BG rising after shot, need dosing advice!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squalliesmom

Member Since 2015
Squallie's BG has been inching it's way back up, and tonight at PMPS it was 212, not so bad. But after I gave him his insulin his BG kept rising, at +2 it was 282 and at +4 it was 309. Is a dosage increase in order, or should I be worried that something else is going on that I'm not seeing? I will say he's been a little lethargic today. I want to check him for ketones but so far have not been able to catch him in the box. Should I be concerned about this?
 
Looks like a bounce to me...Not only did he drop down to 78, he dropped pretty quickly too. I know he's done something similar before without bouncing quite so high, but each time the liver reacts, it can cause a different type of bounce
 
Squallie's BG was 466 at AMPS! I don't know whether to increase his dose or not, and by how much. He's been getting .5 or a little under; should I go back up to 1 unit? I am also opening a new bottle of insulin, the current one may have lost some of it's potency.
 
Unfortunately I don't know why sometimes they bounce and sometimes they don't. So unpredictable! Could be because he dropped quickly when he went down to 78. Could be because he likes messing with your mind. :woot: Monitor for today then hopefully you'll have more data.... I'm sorry you're dealing with this, I know how frustrating it is! :banghead:
 
Well, he went from 466 this morning to 63 at +6! If that 466 wasn't a bounce, I bet he'll be bouncing now *groan*. I still haven't been able to catch him in the LB, should I be overly worried about ketones, with all his ups and downs?
 
Squallie's BG was 466 at AMPS! I don't know whether to increase his dose or not, and by how much. He's been getting .5 or a little under; should I go back up to 1 unit? I am also opening a new bottle of insulin, the current one may have lost some of it's potency.
How long does insulin usually last before losing potency? If it is still within expiration date, could it lose potency just by opening the vial?
 
How long does insulin usually last before losing potency? If it is still within expiration date, could it lose potency just by opening the vial?
The manufacturer suggests you dispose of any unused portion of an open bottle after 42 days, because of potential contamination, but I use it beyond that because Squallie gets such a low dose. I spoke with my vet about it and he told me that was okay as long as it's intact and I'm using a fresh needle every time (which I ALWAYS do). The bottle I just threw away was about 2 1/2 months old; the rubber top was starting to leak so I tossed it. I don't really know when it begins to lose potency, but I would guess it would be reflected in kitty's BG readings.

ETA: ...after 42 days...
 
For Vetsulin the manufacturer says:
How long can Vetsulin be used?

It is recommended that Vetsulin vials and cartridges in use be replaced 42 days after they are first punctured.
 
The manufacturer suggests you dispose of any unused portion of an open bottle after 42 days, because of potential contamination, but I use it beyond that because Squallie gets such a low dose. I spoke with my vet about it and he told me that was okay as long as it's intact and I'm using a fresh needle every time (which I ALWAYS do). The bottle I just threw away was about 2 1/2 months old; the rubber top was starting to leak so I tossed it. I don't really know when it begins to lose potency, but I would guess it would be reflected in kitty's BG readings.

ETA: ...after 42 days...

So frustrating for you. When I used Vetsulin which was just last month, it lost its potency day 29 after first use. I noticed when it wasn't as milky looking it was time to get a new one.
 
I use Prozinc and have looked everywhere and can't find this information any where - I have been using the vial for 2 months but I am going to use a new one tomorrow morning. I wonder if I should reduce the dose somewhat with the new vial the first time
 
My Prozinc bottles have been lasting me 6-7 months. I think I saw Robin mentioned that hers does too. As long as Prozinc bottle does not have any floaty's in it or doesn't lose it's color, then it should be ok however I am sure that some could lose their potency. I just have not experienced it. I always drop my dose with a new bottle by .2 for the first couple of cycles just in case it is more potent. I usually go back to my sliding scale pretty quickly because the transition to a new bottle has never been any more potent than my old ones.
 
My Prozinc bottles have been lasting me 6-7 months. I think I saw Robin mentioned that hers does too. As long as Prozinc bottle does not have any floaty's in it or doesn't lose it's color, then it should be ok however I am sure that some could lose their potency. I just have not experienced it. I always drop my dose with a new bottle by .2 for the first couple of cycles just in case it is more potent. I usually go back to my sliding scale pretty quickly because the transition to a new bottle has never been any more potent than my old ones.
Thanks I still have a week or so left in my old bottle so I guess I'll continue to use it - I wonder why the other insulins say to stop using it after 42 days and Prozinc does not
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top