BG overall seems worse since starting insulin??

JoM

Member Since 2023
Question: Im wondering if someone can look at Karamelle's spreadsheet and explain whats going on here. She seemed to be having a lot of numbers in the 2's and then recently started having more in the 3"s. Nothing has changed except the dose but the numbers actually seem worse since the vet visit and dose change.

Jo
 
Hi Jo! One thing you will be asked to do when posting here is to post the link to your previous post....like this:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/karamelle-new-to-group.285546/

That way it's easier for members to quickly go back and see what you've been told already and what kind of history you and Karamelle have had.

Now for your question. The unfortunate truth is that FD (Feline Diabetes) is a very frustrating disease because we have no real control. Everything is up to the cat and how they respond and that can take time. We all want our cats to be cured yesterday, but it just doesn't work that way.

Since you are feeding the Young Again, the only dosing method you can use is the Start Low, Go Slow method which has you hold the same dose for 7 days (14 cycles) and then you run a curve (testing every 2 hours for 12 hours or every 3 hours for 18 hours). Of course if you can get more tests sprinkled around at different points, it's great information to have!

On SLGS, if she drops below 90, she would earn a reduction in dose, but right now, it's just too soon to expect a lot of improvement. Tonight's cycle would be the 12th at 1U so on Thursday, if you can, run a curve and if she's still running too high, we'll suggest increasing to 1.25 and then the 7 days starts over.

If you can get the kibble out of her diet, you could use the Tight Regulation Protocol. This is a more aggressive dosing method but has also been published in a veterinary journal so it's not something we just made up here. It would allow you to increase as often as every 6 cycles (3 days) until you start to get some numbers in blue (or green). It can require testing more often if she's dropping too fast or too low, but it does increase her chances of remission.

We have seen some cats react to the Young Again as if it were high carb. You might want to try removing it for a couple of days and see if it makes any difference. The same can be said about the other "low carb" kibbles. Despite them being under 10%, something about them can cause some cats to react like they were any other kibble.

Here are the descriptions of both TR and SLGS. If you have any questions or need some clarification, please ask! You aren't "locked in" to one. If you try one and it's not for you, you can switch. (remember though, as long as there's dry food, you must do SLGS)

It's possible (but not likely) that going from 1U in the AM and 0.5 in the PM to 1U both AM and PM, you may have gone past a better dose, which would have been 0.75 twice a day, but again, I don't think this is what's going on with Karamelle. I think you just need to get a good pair of "patience pants" and hang in there.
 
Looks like I did go back to the wrong thread. Sorry for the confusion. Do look at the how to list sticky though please.
 
Looks like I did go back to the wrong thread. Sorry for the confusion. Do look at the how to list sticky though please.
Im sorry, but this forum is really confusing. I have no idea what you mean by "how to list sticky". Is there a place in this forum for new members to just post without being yelled at for not posting right. I wont be here much longer if not.
 
Hello and welcome. We don't mean to yell at you. I know things are stressful enough with a new diagnosed cat. :bighug: We really do want to help you and a lot of people volunteer quite a bit of time here, even after our cats are no longer with us. We remember how hard it was in the beginning.

I think what Elise means by the "how to list sticky" is this info post: POSTING GUIDELINES PLEASE READ, for the next time you start a thread here.

This is a busy forum with lots of posters, and it just helps us keep track of how the cats are doing and if anyone needs help (even if they might not know it), but keeping the subject line as per in that post I linked.

As for why Karamelle's numbers might seem worse now, as Chris said, it's just one of those mysterious and frustrating things that happens with feline diabetes. Insulin is a hormone, not a drug, so you need to increase safely to that dose that will move them into better numbers. It's not like you add a little bit more insulin and the numbers get the equivalent amount better. One more day at this dose, and if you don't see anything under 150 by end of tomorrow, you can increase to 1.25 units Thursday morning.
 
