BG 69 at +4 is this a bad thing?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jane & Boo (GA)

Member Since 2009
We've never been in this territory. It seems so strange that we can start with 369 AMPS and drop to 69 4 hours later. The next couple of hours worries me. She ate real well before her shot. Should I worry or not?
 
It is a pretty good drop. You might use give him a small snack of his regular food and test again in an hour. We usually don't worry until we see a 50 or lower.
 
He has been dropping into the greens mid cycle for the last few cycles. It looks like he didn't bounce for pumps yesterday but did the day before and maybe for amps today.

I'll be around and watch for you. If he drops to 50, then a little regular food and test again in 20/30. Minutes.

This is a good thing but a little nerve wracking.
 
Thanks for the advise. I decided to watch her closely for any wonky behavior. She's been acting normal. I just tested her again and she's at 119. Whew.... what a relief!
So, based on the numbers I'm getting, should I hold at this dose?
 
A nice rise.

There are two schools of thought. One is that, as long as she doesn't drop into hypo territory, you hold the dose and she will eventually get used to the lower numbers and not bounce. The other is to lower the dose a little bit and see if she flattens out a bit. Your numbers have been very nice day and night and the 276 last night was encouraging, so I think I would hold the dose. If you are nervous about her dropping low and are not around to monitor, you could lower the dose a smudge for that cycle. Leaving out food for her to eat in case she drops is a good idea too.

In general, I think she looks great. The insulin seems to last and she has nice drops into healing numbers.
 
I'll go with your recommendation to hold the dose. Because I'm in the bulls eye of the recent blizzard (30 inches of snow), I'll be home at least one more day to monitor her. Leaving food out is a problem. Multi-cat household. There are as few as 5 cats in the house and as many as 14 if the weather is bad... like now. I do have a battery powered auto feeder.... just no way to be sure who will get to the food unless I quarantine her to her own room. Now that I think about it, that would work. I'll have that ready to go when I return to work if I'm still getting these low numbers. Thanks so much for being there to help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top