh why don't vets get better training in FD... it is an increasingly common problem amongst the feline population (no doubt largely due to "convenience food" diets) yet so many vets just aren't clued up. Whatever happened to CPD - Continuing Professional Development - which I have to show evidence of in my work and you'd think that medical professionals would have to update their knowledge on a regular basis to keep abreast of research findings and developments... but it doesn't seem that way.

    I think you're right - time for a new vet. Did you think about trying a mobile vet who could come to you? There are a few of them around and you could phone and ask what their approach is to treating FD perhaps (actually I am vaguely remembering that you did try this not long ago and the one you looked at wasn't taking new patients, or something)? Maybe go back online and hunt for some others. There is an excellent one called The Cat Doctor which I think may be slightly out of your area, but it might not harm to ring them and say they've been recommended by a friend and do they know a good vet near you...worth a try perhaps. Or just look for others a little outside your usual area perhaps, not ideal but it may have to come to that.
    Hairballs and lowet numbers... hmmm. I'd suggest posing this question on Health where it will get more eyes... call the thread "hairballs and lower numbers?" and see what responses you get. I know you're not keen to post too much but it's alesys worth asking and this is what the board is for, after all.

    Hopefully Linda will see your query about dosing and help you out there.

    Hang in there, Georgiana - give yourself some treats this evening, you deserve something nice!
     
  33. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    He ate a little bit more and We gave him 3.25 units. We had movie tickets for tonight and we decided to go ahead with it. A bit selfish, I know, but we both really needed it after a long week at work and today’s vet visit really took its toll on me. I’ll reply properly when we get back home in a couple of hours.
     
  34. Idjit's mom

    Idjit's mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Maybe with a movie review? Not selfish at all, you need to continue your lives. Have fun, enjoy your time out!
     
  35. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Go enjoy yourself. That's not selfish. It's called self preservation and you need to do that to keep you in good shape to look after your furry buddy! ;)
     
    Diana&Tom likes this.
  36. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Very glad you're going out, you do need to get away from it all sometimes! Hope you have a fun evening :)
     
  37. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    We saw IT chapter 2 and it was terrible :D One of the worst movies I’ve seen haha
     
  38. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    I definitely want those links, please send when you can. I had few print outs with me today, just didn’t have a chance to show them. Because we haven’t seen this vet before, I went with 4 A3 pages of all Perlutz’s spreadsheet to show her how he’s been on Prozinc all these 7 months, how he had bouts of lower numbers occasionally, made some notes of feeding times etc. I barely had a chance to explain what’s the data on it, what all the numbers and colours stand for and she only looked for a split second at the last couple of days and set it aside :mad: The SS is pure gold, gives you such a good insight at what’s happening! You’d think a vet would want to analyze the data? Search for trends? But no, no interest :(

    I too struggle with taking this cluelessness (you’re being nice to call it this, I’d use a harsher word lol) but despite feeling my blood boil, I have to stay nice as Perlutz’s health is in their hands :( The only reason I haven’t stormed out of there calling them names...

    Perlutz has medium hair let’s say, definitely not long but not short either. But he hasn’t been the hairball kind of cat ever. Last time he had them in July, I thought it was the SEB that’s stopped them. I’ve been sprinkling a little bit on his food once a day every day (except maybe 2-3 days in the past 3 months). I’ll try to do it twice a day, maybe it helps. I am thinking to go with a similar amount to start with, just split over breakfast and dinner. How does that sound?

    I also noticed he’s been scratching himself a bit more lately (past week, week and a half) so I checked him for fleas but couldn’t see any. He is strictly indoors but maybe we brought some fleas in, who knows. So I bought some Advantage today and will give it to him tomorrow. He’s been through enough today, only want to give him cuddles tonight!
     
  39. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    I know, right? If there’s any profession out there that really needs CPD, that’s doctors and vets! There’s always a new drug, a new study, a new protocol etc. All 3 vets Perlutz has seen here are in their late 20’s or early 30’s, they have 20-30 more years to profess and you’d think they’d take advantage of a case that doesn’t go according to the 2-3 pages in the book to learn more? Not to mention they should probably be aware of recent studies and research.

