BG CONFUSION / CON'T

Status
Not open for further replies.
What was Corky’s AMPS this morning?
Good Morning
I just put the info in I write in in the palm of my hand for 6 & 8 and take a snoozing break It was actually great 199, wil test at 10:25 when that insulin kicks in, and post it right away:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
127. Hooray. Now if nothing will happen to stop his progress. FEED ONLY LOW CARB
Check my remarks on the foods eaten I have put the Carbs on every type of food, What a good girl I am!!!! :D:joyful::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:

I found the carbs in Tuna Feast Flake - 5%

Trout Feast Flake - 4%
I was concerned because it looks gravy like and stopped giving it to either Corky or Coco and the love them because is chucky, no more worries now about feeding it:bookworm:
 
Last edited:
I don’t understand why he is not getting down into green.. I am somewhat disappointed. But at least we have bumped him out of the pinks! He needed that increase to 1 unit.
 
You asked about the carbs in the
Fancy Feast Chicken Feast Chunky Pate Wet Cat Food. The carbs are 5.3 percent so it should be okay to feed Corky if he likes chunks. To me it looks a little dry in the photo I saw, like a loaf with chunks, but I know you add water to their food.
 
You asked about the carbs in the
Fancy Feast Chicken Feast Chunky Pate Wet Cat Food. The carbs are 5.3 percent so it should be okay to feed Corky if he likes chunks. To me it looks a little dry in the photo I saw, like a loaf with chunks, but I know you add water to their food.

Thank you, the Food Chart says 4% but either way I know it's good to feed. and it's not loafy, it's like a thick paste and yes I always put water in every meal , they still do not touch their water container, since I moved it for construction but it's still out, I change the water every day and have measurements on the bottle, now after Corky's symptoms of drinking and drinking water, I am mortified I do not recognize it again,
so the water is there in case It happens that of the sudden I see in either one, too much drinking. Need not to ever experience what started all this for neither of them, so like I always tell you, my babies are my everything, whatever they need, want, they get "spoiled rotten" I say! did you see the remark on the feeding? it's awesome not to see so many yellows and that if so, they are not as high, more blues YEEE!:D:joyful::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
I got that information from Chewy.com. And they got it from the manufacturer. I know they changed the formula recently so that may be the difference. Anyway it’s still okay to feed so that is good.
 
What was PMPS?
flake meal, the food chart says 4% ye Corky's
Suzanne & Darcy, potrout st: 3174063, member: 30260"]I got that information from Chewy.com. And they got it from the manufacturer. I know they changed the formula recently so that may be the difference. Anyway it’s still okay to feed so that is good.[/QUOTE]

I am not convinced on the Carbs on the Trout Flake food. the food chart says 4% but Corky's BG sprung up to 269 from 195 ? just wondering
 
My sources say 8.1 percent on the flaked trout.
But if you look at the food chart it says 4% and Corky apparently cannot go past 4 so it seems oh well I just thought I’d mention it to you, I’m sure it will go down by next check I’m just not going to give him that flavor I’ll exchange them for another thank you:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:

Good night!!!!!
 
Last edited:
My sources say 8.1 percent on the flaked trout.
Me and Corkys mom must have found the same old chart because I have been feeding the flaked trout as well after reading the same 4% she listed! But 8% is way too high for me!!! Yikes, in the donation pile it goes. No wonder Meat preferred it and no wonder her BG has been going higher! To think I've had the chunky chicken on the "higher carbs than normal" shelf while the trout is in regular rotation!


I've also been feeding the tuna flaked and the chicken and tuna flaked and I'm wondering if I'm wrong about them, too. They all have that same gravy like quality.

These recipe changes are really inconvenient!!!
 
Me and Corkys mom must have found the same old chart because I have been feeding the flaked trout as well after reading the same 4% she listed! But 8% is way too high for me!!! Yikes, in the donation pile it goes. No wonder Meat preferred it and no wonder her BG has been going higher! To think I've had the chunky chicken on the "higher carbs than normal" shelf while the trout is in regular rotation!


I've also been feeding the tuna flaked and the chicken and tuna flaked and I'm wondering if I'm wrong about them, too. They all have that same gravy like quality.

These recipe changes are really inconvenient!!!
Thanks I thought I was nuts There’s is though a dark blue FF label that’s tuna flake that has 0% carbs my kiddos love it but yes I will no longer feed those two I have been struggling with Corky’s BG’s for days and it’s been because of these new flavors he’s been eating and he was doing so great still is, but purples and high yellow no no thank you
 
Last edited:
Me and Corkys mom must have found the same old chart because I have been feeding the flaked trout as well after reading the same 4% she listed! But 8% is way too high for me!!! Yikes, in the donation pile it goes. No wonder Meat preferred it and no wonder her BG has been going higher! To think I've had the chunky chicken on the "higher carbs than normal" shelf while the trout is in regular rotation!


I've also been feeding the tuna flaked and the chicken and tuna flaked and I'm wondering if I'm wrong about them, too. They all have that same gravy like quality.

These recipe changes are really inconvenient!!!
Also, it depends upon how the carbs are calculated— dry matter basis or metabolized energy, etc. Anything less than 10 percent carbs is still considered low carb, but some cats are more sensitive to carbs than others. If you give your cat a particular food and notice it really does raise BG each time you feed it (not just based on a single test) then you can always save that food for when you are steering the numbers with food and need a few more carbs. That 8 percent was a dry matter basis number so it doesn’t compare directly to the 4 percent number.
 
