Our 14 yr old sugarcat Dot losing weight and has just finished two courses of antibiotics (Clavaseptin then Zeniquin) after being diagnosed with a raging UTI about a month ago.
All urine draws have been done directly from his bladder and culture done last week shows gram negative bacilli.
In the few days since he finished his last course of antibiotics his AMPS & PMPS BG reading has shot up to over 600 (Meter reads HI) and his nadir is sitting at about 290.
We have been increasing his Levemir dose according to the tight regulation protocol and he is now on 4 units twice a day.
When he is on the antibiotics it seems to keep the infection down to a dull roar but not clear it up. The vet's only suggestion now is to try Sulfatrim for 2 weeks and test him at 12 days and probably continue for a total of 4 weeks.
Note: Dot's diabetes was diagnosed October 2013 and after switching from humulin to levemir he went into remission in just 8 days. He was completely OTJ from November 2013 to 1st week of June 2014
I am beginning to feel like we are torturing him and feeling at the end of my rope. confused_cat
Would like some feedback on if there is much hope the Sufatrim will work after Clavaseptin & Zenequin failed to clear the infection. The vet also gave the option of restarting either Clavaseptin or Zeniquin. :shock:
Thanks,
Karen
All urine draws have been done directly from his bladder and culture done last week shows gram negative bacilli.
In the few days since he finished his last course of antibiotics his AMPS & PMPS BG reading has shot up to over 600 (Meter reads HI) and his nadir is sitting at about 290.
We have been increasing his Levemir dose according to the tight regulation protocol and he is now on 4 units twice a day.
When he is on the antibiotics it seems to keep the infection down to a dull roar but not clear it up. The vet's only suggestion now is to try Sulfatrim for 2 weeks and test him at 12 days and probably continue for a total of 4 weeks.
Note: Dot's diabetes was diagnosed October 2013 and after switching from humulin to levemir he went into remission in just 8 days. He was completely OTJ from November 2013 to 1st week of June 2014
I am beginning to feel like we are torturing him and feeling at the end of my rope. confused_cat
Would like some feedback on if there is much hope the Sufatrim will work after Clavaseptin & Zenequin failed to clear the infection. The vet also gave the option of restarting either Clavaseptin or Zeniquin. :shock:
Thanks,
Karen