BG 84 - Stalling, lower dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Trick&Christmas

Member Since 2020
Hi folks - I completed a switch to canned food only a week ago and my cat's BG has been low in the morning twice. I'm stalling right now, and if it is low again when I test in 10 minutes I plan on feeding, testing again, and giving a lowered dose.

He is on 3.25, should I lower back to 3? Should I leave out a snack before bed?
 
That 84 at pre-shot actually earned Trick an automatic 0.25U dose reduction. A BG level < 90 mg/dL is ALWAYS a reduction needed, when you are using a shorter acting insulin like the Vetsulin. No real SLGS protocol, but I think of any low number like that as needing less insulin.

We REALLY need the SS to be updated, especially when you are calling for help, like with that 84 pre-shot BG level. Please do try to help us help you better. Ok?
 
That 84 at pre-shot actually earned Trick an automatic 0.25U dose reduction. A BG level < 90 mg/dL is ALWAYS a reduction needed, when you are using a shorter acting insulin like the Vetsulin. No real SLGS protocol, but I think of any low number like that as needing less insulin.

We REALLY need the SS to be updated, especially when you are calling for help, like with that 84 pre-shot BG level. Please do try to help us help you better. Ok?


Okay, that's what I was wondering. I dropped him back down. Since I skipped his AM shot, I put all his BG numbers yesterday until the PMPS in the notes.

And I'm sorry about that, I was definitely frantic yesterday morning since I had to run and forgot to transfer his numbers first. I'll remember in the future. Thank you
 
1


Just sharing my boy's moony eyes. I have to go to Florida for my research next week and him dropping this low twice in a week has me worried about leaving him. My boyfriend is watching him so he's not being boarded and he's going to test his BG before feeding thankfully but I hate that I have to leave.
 
1


Just sharing my boy's moony eyes. I have to go to Florida for my research next week and him dropping this low twice in a week has me worried about leaving him. My boyfriend is watching him so he's not being boarded and he's going to test his BG before feeding thankfully but I hate that I have to leave.
Can you make sure your boyfriend can come here in case of an emergency? We will help him through anything that might happen. Would he be open to that???
 
1


Just sharing my boy's moony eyes. I have to go to Florida for my research next week and him dropping this low twice in a week has me worried about leaving him. My boyfriend is watching him so he's not being boarded and he's going to test his BG before feeding thankfully but I hate that I have to leave.
Can you make sure your boyfriend can come here in case of an emergency? We will help him through anything that might happen. Would he be open to that???

That’s a great idea JT!
 
Okay, that's what I was wondering. I dropped him back down. Since I skipped his AM shot, I put all his BG numbers yesterday until the PMPS in the notes.

And I'm sorry about that, I was definitely frantic yesterday morning since I had to run and forgot to transfer his numbers first. I'll remember in the future. Thank you
Believe it or not, one of the first things we do when we see a low number and a "stalling asking for help" type post, is to look at the SS to see some past history and how experienced and conversant you are with shooting low numbers. The SS helps us to see that.

In fact, I always try to look at the SS before replying to a post. It's that important.
 
1


Just sharing my boy's moony eyes. I have to go to Florida for my research next week and him dropping this low twice in a week has me worried about leaving him. My boyfriend is watching him so he's not being boarded and he's going to test his BG before feeding thankfully but I hate that I have to leave.
I can’t see the image :(

how is Trick doing Victoria? Is your BF up to dealing with all the hormones in this forum? ;):D:p:smuggrin:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top