? BG is 8.6 PMPS What do I do?

Status
Not open for further replies.

LuanneP

Member Since 2017
Hi guys,

I posted in the Main Forum but was suggested that I post here.

For the first time Merry's PMPS # was below the safe shoot number. He was 7.6 so I retested immediately after to make sure it was a good reading & it was 8.6 so definitely below the safe shoot number.

I intended to retest in 20 mins & not feed him but in my rush to post a question I left his food within reach so when I went back to retest him he had eaten half his food. I retested him anyway & it was 11 but now I don't know if it came up because of food or if it was coming up on it's own.

I picked his food up & I retested another 20 mins later & it was 13.8 and then another 20 mins after that it was 13.2.

There's not a lot of night time #s on his spreadsheet because he gets his insulin at 8am/8pm so it's only +3 when I go to bed & the times I've tested him at +3 it hasn't usually come down yet. There's two recent +3 PM readings and closer to the beginning of the spreadsheet there's two +3 PM readings.

Because we don't know if it came up because of the food or not, I'm not sure if I should give him his insulin, be it a full dose or partial dose or skip the dose. What do you think?
 
Another 20 mins later & it's still holding in the 13s at 13.8. He really wants the rest of his food too but I don't know if I should give it to him and if I should give some insulin or not.
 
Can you convert your numbers to US numbers?

Are you able to stay up tonight and monitor and do you have plenty of supplies?
 
PMPS 7.6 (136.8) & then 8.6 (154.8)
**he mistakingly got into some food
20 mins later 11 (198)
20 mins later 13.8 (248.4)
20 mins later 13.2 (237.6)
20 mins later 13.8 (248.4)

(I multiplied by 18, hope that's right)
 
Do you know if he usually gets a big food spike (his numbers going up because he ate)?

Can you stay up tonight and monitor if you need to?
 
I've never tested him that soon after eating so I'm not really sure.
When I've tested him at +2 in the AM it's been about 35 points higher but I only have 3 readings at +2.
I was going to do a curve tomorrow for my vet but this may have messed up that plan.
 
Since you are so far past shot time, it may be best to skip. You'd have to shoot 12 hours tomorrow morning from the time you shoot tonight and then work your way back. You're only supposed to move the shot 30 min. in one day. You'd have to be able to work it back over four days. It's better to be safe and have them be high for a day than too low.
 
When you get a low PS number and you aren't able to monitor and don't have the experience of how low he will go, it's usually best to skip to keep him safe. Sorry your curve is messed up.
 
Thanks @carfurby :) I could work the time back over the weekend but like you said I don't want him to go hypo. Maybe I'll do his curve on Monday instead since I'll be home then as well. Should things be settled down to do it Monday as long as everything is on schedule tomorrow & Sunday?
 
I guess I can give him the rest of his food too or should I test him again just out of curiosity?
 
He most likely will be back on track by Monday. You can test if you want to give you an idea of if he's still going up. Yes, then feed him.
 
He's at 14.3 (257.4) and happy to get his food! I'm lucky he's so easy to get readings from & just purrs away.
I was glad to see that lowish # PMPS because I feel like we're not getting anywhere but maybe we are now. He was in remission for a while until May when he lived in his previous home. I'm not sure what happened for him to come out of remission & then he was surrendered to rescue in July so has been with me since. I hope I do start to see more of those lowish readings :)
 
(I multiplied by 18, hope that's right)

yes that's right!!

I think you could have safely shot at the 198....it takes about 20 minutes for any food he ate to get into his bloodstream and effect the number and he'd come up over 60 points already

Once they get up that high, it's usually fine to go ahead and shoot, even if they've eaten a little (as long as it's low carb)
 
I updated Merry's spreadsheet after doing some readings throughout Saturday, but not a full curve every 2 hrs as we went out after +8 but he didn't really curve much, was rather flat. I wonder if I screwed things up by missing his shot when he was low on Oct 6 (when I started this thread). Could his body still be adjusting after that? I'm thinking I should increase him 0.25 units since he's still not really getting into the good numbers. I can start a new thread for this if needed but wanted to comment here as well in case that missed shot could still be messing with things.
 
I think you could probably increase, but I'd really like to see some PM cycle tests

Most cats go lower at night, so it's really important to get at least a quick "before bed" test in at night. By only testing on the AM cycle, you're only seeing half the picture
 
I did a couple before bed, that's +3 , and he hasn't started to drop at that point. I did a couple before bed a while ago as well with the same result. He gets his insulin at 8am/pm so that only give me 3 hrs before I go to bed & then he gets a snack at bedtime as well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top