BG #'s going down, what to do?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Daphne#5 GA

Member Since 2011
I haven't been able to test much for the AMPS, but last night I got an 83 for the Nadir (+6) and so I stayed up all night to make sure she was ok, and then was able to just test her for the AMPS and its a 109, and its about a 1/2 hour before her normal time of 5:15-5:20 AM. So I feed her 1/4 can DM and did not give her dose yet. I figured I would wait and let here BG go up a bit and then give her the dose now, its about 1/2 hour after she ate. Hope I'm doing the right thing. I will call Vet when she opens and see if I should lower the dose permanently now. I still have a lot of reading to do, but for now, can I ask a question? With Lantus, do they dose high and then does it level out and then do they lower it and keep it at a lower dose if the cat is doing or showing numbers in the 100's? I think that's what that document said "R... something" sorry can't think of the name, but it was a Vet who wrote it.
Barb and Daphne ~O) Thanks!
 
Daphne#5 said:
I haven't been able to test much for the AMPS, but last night I got an 83 for the Nadir (+6) and so I stayed up all night to make sure she was ok, and then was able to just test her for the AMPS and its a 109, and its about a 1/2 hour before her normal time of 5:15-5:20 AM. So I feed her 1/4 can DM and did not give her dose yet. I figured I would wait and let here BG go up a bit and then give her the dose now, its about 1/2 hour after she ate. Hope I'm doing the right thing. I will call Vet when she opens and see if I should lower the dose permanently now. I still have a lot of reading to do, but for now, can I ask a question? With Lantus, do they dose high and then does it level out and then do they lower it and keep it at a lower dose if the cat is doing or showing numbers in the 100's? I think that's what that document said "R... something" sorry can't think of the name, but it was a Vet who wrote it.
Barb and Daphne ~O) Thanks!

It's pretty tough to tell how Lantus is working if you don't know what the ps was... if amps was say 160 and +6 was like 100, that would be great! Even if the +6 was 83, that's even greater.
But, say the ps was 296, and your +6 was 100 or even 83, it would mean it's good but better need to watch and test as you may need to reduce the dose when the shed is filled.

Sure you can give a dose late but the pm shot will need to be in 12hrs or a little less like 15min.
Now, if you give food, it will raise the BG likely but it won't last ... food wears off in a couple hours. It is a good idea to test again in 30min but don't feed food until you see a rising BG.
If you had waited 30min, gave no food, tested again and got 81 or something, you would see that the Lantus is still working at lowering and so you could decide to feed and skip shot or give half shot or something.

Ultimately, you want to be giving a dose that can get a cat below about 240 and above 50 or so. Under 100 would be perfect.
 
I believe the R word you are looking for would be Remission or as we call it here OTJ (Off The Juice) and that is what we all pray our cats will get to at some point...Because that means they no longer require insulin because their blood sugars are now controlled by diet alone, HOWEVER, once a diabetic, always a diabetic, they can never go back to eating high carb foods. My Maxwell has been diet controlled for over a year now.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top