BG @ +6 highest value yet 416, question on Lantus expiration

Peabody's mom Dorene

Member Since 2020
Were only at about 2 weeks of this, I did a PMPS last night he was 351 gave 1 unit as vet is working with me to find the right dosage, I didn't do an AMPS but gave 1 unit. Vet had me check his +6 and it was 416. I'm so distraught! Am I not checking BG correctly?? Am I not giving the insulin shot correctly???... this makes no sense to me that BG would be higher; this has been the highest of any checked value yet. I did have to chase him around the house a little to get the +6 BG how much difference would that make?

And as far as Lantus expiration date -- I have a donated portion the vet gave me, I don't know what the expiration is == what is the consensus on a bottle of Lantus expiring at 28 days of starting it? Does anyone follow that considering how expensive it is?

Sorry if my title isn't phrased as it should be I'm not quite clear on the title rules of this forum.

Thanks Dorene
 
Hi. Welcome. Lantus is dosed based upon how low a dose takes your cat and not AMPS or PMPS. You need to test before each shot to make sure the bg is high enough to shoot. Those numbers will often be the highest bg readings. Then you feed to make sure they will eat and last you shoot. Typically the low point will be around 4-7 hours after injecting but sometimes it’s earlier and sometimes later. Lantus is a depot drug so builds up which is why you hold a dose for at least 7 days when following SLGS.

If stored in the fridge a vial will last about 5-6 months. If you live in the US you will find it cheaper to order insulin from Mark’s Marine, a pharmacy in Canada.
 
Hello and welcome here. No rush on getting used to subject title format. Eventually it’ll be good to add your cat’s name and the date.

With using SLGS for dosing, you need to do a curve soon. That will also help you figure out what is happening to the blood sugar between the shots. Without a test this morning before the shot, we can’t tell if Peabody’s blood sugar was going up or down with that 416. Either is possible and more data will give us a better picture of what is happening on a dose of 1 unit.

How is Peabody acting now? Any better on insulin? Other than wanting to play chase. :p
 
Just wanted to say welcome! So glad you're here. Seeing the high numbers can be very frustrating and upsetting. I know the feeling all too well.:) I have also thought I was giving shots incorrectly, or that something happened to my insulin and it had gone bad. Neither one was the case. Butters simply needed more insulin. You will be able to figure it out better once you get more BG tests.

Speaking of which, why are you having to chase Peabody around the house to test? Is this a regular occurrence? I know the testing can be a real challenge at first so if you need some tips and tricks, don't hesitate to ask. It took me a good three weeks to be at ease with testing Butters and probably closer to two months to become more expert level at it. But every person's experience with it is somewhat different, depending on their comfort level and the cat.
 
His appetite doesn't seem as ravenous as it was prior to insulin, but he's still a hungry guy all the time. Water consumption down some. He's catching on to BG testing and is starting to runaway and since his face is still eating when I give insulin he tolerates it. Otherwise acting like himself.
 
Are you giving him treats when you test his BG? You'll get much faster at it with some more experience. I sprinkle some freeze dried chicken crumbs on a plate for Butters, so when she buries her head in the plate I test her BG and she doesn't pay attention. Similar to how you shoot Peabody with insulin when he is eating.
 
Just wanted to say welcome! So glad you're here. Seeing the high numbers can be very frustrating and upsetting. I know the feeling all too well.:) I have also thought I was giving shots incorrectly, or that something happened to my insulin and it had gone bad. Neither one was the case. Butters simply needed more insulin. You will be able to figure it out better once you get more BG tests.

Speaking of which, why are you having to chase Peabody around the house to test? Is this a regular occurrence? I know the testing can be a real challenge at first so if you need some tips and tricks, don't hesitate to ask. It took me a good three weeks to be at ease with testing Butters and probably closer to two months to become more expert level at it. But every person's experience with it is somewhat different, depending on their comfort level and the cat.

It's only our first week with the AlphaTrak monitor and doing checks, he saw me coming for him this afternoon and ran, first time all week. I can usually scoop him up and either have my husband pet him while I do the test or I've done a couple tests on my own, this afternoon was on my own. I seem to have to poke him more then once to get the droplet of blood so I probably need to go over technique and locations on the ear.
 
Awww. I know it is so challenging. I'd say keep trying to give him treats every time you test. A small diabetic friendly treat whether you are successful or not. I also always do the testing in the same spot. That way Butters knows the routine. She gets treats on the blanket while I test her, and then anywhere else in our home she doesn't have to worry that I'm going to come after her.
The difficulty getting a droplet of blood when you start out is normal. More capillaries will form over time, and soon enough you'll just have to look at his ears and they will bleed. ;)
Are you warming his ear first? A lot of people use a baby sock filled with rice. Warm it in the microwave first (make sure it is not too hot), then hold it against his ear. This will bring the blood to his ear and make getting a droplet a lot easier.

Here is a link to home testing tips and tricks. There is lots of good info to read when you have time.

Some visuals: I actually go up one side of Butters' ear, then across the top and down the other side. But the key is you want to aim for the very edge of the ear.

upload_2020-10-21_21-45-46.png
4395c545-36bf-4aba-bec7-4392fcdb191c-jpeg.48119
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-10-21_21-45-46.png
    upload_2020-10-21_21-45-46.png
    137.4 KB · Views: 70
Back
Top