    I was looking for mobile vets a while back and shortlisted a couple but I didn’t get in touch. I’ve been “stalking” them online trying to find their qualifications and something to reassure the paranoid in me than not every Tom, Dick and Harry can become a mobile vet. Sounds stupid when I write it down but seemed like a genuine reason of concern when it occurred to me :oops:

    It’s not that I don’t like posting, I just don’t want to sound like a broken record and become annoying posting too much...
     
  40. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    +4 23.7

    Another substantial rise that I don’t get :facepalm: I’ll grab some more tests tomorrow, see what happens later in the cycle too.
     
  41. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Sorry it wasn't a good movie but at least you got out for some "me" time. I remember reading IT long ago. I was too chicken to watch the movie. And now I know I don't need to bother with IT chapter 2 either. Thank you. Love Stephen King but some of his stuff just doesn't translate well to the big screen.

    Saw the fluffy chest in your avatar but thought it was just "bed head" hair! :woot: Has Perlutz been licking/preening/bathing more? I have no idea if SEB helps hairballs or not but don't think it can hurt and if it seemed to work last time, give it a go!

    My unedited post used a little stronger term than "clueless" but I thought better of it in mixed company! :p

    I will get find those links for you tonight. :)
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  42. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    As promised here are links to the docs I mentioned.

    AAHA Guidelines
    http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...nagement-guidelines-for-dogs-and-cats.195960/

    ISFM
    http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...is-management-of-hypertension-in-cats.177121/

    This one is a paper on using Levemir (Detemir) in Cats. Might not be in the realm of possibility for you in the UK but it would show you've done YOUR homework thoroughly! :D
    http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...l-for-intensive-blood-glucose-control.195964/

    Still trying to find the Roomp and Rand protocols. Have to search my hard drive. Don't see it here.
     
  43. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Cluelessness, incompetence, laziness, call it what you will... it starts to verge on "lacking due care" if the vets don't see that there is a mystery here to be solved, a case where an animal is not responding as expected to the treatment they prescribe. I'm actually starting to feel beyond frustrated and more angry on your behalf. There must be vets out there within a reasonable distance of your town that would take a real interest in Perlutz. I'd definitely be looking around now for someone who has the gumption to put in a bit of effort to help you guys. We here on this board seem to care more about Perlutz than your vets!

    Georgiana, you don't sound like a broken record and you're not remotely annoying! You're a genuine, nice, level-headed person who wants to make your cat better. Everyone can see that. Please do post whenever you want to - as I said, that's what the board is for. All and any questions you have are valid and if you post and get few or no responses, it's not because people are ignoring you, it's because they have nothing to say. (If you want help with thread titles ;) just shout and I'll come up with some suggestions! :) )
     
  44. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    I haven’t noticed him bathing more than usual but I’ll step up the brushing, just in case.
    Here’s a little fluffy belly <3
    59A6AAF8-7889-4D80-81DB-2DCBC39E54AF.jpeg
     
  45. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Toooooo cute!
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  46. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    I’ve said it before, you guys here DO care about Perlutz more than our vets, there’s no doubt!

    Frustrating and angry is exactly how I feel. It drives me insane that they don’t want to do anything for Perlutz. Not only they don’t want to try something new, they don’t even try to see if there is something that could maybe make Prozinc work better. Zero interest :(

    I will start calling other vets in Berkshire, there has to be someone willing to take a bit more interest in Perlutz!
     
  47. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    And that’s why he has us both wrapped around his little finger (paw) :D
     
    Diana&Tom likes this.
  48. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Yes do it! If I come across any ideas I will let you know.
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  49. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Yep...that fluff could lead to hairballs. That pic is adorable. I just want to rub that chest and tummy and give him scritches! So cute!
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  50. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Oh he would love that! He’s so cuddly today, he’s been glued to me since we woke up :p

    I took some readings at +3 (20.7) and +6.5 (13) but AMPS was a bit higher today. I’ll test him again later on, maybe +9?
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  51. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    +9 a lovely blue 6
     