Hi @JoM , at first you may be overwhelmed by the amount of information on this forum but then you get the hang of it and it’ll become easier.
But the people here are all great and will definitely help you figure out how to improve your Karamelle's blood sugar. As it happened to me with my sugarkitty.
As you have already been told it’s a slow process.:bighug:
 
Hello and welcome. We don't mean to yell at you. I know things are stressful enough with a new diagnosed cat. :bighug: We really do want to help you and a lot of people volunteer quite a bit of time here, even after our cats are no longer with us. We remember how hard it was in the beginning.

I think what Elise means by the "how to list sticky" is this info post: POSTING GUIDELINES PLEASE READ, for the next time you start a thread here.

This is a busy forum with lots of posters, and it just helps us keep track of how the cats are doing and if anyone needs help (even if they might not know it), but keeping the subject line as per in that post I linked.

As for why Karamelle's numbers might seem worse now, as Chris said, it's just one of those mysterious and frustrating things that happens with feline diabetes. Insulin is a hormone, not a drug, so you need to increase safely to that dose that will move them into better numbers. It's not like you add a little bit more insulin and the numbers get the equivalent amount better. One more day at this dose, and if you don't see anything under 150 by end of tomorrow, you can increase to 1.25 units Thursday morning.
Thanks. Ive read those several times. Do I just post the BG for the day Im posting then? Ok. I can do that. I didnt realize that the increases and decreases didnt affect the dose. Im not sure how much I will post. We'll see how it goes.
 
Hi @JoM , at first you may be overwhelmed by the amount of information on this forum but then you get the hang of it and it’ll become easier.
But the people here are all great and will definitely help you figure out how to improve your Karamelle's blood sugar. As it happened to me with my sugarkitty.
As you have already been told it’s a slow process.:bighug:
Thank you.
 
Hello Jo. It is all very confusing at first, the diabetes, and the forum, but it will get easier and make more sense.
Karamelle's numbers will start changing once you reach the dose she needs, it's a slow process and you need to be patient, whcih is very, very difficult, we all want our cats to get better fast :bighug:
Some members here post every day, it's a great way to get support, even if it's just in the form of a friendly comment. We've all been through that time of not really knwowing what to do, and it is so discouraging to look at the chart and not see any changes. But it will come.
You can always ask for help, concerning the dose, or how to post, or how to fill the SS, nobody is yelling at you, just trying to help :bighug:
 
Is there a place in this forum for new members to just post without being yelled at for not posting right. I wont be here much longer if not.

Hi there I just wanted to reach out and say I totally understand how you feel, I felt the same way in the beginning and nearly left this forum completely because of how I reacted to the way some posts are written, I felt like I was being chastised or scolded for not knowing what the hell I was doing, and I was like "hello, I'm a newbie here, of course I don't know what I'm doing!"

but if I had let my emotional response take over it would have been the last thing my furry buddy needed, so I took a deep breath and stuck around -- for him. And so glad I did as he is now in diabetic remission thanks to Tiffmaxee and all the other experts here.

on a side note, Karamelle is a beautiful name and an even more beautiful cat! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi there I just wanted to reach out and say I totally understand how you feel, I felt the same way in the beginning and nearly left this forum completely because of how I reacted to the way some posts are written, I felt like I was being chastised or scolded for not knowing what the hell I was doing, and I was like "hello, I'm a newbie here, of course I don't know what I'm doing!"

but if I had let my emotional response take over it would have been the last thing my furry buddy needed, so I took a deep breath and stuck around -- for him. And so glad I did as he is now in diabetic remission thanks to Tiffmaxee and all the other experts here.

