BG #'s on the low end of normal

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele&Errol

Member Since 2013
i read that the cats' normal BG level is between 60 -100. My cat (in remission 7 months) has been 55 on average for the past 3 months. Is it normal for a cat in remission to consistently have such low #'s?
 
[Incorrect assumptions removed by Moderator]

Comparing a human glucometer to a pet-specific glucometer is like reading temperature in Celsius vs Fahrenheit. Both are correct. You just need to know the reference ranges to interpret what the numbers mean.

[Glucose reference ranges are unsubstantiated and have been removed by Moderator]

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *​
Examples of using the chart:

Ex. You are a new insulin user and you test your cat before giving insulin. The test is 300. It probably is safe to give insulin.

Ex. You are an established user of Lantus, following the Tight Regulation protocol. You've tested around +5 to +7 to spot the nadir. It is 200 mg/dL. You probably need to increase the dose, following the instructions for the protocol.

Ex. Your cat is acting funny. The eyes are a bit dilated. You are concerned and test the glucose. The number is 35 mg/dL. ACK! The cat may be in a hypoglycemic state. You quickly follow the HYPO protocol linked in the glucose reference values chart. (which we really, really, suggest you print out and post on your refrigerator.)
 
i read on http://www.vet.cornell.edu/FHC/health_r ... abetes.cfm What is the prognosis for a diabetic cat?
"...There is no cure for diabetes mellitus. However, some diabetic cats may lose the need for insulin, months or years after diagnosis. If diabetes has resulted from obesity, it is likely to improve a great deal-or even completely resolve-once the cat's weight is under control. If obesity or some other disorder is not a factor, the diabetes probably will not go away; however, it can be successfully managed. "

I'm not sure i understand the subtle difference between 'there is no cure for DM' and 'completely resolve' ...
Completely resolved in my book means 'no longer ill with FD'.
I understand cats are considered in remission, but this too seems contradictory to 'completely resolved'.
 
Well, I disagree on that because it's not addressing the issue of what usually causes the obesity in the first place: inappropriate food for obligate carnivores. It leaves the door wide open for pet food companies to shill their "weight loss" formulas which are no better than most of the other junk they put out.

So, the "no cure" vs. "resolve" is just more of the same word-smithing to keep pet food companies in the business of making money at the expense of our pets' health.

As someone once told me when I first joined here, there is no "cure" for diabetes; there is only remission.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top