BG readings & Vetsulin

Status
Not open for further replies.

stacysclass

Member Since 2014
Okay, so I have not been on the message board in a few weeks... but Sweetie is doing just wonderful. His coat is nice, thick & shiny and you can really see he has gained weight back. He is not drinking loads of water and he is really back to his old happy self again. This I am happy about! But I do have a few questions.....

1. Started Sweetie on 1 unit of Vetsulin twice day when he was diagnosed back in late March. About 3 weeks ago I changed him to 1.25 units of Vetsulin twice a day. Someone mentioned on another one of my posts that I maybe should even go to 1.5 units twice a day. I had done a curve test and based off of hat I got a few opinions. So my question is this... Sweeties BG always reads right around 315 - 370 right before his morning shot and also right before his evening shot. If he never gets regulated, is this totally normal? I don't want to sound stupid but I just want to know is the insulin supposed to make his BG a normal level all day long? Or no, with diabetes this is just the way it is while you have it.

2.** I have not plugged any #'s in on his chart for quite some time, only because I kept them on paper and just haven't put them in yet but it still looks the same. Should he maybe be increased on his Vetsulin? If so, what dosage?

3. Vet. told me Vetsulin goes bad 30 days after 1st puncture. However, I read on the Vetsulin website that after the 1st puncture it is good for 42 days. Does anyone here ever use it past the 42 days? Or no, it should never be done?

Thank you!!
 
It depends on what he looks like midycle. If he is dropping low around 4-6 hours after the shot and in the 200s at +8, that would be pretty regulated on Vetsulin. It normally hits early and only lasts 8 hours, so the +12 numbers you are getting may be after the insulin has worn off. Or he may be a cat who gets a longer cycle with Vetsulin and if he is in the 100s, low 200s at midcycle, then you could increase the dose.

Can you do a curve and get numbers every 2-3 hours, to see how low it is taking him and how long it is lasting?

Usually you can tell insulin is bad when the numbers go up higher than usual. It does tend to last longer if you have kept it refrigerated. If it is nearing the end of the vial, can you possibly get one of the milder, longer lasting insulins?
 
Some folks find that Vetsulin doesn't last long enough for the cat. Dosing every 8 hours (TID) may help with that, if you can schedule that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top