on a side note, Karamelle is a beautiful name and an even more beautiful cat! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you for this. I have been wavering over this forum, trying to figure out whats going on here and how to post. Its about the last thing I really want to do is be confused. I prefer Facebook but every time I post there, they just direct me here. I feel like Im being picked on, because on almost all the other posts on the Facebook page, the people are getting answers, not just links to this group, which is what im getting. Ive read some of the links, but I dont understand it all. Im not stupid either. I run a Facebook group and know a LOT about feline health. But Ive never had a cat with diabetes in the over 30 years Ive had cats. I used to be in rescue and have had quite a few. Im down to 6 now which is fine with me. I see people posting every day here but when i click on the post all they are talking about is the weather. This is just so bizarre to me. Im trying not to give up, but i still dont know where to start posting and what Im supposed to be posting. I see the format, date, kitty name, amps, etc. but am I supposed to be posting the days readings in the title every day. I dont use the computer at night so theres never bound to be much on the chart when I post. Like today Ive tested her twice and given one shot. I figured people could just look at the spreadsheet which is why we have it in our signature.
I have gotten some responses telling me to increase the dose, when my vet is telling me to keep it the same. I do get it, because people in the groups do seem to know more than the vets a lot of the time. Im just so unfamiliar with diabetes that I dont want to do something wrong. Her numbers arent terrible and I dont want them to go too low. Plus shes doing fine with no apparent symptoms.
Sorry, I appear to be venting here. I really do appreciate your post.

Jo
 
Hello Jo. It is all very confusing at first, the diabetes, and the forum, but it will get easier and make more sense.
Karamelle's numbers will start changing once you reach the dose she needs, it's a slow process and you need to be patient, whcih is very, very difficult, we all want our cats to get better fast :bighug:
Some members here post every day, it's a great way to get support, even if it's just in the form of a friendly comment. We've all been through that time of not really knwowing what to do, and it is so discouraging to look at the chart and not see any changes. But it will come.
You can always ask for help, concerning the dose, or how to post, or how to fill the SS, nobody is yelling at you, just trying to help :bighug:
Thank you. But when I do ask for help, like in this post, Im being made to feel like Ive posted wrong.

Jo
 
. I see the format, date, kitty name, amps, etc. but am I supposed to be posting the days readings in the title every day. I dont use the computer at night so theres never bound to be much on the chart when I post.

Hi Jo I really hope you don't leave this group
You have the format correct date,kitty name, AMPS # and any other tests you have done. To add the additional numbers look to the right and tap on Thread Tools ,then tap on Edit Title add the numbers and tap Save

You want to try and see how low Karamelle BG is which is called her Nadir
When you test at night you can just add that to your title and any other tests you do , you don't want to miss if she drops under 90 because that would mean a reduction of 0.25 units. Most cats drop lower at night
If possible when ever you can try and get a +6 test, if you work try and get it on the weekends at night, or a +5 test
The more data you have the better
After 7 days you need to do a 12 hour curve testing every 2 hours to see if you need to increase or decrease her dose
I agree with Wendy&Neko when she said one more day at this dose and if you don't see any number under 150 by end of tomorrow you can increase to 1.25 units Thursday morning,

On the Lantus board we do like you to start a new post everyday ,
and then link your previous days post to it in case members want to go back to look at it.
I would give her 1.25 units tomorrow morning (Friday) so following SLGS method it says
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet.The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
Do you have the syringes with the half unit markings?
@JoM
 