  52. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    I think he responds to flattery from his online aunties ;)
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  53. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Oh Perlutz you are looking fine in that blue! We'd like to see you in blue more often! :cool:
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  54. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Perlutz the ladies’ man :smuggrin:
     
  55. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    PMPS 6.6 :woot:

    @MrWorfMen's Mom what do you think I should do? I’m gonna stall 20-30 min and see if it goes higher but I don’t think it will go by much. As luck will have it, I can’t shoot too late tonight as I’ve got to go to work early tomorrow. I have max 1 hour from now and that’s pushing it a bit :banghead:
     
  56. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    How long post shot can you comfortably test tonight? If need be is it possible for you to set an alarm and grab a later test if needed? I think Perlutz is likely to bounce tonight and this will all be a non-issue but we all know they don't always do what we expect them to do.
     
  57. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    I can stretch testing till +5/+6 but if need be, I could set up alarms during the night as well
     
  58. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Then I think you should go ahead and shoot but take dose down to 3.25u. He seems to often have these lows at the end of the cycle so he's either a very late nadir kitty or the dose may be a bit high or he just likes messing with us. Test at +2 and see where he's going and we'll decide how to proceed test wise from there.
     
  59. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    8.5 after 30 minutes
     
  60. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Ok he's heading up so I think you can shoot full dose of 3.5u.
     
  61. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Holy moly sh**ing myself here just thinking about it :eek:
     
  62. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Deep breaths, Georgiana... can't say I would want to swap places with you but he is going up now and Linda knows what she's talking about.. see what happens....all fingers and paws crossed!
     
  63. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Right... Mr P ate half of his dinner and walked away :eek: Don't know if he doesn't have much appetite or it's the low numbers making him less desperate.

    Should I still shoot full 3.5 or go for 3.25 or less?
     
  64. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    I took the rest of the food to him and he finished it slowly. I chickened out a little bit and I shot between 3.25 and 3.5, a skinny 3.5 I guess it would be called.

    Perlutz is chilling on the bed and I swear this little cat feels all my emotions, he know something is going on :woot:
     
  65. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    You've got to do what you're comfortable with, Georgiana. I can feel your nerves!
    I do think our kitties pick up on our emotions, yes. Hope you both have a calm and relaxing evening :)
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  66. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    He bounced to 20.7 at +2 :facepalm:

    Also just noticed he has like a rash on his tummy :( Like I said, he’s been scratching himself more than usual this week, I brought it up to the vet yesterday and showed her a little pink spot I’ve noticed on his back and she recommended Advantage for fleas. I was going to give it to him tonight but with the excitement around shooting time and the possibility of a lot of testing tonight, I thought it’s best left for tomorrow. I’ll add a pic, what do you think this could be? Poor munchkin, as if he doesn’t have enough on his plate already :arghh:
    2D4649E9-BE54-4F5B-8038-9FF8D2DA2356.jpeg
     
  67. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    I just don't get it. I didn't get any alerts for posts past #61! AARRRRGGGHHH! I checked SS and saw that 20.7 and figured I'd get an alert if you posted again but also figured you'd know you didn't need to set any alarms.

    As for the redness, any chance he is allergic to something is his food? Any new foods introduced lately? Currently trying to figure out why my girl gets little hive like bumps on her tummy and various other random spots periodically.

    I can't believe that pose! Too cute!
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  68. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    I sometimes don’t get alerts myself or I get them hours later...

    I’m still up, just tested him actually, he’s 14.9 at +5. I think he should be safe and has the autofeeder set for 1.5h from now but I’ll set up an alarm in 2-3 hours.

    I did actually introduce a new range from the same brand, Nature Menu, just this Thursday. I don’t think they should have anything to trigger a reaction but I will check the ingredients carefully tomorrow and as a precaution will stop it for few days. I just hope it’s not something more serious. A month or two ago I had a nightmare where he was covered in these large, round spots of raw skin and I can’t stop thinking of it now :arghh:

    As for the crazy pose, it’s daddy’s signature massages :D He always gives him a massage like that and Perlutz adores it! It’s their little thing :smuggrin:
     

    Attached Files:

  69. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Well that BG is certainly better now. Checking again in few hours would be good just in case.

