BG +4.5 44. +5 61. +5.5 117. +6 147. +7 155. +12.5 162

Status
Not open for further replies.

underdawg

Member Since 2010
Gave gravy food. Retested 20 minutes later now 61. Do I need to go to emergency vet or can I get him through this? No hypo symptoms.
 
Usually gets 3 units. BG was 122 at test time so have only 2 units. +4.5 44 then 20 min later 61.
 
Last edited:
What kind of meter are you using? If it's a human meter, that 61 is a nice safe number, but you'll want to retest in another 30 minutes
 
Where are you in the cycle? How long has it been since his shot?

It'd help if you'd add that you're using the Micro to your signature too so we don't have to ask
 
Yeah now I see your comment that was at +4.5

As long as he stays above 50, you want to test at least every 30 minutes for an hour and then 1 more test an hour after that...so you continue testing for at least 2 hours total after they're above 50

If he drops back down, you feed some more HC and start the whole thing over
 
155 at 1am

His usual dose was 3 but he only got 2 tonight since his pmps was 122. So decrease from the 3 or the 2?

Thanks for your help. I can't say enough how much I appreciate it.

Headed to bed now.
 
If you can, get a +11 (or +11.5) .....it'd help to know if he's still rising at AMPS time

If he bounces (like over 300) you can give one more dose at 3U (it's called "shooting through the bounce) to give him a little more support to get back down, but if he's less, I'd take the deduction to 2.75

It also makes a difference if you're going to be home and able to test

In the future, if you get a test you're not sure about, stall...don't feed, and post for help. Lantus works best when it's given at lower numbers (Once you have the data to know it's safe) so you gradually shoot lower and lower Pre-shot numbers.
 
Good morning. Not much traffic right now. Did you give the shot? If so, how much? You've been here a lot longer than I have, so no real advice from me, but just wanted to check on y'all.
 
Good morning. Not much traffic right now. Did you give the shot? If so, how much? You've been here a lot longer than I have, so no real advice from me, but just wanted to check on y'all.

Thanks for checking in. No shot this morning since it was 162 and i am a bit skittish now. Was also exhausted after last night. Trying to figure out this disease and when to shoot and how much to shoot sometimes is a little much for my linear brain. I have had him on a schedule where he gets his shot about 6 -6:30 every am and pm. Not sure what the schedule will be now. We are having some thunderstorms here today so he won't be available for his pm shot for a while and it is almost 6 pm now. He has been hiding under the bed upstairs since this morning due to the storms. He gets really scared during storms. He ate a good breakfast and looked good. He pooped a couple of times during the night. One normal and the other one a tad soft. Hopefully the pancreatitis won't flare up again. He was just getting over that. The gravy lovers food, Karo and a few pieces of dry are probably the culprits for a soft poop.

We have been members for a few years but he was OTJ for most of that time so going back on insulin this fall was like being new all over again especially since he was not in insulin but for a few weeks the first time. So I certainly didn't learn as much as I needed before he was OTJ. I am open to any and all help anytime .

It was scary last night but having this group was a blessing. Thanks again for checking in.
 
You may find it helpful to pop over to the Lantus/Levemir forum and read over the sticky posts on using Lantus effectively.
Also, there are 2 protocols which you may follow:

Have a read over these and see which one might work best for you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top