Last edited:
As Diane said, people on the Lantus forum tend to post often, but you don't have to. You can just link to your previous post when you do, so it's easy to see where you were the last time you posted. Posting often makes it easier for people to help you, we get used to seeing your cat's name and numbers and start seeing patterns.
She does not have any symptoms and it's great. I was like you at first, very defensive and thinking my vet made a mistake, Bella did not have symptoms, she could not be sick. Then I started looking at her more closely. She was drinking. A lot. And she never used to drink. She was peeing a lot, a lot more than her drinking would explain, and so much that she would miss her box. And she lost weight. I was trying to have her lose weight for years but then she started losing, and drinking, and peeing, and it all made sense: those are diabetes' symptoms. That, and of course the blood glucose numbers. It is not normal for a cat to have blood glucose in the 300s. That is diabetes.
You don't want her to stay in those high numbers too long, or she could get toxicity due to the high blood glucose. Her kidneys will suffer, her nerves too. Some cats develop neuropathy months after diagnosis, mine did. She was not even able to stand on the back legs with her front paws on a box. She could not jump anymore, she was limping, and that was after her numbers started improving. Diabetes takes time befre you can see symptoms, but you don't want that to happen.
I am sorry you got off with a bad impression here. People here are giving their time to help others, sometimes there might be something going on, with their own cat maybe, or something else, and an answer might seem agressive, but it's not personal. It might also be that somebody really wants to help you but cannot, because they are missing some information. Try not to take it personnally, keep asking questions, I honestly think this is the best place to get a cat on the way to being regulated.
For my cat, the fact that I joined here is really what made a difference. If you look at her SS, her numbers started improving when I started to follow what @Bandit's Mom and @tiffmaxee and others were telling me to do. Some days I was frustrated, I thought it did not make sense, my vet did not agree, I wanted to go faster, but the important thig is that the method works.
Sorry for the long post :bighug:
 
Hi Jo I really hope you don't leave this group
You have the format correct date,kitty name, AMPS # and any other tests you have done. To add the additional numbers look to the right and tap on Thread Tools ,then tap on Edit Title add the numbers and tap Save

You want to try and see how low Karamelle BG is which is called her Nadir
When you test at night you can just add that to your title and any other tests you do , you don't want to miss if she drops under 90 because that would mean a reduction of 0.25 units. Most cats drop lower at night
If possible when ever you can try and get a +6 test, if you work try and get it on the weekends at night, or a +5 test
The more data you have the better
After 7 days you need to do a 12 hour curve testing every 2 hours to see if you need to increase or decrease her dose
I agree with Wendy&Neko when she said one more day at this dose and if you don't see any number under 150 by end of tomorrow you can increase to 1.25 units Thursday morning,

On the Lantus board we do like you to start a new post everyday ,
and then link your previous days post to it in case members want to go back to look at it.
I would give her 1.25 units tomorrow morning (Friday) so following SLGS method it says
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet.The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
Do you have the syringes with the half unit markings?
@JoM
Ok, Im beginning to understand a bit better. The conundrum here is that she is also on Prozac. Recently its appeared that it wasnt working as well and I concluded it was because she was at the end of the bottle (of liquid) and it just wasnt working as well. So I started a new bottle on Sunday, 1-14-24. The vet originally wanted me to do a curve tomorrow, but said I should wait till a week after starting the new bottle of prozac. What is your opinion on that?
Above you are telling me to start 1.25 units tomorrow (Friday), but tomorrow is Thursday. Should I wait until I do the curve first? Plus, the curve is every 2 hours after the first preshot test in the morning, right? For 12 hours? So not continued after the night shot? I havent as of yet tested her after Ive gone to bed which is usually around midnight. I dont relish the thought of doing this as I dont sleep well as it is.
When you say to get a +5 or +6 test, do you mean after the morning preshot test or after the evening preshot test?
Should I change the title of this post? I never put any numbers in it, but this post is from yesterday.

