bg +9 = 316 help with dose

  • Thread starter Thread starter Scratchie'smom
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Scratchie'smom

New bg on Scratchie so this is after 1u at 5:00am. Next dose 5:00pm. 2u? Just updating spreadsheet now. I doubt I can get another bg until later. He was very upset, hubbie had to hold him down to get this. Throwing up as well like he has an upset tummy. Not a lot or often. Was whitish liquid?
 
Hi Scratchie's mom, welcome to Lantus Land, the best place you never wanted to be. :lol: :lol: We are a helpful bunch, though, so you are at the right place to get help with Scratchie's care. Uh, is Scratchie dangerous? Just wondering about his name... That must be quite a challenge getting a glucose test. It will get better, I promise. Try to stay calm and give him lots of petting and a treat afterwards. How much does Scratchie weigh and how much should he weigh?

The Tight Regulation protocol is that you hold a dose for 3 to 5 days (6 to 10 shots) before adjusting. When you do adjust, the change should be 0.25u. You are trying to find a good dose for Scratchie so you need to change it gradually. It's very hard to see him in high numbers but worse would be to see him in super low numbers, i.e., hypoglycemic. Are you using syringes with 0.5u markings?

I'm not a dosing expert but your case is pretty straightforward. Stick with the same dose for a few more cycles and see what he does. Please try to get a pre-shot test and a mid-cycle test, then the dosing experts will have data to help you make decisions. Lantus dosing is based on the nadir (the lowest BG in the cycle, usually some time in the middle). So that's why those tests are important. The pre-shot test is important because you don't want to give him a shot if he's too low.

I don't know about the vomiting whitish liquid. Someone will come along who will have some ideas.

You are doing a great job! You've got a spreadsheet set up and are home testing. Give yourselves a huge pat on the back. Be sure and ask lots of questions. Everyone here is cat crazy and will do everything we can to help you.
Liz, Zener's other mom

ETA: He was diagnosed in February 2012. Has he been on any insulin since then? Also, what does he eat and how much?
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!

I know it might be a challenge to get those tests but please do not shoot insulin into him without getting a preshot test. Perhaps you can burrito him? Shooting blindly is dangerous and could put him in hypoglycemia....which can be life threatening. I don't want to scare you but want to stress the importance of getting that PS test. While I wouldn't want to see him high, if you can't get a PS, I'd rather you not shoot then shoot blindly.

The flip side is prolonged hyperglycemia can lead to insulin resistance so that's the flip side of the necessity to getting the PS test so you can safely keep insulin in him.

Can you tell us what you were doing regarding insulin from when he was diagnosed? Was he on a different insulin? Any gaps you can fill in for us helps.

You are most likely seeing this high and low numbers because he's bouncing. When cats are diagnosed with FD, they've probably been at high numbers for a while and their liver gets used to those numbers. When numbers come down fast or come lower than they are used to (they don't have to be really low), there is a release of counterregulatory hormones and glucagon to bring the numbers back up to what the liver deems is safe. This is a natural process and most cats do it to some degree. It shows the liver is working like it is supposed to :-D

Clear, foamy vomit is usually a sign of acid tummy. Feeding regularly helps. If this continues, I'd get him in to see the vet because a habitual acid tummy is not normal.
 
I was really excited to get a number after 2 days of trying every trick listed. I normally post on the main board, just thought you would have some advise. I know the testing is very important! Especially the preshot number. I'll post again when I have something more to report.

Think his stomach was just acting up. He just ate and he's fine.
 
Ladies,

He's been on Lantus since February starting at 1u 2xday. Couldn't get him regulated as couldn't get him off dry food. So vet increased as numbers went up. In July I was finally able to switch him to wet so it's been 3 weeks on his new food. Been trying to test but first time was on 7/26 per the SS. He used to weigh 13.5# but I think he's dropped some.

He is on Authority and eats 1.5 - 2 5.5 oz cans. Generally 1.5 cans. I'll try very hard to get a PMPS. Thanks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top