    Sounds like your DH has a relationship like mine had with our middle fur child. DSCN1738.JPG
    He'd either sprawl out like this or be on DH's chest with his head nuzzled in DH's beard.
     
  70. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Aww what a sweetie! Looks like a cute seal :kiss:
     
  71. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    I'm not always getting alerts either - seems to happen sporadically then ok again.

    The red area on Perlutz's tummy doesn't look like a flea bite to me - or if it is, he's more likely have several areas like that. Some other little insect bite perhaps, which has just irritated him enough to scratch it and cause the redness... but who knows.

    I doubt whether anything in the NM or CH would cause an allergic skin reaction but it's what I feed my Saff so I'll have a look at the packaging later, or sometimes it's easier to go on the manufacturer website and check ingredients. Are you feeding the whole range of CH - the ones including rabbit, goose and pheasant? I suppose it's possible that Perlutz is allergic to something in one of those. Sometimes manufacturers change ingredients too, so look at the Applaws labelling to see if there's anything there you don't recognise. I only feed the free-range chicken variety as Saff's tummy can be a bit delicate... I don't feed her anything with liver, for example, as that seems to upset her.

    I'm sure you'd rather not start getting involved in food elimination diets but you could try a couple of days on a very simple diet and see if that makes any difference to bg or itching? There's a new range called Purr & Miaow which is a complete food (I think) and marketed on the premise of being sugar-free etc... looking at the ads it seems to be more or less flaked meat in a broth, so good for hydration. I'll look for the website and link it here in case you think it's worth a try:

    https://purrandmiaow.com/
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  72. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
  73. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    It doesn’t look like a flea bite at all, it’s a large area of redness which would only made sense if he had an allergic reaction to the flea bite (apparently that can happen). As of last night, he is definitely grooming more and the redness on his tummy seems more intense.

    He is eating 4 CH flavours (Turkey & Rabbit, Chicken and Goose, Duck and Pheasant and Free Range Chicken). He's been eating these since mid July without any issues so I doubt they are causing the redness. However, last Thursday I introduced him to 2 new flavours from Nature's Menu (Chicken with Salmon and Tuna and Chicken and Turkey) along with Country Hunter. However, none of the ingredients in the new food ring any alarm bells. I'll have to check the CH when I get home (hectic day at work) and the Applaws (which he hasn't had much of the past week). I'll withhold the Nature's Menu original range and feed Country Hunter only and see if that helps. But at this stage, I'm very worried and I think another vet visit might be on the cards for poor Perlutz :( I'm also a little worried about doing the flea spot treatment, I'm a little paranoid what if he gets some reaction from that too :rolleyes:

    We haven't changed any household cleaning products but I will steam mop all the floors when I get home today, just in case. It seems to be only on his tummy, maybe it's some sort of contact dermatitis. I don't know, at this point I'm considering all possibilities...

    2 years ago, when we came back from holiday, he had a small patch missing hair. At that time, we thought it was due to stress and the vet gave him a steroids injection. Last night I think I saw a new (almost) bald patch like that but I'm not 100% sure. I will have to check properly today, it's hard to see, it's on his side where he has been shaved previously and his hair is still not fully grown there.

    Thank you for the recommendations, I don't think I've looked at these brands (but then again, I've looked through so many that I might have forgotten about them). I'll have a look and maybe place a small order.
     
  74. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    True, an allergic reaction to a bite can be/look worse than the bite site itself. I was stung by a wasp a couple of years ago - was a bit painful for a few days and then the area around the sting suddenly got much bigger and itched like crazy... I went to my GP who said I had an extreme reaction to the sting, and he gave me anti-histamines. So there may be something similar going on with Perlutz.

    I agree, none of the NM/CH foods should cause an allergy - it would be odd if they did. I do think though that more and more pet food manufacturers these days are jumping on the grain-free / sugar-free bandwagon, presumably because they do actually see a rise in overweight and/or diabetic pets. I'm sorry that I only have NM and CH in stock myself, otherwise I'd send you some others to try. Actually it might be worth messaging a couple of other manufacturers and see if they can send you a couple of sample sachets... there was another new brand recently that I saw somewhere, will try to remember and let you know.