Jo
 
As Diane said, people on the Lantus forum tend to post often, but you don't have to. You can just link to your previous post when you do, so it's easy to see where you were the last time you posted. Posting often makes it easier for people to help you, we get used to seeing your cat's name and numbers and start seeing patterns.
She does not have any symptoms and it's great. I was like you at first, very defensive and thinking my vet made a mistake, Bella did not have symptoms, she could not be sick. Then I started looking at her more closely. She was drinking. A lot. And she never used to drink. She was peeing a lot, a lot more than her drinking would explain, and so much that she would miss her box. And she lost weight. I was trying to have her lose weight for years but then she started losing, and drinking, and peeing, and it all made sense: those are diabetes' symptoms. That, and of course the blood glucose numbers. It is not normal for a cat to have blood glucose in the 300s. That is diabetes.
You don't want her to stay in those high numbers too long, or she could get toxicity due to the high blood glucose. Her kidneys will suffer, her nerves too. Some cats develop neuropathy months after diagnosis, mine did. She was not even able to stand on the back legs with her front paws on a box. She could not jump anymore, she was limping, and that was after her numbers started improving. Diabetes takes time befre you can see symptoms, but you don't want that to happen.
I am sorry you got off with a bad impression here. People here are giving their time to help others, sometimes there might be something going on, with their own cat maybe, or something else, and an answer might seem agressive, but it's not personal. It might also be that somebody really wants to help you but cannot, because they are missing some information. Try not to take it personnally, keep asking questions, I honestly think this is the best place to get a cat on the way to being regulated.
For my cat, the fact that I joined here is really what made a difference. If you look at her SS, her numbers started improving when I started to follow what @Bandit's Mom and @tiffmaxee and others were telling me to do. Some days I was frustrated, I thought it did not make sense, my vet did not agree, I wanted to go faster, but the important thig is that the method works.
Sorry for the long post :bighug:
The Glucose toxicity is something that I didnt know anything about. My vet seems fine with her numbers, but reading this, I guess, Im not fine with them now.
When did you start seeing an improvement after being helped here? I cant tell when Bella's numbers changed. Was it recently? It looks like youve given 2 units since the beginning of the year. You test way more than I would be comfortable doing every day. What time do you test for the PMPS so you can do +4 and +5 after that? Im testing at 8:30pm and I go to bed at midnight, so ive just been getting a +2 - 2.5. I did one +3 but Im usually sitting in bed reading by 11pm. Do you get up after you go to bed or are you testing earlier. I cant test any earlier than 8:15 in the morning and she gets her first shot around 8:30am.
 
Ok, Im beginning to understand a bit better. The conundrum here is that she is also on Prozac. Recently its appeared that it wasnt working as well and I concluded it was because she was at the end of the bottle (of liquid) and it just wasnt working as well. So I started a new bottle on Sunday, 1-14-24. The vet originally wanted me to do a curve tomorrow, but said I should wait till a week after starting the new bottle of prozac. What is your opinion on that?
Above you are telling me to start 1.25 units tomorrow (Friday), but tomorrow is Thursday. Should I wait until I do the curve first? Plus, the curve is every 2 hours after the first preshot test in the morning, right? For 12 hours? So not continued after the night shot? I havent as of yet tested her after Ive gone to bed which is usually around midnight. I dont relish the thought of doing this as I dont sleep well as it is.
When you say to get a +5 or +6 test, do you mean after the morning preshot test or after the evening preshot test?
Should I change the title of this post? I never put any numbers in it, but this post is from yesterday.
Jo
I'll let @Diane Tyler's Mom answer you about what she meant for the dose, but as for your title, don't worry for today. You can start a new convo tomorrow morning with numbers, and if you decide to do the curve, you can add that as well.
For the curve: it's either every 2 hours for 12 hours, or every 3 hours for 18 hours.
 
I'll let @Diane Tyler's Mom answer you about what she meant for the dose, but as for your title, don't worry for today. You can start a new convo tomorrow morning with numbers, and if you decide to do the curve, you can add that as well.
For the curve: it's either every 2 hours for 12 hours, or every 3 hours for 18 hours.
When do you typically start the curve. I mean what time? AMPS is usually around 8:15 and shot at 8:30. So do I start there and do 10:30, 12:30, 2:30, 4:30, 6:30 and 8:30?
Edited to add, I typically do the PMPS at 8:15, so that would be the last test on the curve?
 
