BG level questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

sengibous

Member Since 2012
Yesterday and early today Kale's BG levels were HIGH. In the 500 to 600 range. Now we're down to 275 as of 15 minutes ago. Is it safe that it's lowered so quickly? Am I right to be excited by this news or should I be concerned. He's currently getting 2 u of Humulin N every 12 hours after eating. And when if his numbers continue to drop this way and move into normal levels should I give him the full 2 u? Or even give him any at all? Would really like to avoid hypo if I can.
Yesterday we switched foods to Fancy Feast classic from the Hills prescription food so i assume that would definitely be helping these numbers drop. I just really didn't expect this to happen so quickly.

Stephanie and Kale
 
When you switch foods from a hi carb like hills to a low carb, you have to be cautious because the numbers may drop quickly and you may need to reduce the insulin. If you could, you should really try to change insulins anyway to either Lantus, Levemir, or PZI which are better cat insulins. Humulin tends to bring cats up and down quickly from what I've been told but I am not very familiar with it so can't advise you on dose.

You are probably not in danger of a hypo at 275 though. That is not a low number. To be extra safe if you want to you could cut back on your shot a little by a .5 (1/2) unit but that would have to be your decision and do not shoot any more often than you are supposed to. Since I don't really know how Humulin works, it's hard for me to advise. When do you shoot again?

Melanie & Racci
 
Levels went down to 178. I called a local 24 hour vet and was told if his numbers stay at this level to not give him his next dose. Will be keeping a close watch on him. I already plan on calling my vet in the am. At the time of diagnosis a generic insulin was all I could afford which is why he's on humulin. His next shot is due 4 hours. And I will continue to monitor his bg levels closely in case they start to rise. Thanks for the response!
Stephanie and Kale
 
Numbers are back up to 261 now so at this point I'm not going to make any decisions until it's time for his insulin again. Will then decide when I see his BG levels after his food. I'm just nervous about giving the full 2 u because the last dose took him from 503 down to these numbers I've been seeing the last few hours.
 
Stephanie,

Is that the starting dose, 2u? I would certainly talk to the vet about lowering it before giving the shot in the am. We usually start them out at 1U, sometimes 2 but Humulin is harsh and if it brought him down that much it might be too much for him. You could put him on 1 and then go up to 1.5 if needed possibly. Just a thought to discuss.

Goodnight. Beddybye for me.

Melanie & Racci
 
I was actually just discussing that with someone who has used humulin before and lowering the dose was the ultimate decision. Yes that was the starting dose. Kale was just diagnosed on Friday. Unless the AMPS numbers are back to off the charts I will be going with a lower dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top