Me and Corkys mom must have found the same old chart because I have been feeding the flaked trout as well after reading the same 4% she listed! But 8% is way too high for me!!! Yikes, in the donation pile it goes. No wonder Meat preferred it and no wonder her BG has been going higher! To think I've had the chunky chicken on the "higher carbs than normal" shelf while the trout is in regular rotation!


I've also been feeding the tuna flaked and the chicken and tuna flaked and I'm wondering if I'm wrong about them, too. They all have that same gravy like quality.

These recipe changes are really inconvenient!!!
And your baby’s spreadsheet doesn’t look too bad. It looks like you need to keep plugging along with the increases every 7 days. Blues on the spreadsheet are soon in your future. :cool:
 
And your baby’s spreadsheet doesn’t look too bad. It looks like you need to keep plugging along with the increases every 7 days. Blues on the spreadsheet are soon in your future. :cool:

Suzanne, definitely Corky's body does not react well to 8% carbs . if you can se SS & REMARKS, thank you, Have a good evening, and Sunday:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
+6 is Too late in the cycle to feed him carbs. It should be a very small snack anyway. A small snack means 1-2 TEASPOONS of low carb food.

And the chunky chicken is only 5 percent carbs and not 8 percent. It was the trout that Chewy.com says is 8 percent. I’m also going to check a different food chart.
 
+6 is Too late in the cycle to feed him carbs. It should be a very small snack anyway. A small snack means 1-2 TEASPOONS of low carb food.

And the chunky chicken is only 5 percent carbs and not 8 percent. It was the trout that Chewy.com says is 8 percent. I’m also going to check a different food chart.
apparently is not low carb, I have always fed him @ +6 1/2 can, I cannot remember the last time I fed Corky carbs, please check for me because this high Bg was right after his nest tests r2 hours after the Chunky chicken, so that looks like 2 down, thanks:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Also, it depends upon how the carbs are calculated— dry matter basis or metabolized energy, etc. Anything less than 10 percent carbs is still considered low carb, but some cats are more sensitive to carbs than others. If you give your cat a particular food and notice it really does raise BG each time you feed it (not just based on a single test) then you can always save that food for when you are steering the numbers with food and need a few more carbs. That 8 percent was a dry matter basis number so it doesn’t compare directly to the 4 percent number.

Thank you so much for explaining this to me. I withheld all the flake foods for a day and her numbers are definitely lower!! I fed her the chicken and tuna flake this morning to see what happens. today is a curve day so hopefully that's a bit of info for me and Meat to build on. She loves the flake so I'm hopeful it's just that she is sensitive to trout!

I cant wait to see some blues! Aiming for the new dose tomorrow!
 
My only available FF tuna flaked is light blue, I wonder if it's a different product than yours?

The product is always the same Fancy Feast, from the day I switched from dry to FF only. My concerns are with the Mint label FF Trout Feast Flaked which we established has 8% carbs, then there's the continued concern for the Dark Green Chicken Feast Chunky which you found it to be 5%, however I fed again and just seeing his SS I want to cry! the Flake I have always given Corky and Coco is the Fish & Shrimp Flake, dark blue label, which it has 0% carbs, and the light blue label Tuna Flake, also too much gravy and I stopped feeding it after I opened the first can and saw a rise in BG. I do not know where all this has become so horribly wrong when it was getting so right, that even with an increase he's not responding, I don't know any more what to feed them and I say them because I need to keep Coco under the same rules to prevent diabetes as well. Are he going backwards?:arghh::banghead::confused::cat::cat:
 

Attachments

  • clear.png
    clear.png
    137 bytes · Views: 96
The product is always the same Fancy Feast, from the day I switched from dry to FF only. My concerns are with the Mint label FF Trout Feast Flaked which we established has 8% carbs, then there's the continued concern for the Dark Green Chicken Feast Chunky which you found it to be 5%, however I fed again and just seeing his SS I want to cry! the Flake I have always given Corky and Coco is the Fish & Shrimp Flake, dark blue label, which it has 0% carbs, and the light blue label Tuna Flake, also too much gravy and I stopped feeding it after I opened the first can and saw a rise in BG. I do not know where all this has become so horribly wrong when it was getting so right, that even with an increase he's not responding, I don't know any more what to feed them and I say them because I need to keep Coco under the same rules to prevent diabetes as well. Are he going backwards?:arghh::banghead::confused::cat::cat:


Sorry, when you said the flaked tuna was dark blue and 0% carbs I was confused, that's all I was asking about (because I wanted to try and buy it). My kitty won't touch the dark blue 0% shrimp and fish unfortunately! I wish she would, I can see there is no filler in there, it's so fishy!

I wish I could help with Corky, you seem much more experienced than me! I hope both out kitties have some improvement today!
 
Sorry, when you said the flaked tuna was dark blue and 0% carbs I was confused, that's all I was asking about (because I wanted to try and buy it). My kitty won't touch the dark blue 0% shrimp and fish unfortunately! I wish she would, I can see there is no filler in there, it's so fishy!

I wish I could help with Corky, you seem much more experienced than me! I hope both out kitties have some improvement today!
Trust me I am right now very very confused as I told you I'm pretty much knowledgeable on what Corky likes Coco is not diabetic, but even knowing what I'm learning it does get hard at times, He is in awesome health except for the diabetes, and right now it's probably my doing for changing to new foods, We'll get it straight out, thanks you. and stick by, you will learn a lot, on the Main Forum page there are sticky notes, everything you may have questions about diabetes, I also read other members posts it helps me understand about the symptoms and is suggested by the members.:bighug::cat::cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top