Last edited:
Above you are telling me to start 1.25 units tomorrow (Friday), but tomorrow is Thursday. Should I wait until I do the curve first? Plus, the curve is every 2 hours after the first preshot test in the morning, right? For 12 hours? So not continued after the night shot? I havent as of yet tested her after Ive gone to bed which is usually around midnight. I dont relish the thought of doing this as I dont sleep well as it is.
When you say to get a +5 or +6 test, do you mean after the morning preshot test or after the evening preshot test?
Should I change the title of this post? I never put any numbers in it, but this post is from yesterday.
Hi Jo sorry yes tomorrow is Thursday, I really don't know anything about Prozac, are you home all day tomorrow so you can do the 12 hour curve?
I would feel better if you will be home all day to do the curve and then we can see if she needs to have her dose increased, but what her numbers look like so far to me she would need an increase
What do you think
@JoM
 
Last edited:
I started seeing better numbers around late February 2022, and even better after late March. Look at 2022: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...xsPm45JB4H0KMDN6kEFa0jMIM/edit#gid=1183721521
I test a lot when I am home, I am not working out of the home currently so it’s easier. Her PS tests are at 7:30. I rarely test her after +3 at night during the week because I don’t function well either if I don’t sleep. I will do it if I think she might get low, but that’s rare now.
For a curve, you start at preshot and then every 2 hours. If you can get one or two after your pm preshot, that’s even better.
 
Im testing at 8:30pm and I go to bed at midnight, so ive just been getting a +2 - 2.5. I did one +3 but Im usually sitting in bed reading by 11pm.
At least get a+3 at night, If you see her BG is lower @+2 when you test her I would definitely get a +3 because you want to be sure her BG isn't dropping any lower because that means it could be an active cycle and you might have to continue to test more after that.
Do you feed her small snacks like 1 or 2 teaspoons of her wet food?
If you see she's dropping to low you would feed her that small snack and test her again in 30 minutes . It depends on how low she's dropping
You can always post and ask for help if you're not sure , that's why we like to put the BG numbers in our title and keep the spreadsheet up to date
I'm usually up late at night and will check in, so if I see you need help and I can help you I will and if I can't I can tag a few members who I know are around when it's late.
It's 10:00 PM where I live , what time is it by you , are you ahead or behind my time?

I want to be sure you have your hypo kit in case she drops very low and you need to feed higher carbs
Med and High Carb food and some honey/karo



Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods


https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

10% and under is low carb
11% -15 is medium carbs.

16- 24 is high carb.

Do you have the syringes with the half unit markings?
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
Just curious … why is Karmelle on Prozac?

Did the vet explain why they advised waiting a week to do the curve after starting a new bottle of Prozac? Did they think Prozac would affect BG values? (Anti-anxiety perhaps reducing stress??)
 
Just curious … why is Karmelle on Prozac?

Did the vet explain why they advised waiting a week to do the curve after starting a new bottle of Prozac? Did they think Prozac would affect BG values? (Anti-anxiety perhaps reducing stress??)
From what ive read, Prozac can affect BG. Im just not sure how much. And its not like she was off of it and then restarted. She was taking it continually, but I think it just wasnt strong enough at the end of the bottle. He just wanted to be safe to not take any #'s right after starting the new bottle as absolutely correct and to wait a week. I put her on it because she was attacking my young cat Julie. It was pretty bad before i started the Prozac and then she seemed to stop. But then a few days ago she started again.
 
At least get a+3 at night, If you see her BG is lower @+2 when you test her I would definitely get a +3 because you want to be sure her BG isn't dropping any lower because that means it could be an active cycle and you might have to continue to test more after that.
Do you feed her small snacks like 1 or 2 teaspoons of her wet food?
If you see she's dropping to low you would feed her that small snack and test her again in 30 minutes . It depends on how low she's dropping
You can always post and ask for help if you're not sure , that's why we like to put the BG numbers in our title and keep the spreadsheet up to date
I'm usually up late at night and will check in, so if I see you need help and I can help you I will and if I can't I can tag a few members who I know are around when it's late.
It's 10:00 PM where I live , what time is it by you , are you ahead or behind my time?