    Oh and PS - the tummy redness might be worth posting on Health about - many more people will see it there vs the few that might be following this thread... and please don't think you're a broken record - as I said yesterday, you are definitely not!
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  75. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
  76. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
  77. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/196780940826285/

    Hi Georgiana
    I wonder if the above Facebook group, for owners of FD kitties in the UK, might be worth joining as you could ask if there's anyone in your area who could recommend a good vet??
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  78. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Thank you for that, Diana. I've requested to be accepted to the group :)
     
    Diana&Tom likes this.
  79. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    I had a look at this and it's low carb but it contains green lipped mussel. No idea if it's a safe ingredient for diabetes, all I could find is that it's good for arthritis...
     
  80. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Seems a strange thing to put into cat food but then why not, other foods contain glucosamine and omega 3, maybe this is similar.
    Shouldn't be a no no if you want to try it - ask the company for a couple of sample pouches!
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  81. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    I gave him the flea treatment tonight. Hoping this was actually a reaction to a flea bite rather than something else!

    The poor thing still seems a little under the weather and he must be itchy everywhere, he looks like he really enjoys petting and brushing as if we were actually scratching him :(
     
  82. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Crikey, Georgiana, just seen your +6! Maybe he likes the flea treatment! That number should be making him feel better anyway.
    Will be interesting to see what you get next ... I bet you're keeping an eye on him via the camera this afternoon ;)
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  83. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    WHOO HOO! Look at Perlutz! Fantastic numbers! :D
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  84. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Blue suits him! He’s been sleeping ALL day! He doesn’t seem to be as uncomfortable as last few days.

    +8 7.2 (he ate 1/2 sachet CH) for lunch. Please don’t bounce now, Perlutz! Mommy and the Aunties want more blue!
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom and Diana&Tom like this.
  85. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
  86. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Wow! He's being a really good boy today! Glad he's feeling better :)
     
  87. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Beautiful cycle. Go Perlutz!:joyful:
     
  88. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    PMPS 13.6 should I give him full 3.5u or 3 like I did in the morning?

    @MrWorfMen's Mom tagging you as I know you don’t get all notifications
     
  89. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Sorry Georgina. I was out for a couple of hours and am just seeing your post. I would have gone back to the 3.5u tonight just as you did. :D
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  90. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    22.9 at +4.5 :arghh: Why, Perlutz, why? :arghh:
     
  91. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Perlutz has to get used to those lower BGs and is bouncing a bit. He'll come back down but may stay high for a few cycles. Annoying but totally normal unfortunately and there is nothing you can do about it but ride it out.
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  92. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    It is frustrating but at least you are getting some nicer cycles which is better than being stuck in the reds and blacks all the time, so there is progress. Don't despair!
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  93. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    It’s just because I so desperately want him to be in decent numbers and with every red we get, I panic a bit and worry the constant reds might come back :blackeye:
    And I could see on him that he didn’t like the red, he wasn’t as happy and relaxed as during the day while in those nice blues.

    But his belly looks better! Still scratching a bit but much less than before. Here’s him and his bald belly this morning
    7B420061-EC2E-453B-B063-A2BD649564B4.jpeg
     
  94. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    +7 4.2 :woot: :woot: And as luck will have it, today I can’t go back home to test again :nailbiting: I fed him just now and I set up the feeder for 1.5-2 hours from now.
     
  95. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    WHOO HOO! There really must have been something in that flea remedy! :woot:

    He should be at or darn near nadir now so with a meal and food for a bit later he will be fine.
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  96. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Wow! This is becoming quite a drama - will he be flying high or staying as down to earth as possible... will look out for pmps test...
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  97. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    +12 9.3 and +12.5 11.3 so went with usual 3.5 dose
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  98. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Nice :) Hope he'll hold on to a yellowy bluey cycle overnight!
     
  99. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    I have a feeling he will bounce :facepalm: I’ll test again in 1-2 hours
    :bighug:
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  100. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Aaand it’s a bounce :facepalm: 21.1 at +3
     

Share This Page