Marvin's Mama
Member Since 2014
For the past two days, Marvin's BG has been 322 (+6) with 2 and 2.25 units insulin.
This morning I increased his dose to 2.75 units and I did not test his blood before giving insulin. At +2.5 hrs after the insulin, his BG was 88 (hmmm???) and at +6 was at 104. Now at +12, his blood glucose level is 176.
Do I give him a small dose tonight, like 1 unit? If I don't, I'm sure his BG levels will be back up to 300 by the morning, but I'm also concerned about the huge drop in his levels this morning with the tiny increase of insulin.
This morning I increased his dose to 2.75 units and I did not test his blood before giving insulin. At +2.5 hrs after the insulin, his BG was 88 (hmmm???) and at +6 was at 104. Now at +12, his blood glucose level is 176.
Do I give him a small dose tonight, like 1 unit? If I don't, I'm sure his BG levels will be back up to 300 by the morning, but I'm also concerned about the huge drop in his levels this morning with the tiny increase of insulin.