I want to be sure you have your hypo kit in case she drops very low and you need to feed higher carbs
Med and High Carb food and some honey/karo



Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods


https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

10% and under is low carb
11% -15 is medium carbs.

16- 24 is high carb.

Do you have the syringes with the half unit markings?
Hi Jo sorry yes tomorrow is Thursday, I really don't know anything about Prozac, are you home all day tomorrow so you can do the 12 hour curve?
I would feel better if you will be home all day to do the curve and then we can see if she needs to have her dose increased, but what her numbers look like so far to me she would need an increase
What do you think
@JoM
I can definitely test her every 2 hours tomorrow or any day that I dont have a long appt to go to. The reason we didnt want to do it tomorrow is because of the prozac issue. Its possible it can have some affect on the BG and if the bottom of the bottle wasnt strong enough, like I suspect, then starting her on the new bottle might affect the BG results, or not. We really dont know for sure, so was going to err on the side of caution and test a week after starting the new bottle, which would be Sunday. I can still do the curve tomorrow and then again on Sunday, just to see if theres any difference, if that would be a good idea.
I am in California so Im PST, not sure about the time. Under your post it says you posted at 6:21pm. Its 8:55pm here right now.
I do have the half mark insulin syringes.
I looked up the carb content on the cans Im feeding and they were much lower than what youve listed here. All under 10%. They are Fancy Feast Classic Pate. I feed her usually right after testing and in the middle of the day if Im not testing then. Shes eats pretty well and also has her dry food in bowls that she can munch on when she wants. It hasnt been a problem so far for her to not eat before the pm test because shes usually sleeping.

Jo
 
Yes, you can definitely do a curve tomorrow and then again in a week or so, but still test a few times a day in between, as you have been doing. If the Prozac affects her BG, it might start going down in a few days, you'll see it. At the same time, she might get less stressed whenb it starts working again, and her BG might decrease because of that as well. It's hard to predict for sure.
You might want to get a few cans of high carb food in case she goes into low number or even hypoglycemia. You also need some Caro syrup, or honey. She is high now but she can get down fast, you never know when that might happen so it's good to be prepared.
I am in Minnesota, it's Central Time, so I think 2 hours before you, and Diane is in Pennsylvania (at least i think so), Eastern Time at least, that I'm sure of.
You asked if I test before going to bed: yes. Usually I go to bed earlier, today was my son's 16th birthday so we're up a little later. On weekends too I stay up later. If she is worrying me I'll get up or at least try to. I leave her a meal and a snack in an automatic feeder for the night, at +4 and +6.
OK, I'm sleepy now, so good night, and I hope we could help you understand a little better! :bighug:
 
Sweet little blue (180) today! :cool: That's a great sign of progress.

To tell you the truth, you don't really need to do a curve tomorrow, unless you want to gather more data about what her cycles look like. You are doing a fantastic job testing. The goal of a curve is to get an idea how low she's going on a particular dose, but I can tell that with the amount of testing you are doing already. Unless you see a lower number later tonight, the SLGS dosing method says you are good to increase to 1.25 units. You want her nadirs, or lowest points to be in the 90-149 range, and they aren't there yet so she needs that dose increase.
 
I am in California so Im PST, not sure about the time. Under your post it says you posted at 6:21pm. Its 8:55pm here right now.
@JoM I'm 3 hours ahead of you
I would take Wendy's advice and increase Karamelle's dose this morning ,Wendy is very experienced and has been here a long time, she is one of our moderators here
 
Last edited:
I looked up the carb content on the cans Im feeding and they were much lower than what youve listed here. All under 10%. They are Fancy Feast Classic Pate.
If you're talking about the list I gave you above ( my post # 26) I know they are higher than what you are feeding now, they are for your hyoo kit med and high carb food they are if you ever need to raise her BG if she ever drops way to low. Yes the Fancy Feast Pates are low carb,they are fine
@JoM
 
Back
Top