BG Numbers?

Status
Not open for further replies.

pteacher

Member Since 2013
I tested Rocky's blood at 6pm tonight and got my first reading below 200, so immediately put in a call to my vet. She said no insulin shot tonight and retest in the morning with the normal routine.

I just would like to know what are considered normal bg levels, what is critical levels and what is high? She had told me to call if his bg reading was lower than 200. However, I wasn't sure about the difference when using a human meter vs. animal meter.
 
Well, first. Welcome to the Vampire Club! I know you were having trouble getting testing down. And it sounds like you got it just in time!

When you get a preshot number under 200, we suggest you wait 20 minutes without feeding and retest. (food raises the number and you want a number not influenced by food). If the number is rising and under 200, then you can shoot but maybe a little bit less than the last shot. Skipping the shot completely is not ideal. Your next preshot is likely to be high with 24 hours since the previous shot.

We generally think a cat is regulated when they are in the mid200s at preshot and double digits at nadir (but not below 40 which is a hypo number). We want a cat below the renal threshold so their pancreas can heal - generally considered below 250-280 - most of the time.

We consider a cat in remission when they range from 40-120 off insulin for two weeks, spending most of the time in double digits.
 
Congratulations on getting your first successful test in and here's to wishing you many more! drinking24

Another tool I use is Wikipedia's Blood Sugar Guidelines in cats for help in determining what numbers are "good."
 
I have learned a lot from this forum. However, I guess I still want to trust my vet and feel she has the best interest in treatment for my cat. Therefore, when she told me do not give him a shot after a below 200 reading, I did what she said. Yes, his numbers were back up to the 300's this morning, but he is still acting normal and everything appears to be fine. I am not testing him constantly, but will continue to try to do it twice a day before giving him his shot of insulin.
Thank you for the link about blood sugar guidelines and for your input. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top