NoahFL
Active Member
Here we go again. Assuming another dose reduction to 1U tonight. Just gave some LC. Will recheck in 30. Hoping to get this under control. We have to leave the house in 2 hours. @Deb & Wink @JanetNJ
Wow great61, 30 min later. Gave 1 Tbs MC, rechecking in 30
Edited: no clinical signs of hypo
Update please if you can
thank you
I've never had a 65% drop or been that close to lime green @ +2. It scared me, I can only imagine what it did to you. Keep testing, you've got a ways to go until nadir. His body is probably kicking in from that fast drop too. We'll see where he's at and go from there.
Can your daughter test?
It depends on what the next test number is. And how long you plan to be out.
If the number is over, say, 100 or 125, give a tsp or two of LC and ask your daughter to feed a tsp or two of LC every hour for the next two or three hours.
If the number has not gone up enough, carb him up and ask you daughter to offer LC after an hour and then after 2 hours. Better too high than too low.
I know Max is a lot of work right now but it does look like he is heading for remission – and at a gallop.
I can't stay online. Holler for help here and on the main forum if you need to.
His numbers aren't budging. I'd feed him HC now and then feed MC rather than LC.Thank you. He’s at 89 +5. Will feed him now and she’ll check him in an hour and give more LC. Not the best timing.
His numbers aren't budging. I'd feed him HC now and then feed MC rather than LC.
He’s due for his PM shot in 1.5 hours. I will be home in 30 minutes. My daughter said he had a great day, acting normal and playing.How soon to your pre-shot? Is it too late to get a +11 or +11.5? It'll tell you at PMPS if he's flat, on the rise or dropping and you can factor that in to your decision too.
That's so good to hear! I've been hoping for an update - your little stinker has me hooked!!My daughter said he had a great day, acting normal and playing.
That's so good to hear! I've been hoping for an update - your little stinker has me hooked!!![]()
So once again, Max’s BG strips for his AT2 did not come today as it was suppose to. I’ve burned through a lot of strips the past few days. Says it’s on the truck for delivery , but hasn’t came. I do have a human meter. He’s due for a reduction tonight to 1U. What’s a good no shoot number for a human meter? 150? I was using 190-200 as the level to shoot full shot with the AT2. Thanks!
If you take a look at the tables at the end of the Roomp & Rand Tight Regulation Protocol, you'll note that typically the Alpha Track runs about 30 points higher than a meter calibrated for human blood (e.g., your Relion). If you also factor in that there can be roughly 20% variance in any test you get, it may help to put the different numbers in perspective.
Ultimately, it's easier on you if you pick one meter and stay with that meter. Moving between meters is a great way to make your head hurt!
As a side note, some people have observed that there can sometimes be a greater difference in numbers at the higher end of the range.
Looks like he’s bouncing. Will retest at PMPS and if it’s about the same, I’ll give him 1U as he earned a reduction today. Thanks!itmw, i found this older post for your consideration.
it talks about the points relationships between human and alpha trak meters.
i had never seen an actual value offered before on the differences, so this surprised me a bit to find it stated as a number.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...0-pmps-237-paraphernalia.107964/#post-1142455
A no shoot number for a human meter of around 150 is good.
How about trying 0.75U for PMPS instead of 1U? It's a 0.5U reduction instead of the standard 0.25U (1/4 unit) reduction, but Max did ok when you reduced from 1.75U to 1.25U only a couple of days ago. I'd recommend the larger dose reduction for Max right now.
Max is crashing down that dosing scale, just about as fast as possible. He really wants to get rid of those shots ASAP.
Come on Max, stop scaring your mom Rebecca so much, and giving her heart palpitations from the adrenaline rush, as she tries to keep you safe.
whoops, sorry i called you noah back there.Rebecca
I'd rather see you drop that dose, and then if Max doesn't hold the reduction, you can increase the dose again. But for now, larger dose decreases, larger dose reductions seem in order for Max.
p.s. This advice is for Max and Max alone. Based on his individual circumstances. Steroid induced diabetes for one.
Yes, please continue to feed Max at +1 and +2.Do you still want me to feed +1 and +2 tonight?
Bounce.
Be patient, and wait it out.
It may take 3-6 cycles to settle down.