BG 353 down to 314 after two hours

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tooloo

Member Since 2013
I decided to start new topic. I'll get a spreadsheet going this week sometime. The next four days will be pretty hectic, so might be hard to find the time.

So I tested TooToo for the first time at about 7:00pm. BG 353. Gave injection of .5 at 7:30pm. (Started injections Friday night at 2 units but got worried last night when he displayed weakness and reduced to .5 this morning.) Tested again tonight at 10:15pm. BG 314. Better but still high. I'll test again in morning and give another injection. I'll probably stick with .5 in the morning because I'll be gone all day. I'm anxious for the reading to come down but afraid to give too much especially when I'm not going to be here.

When does the effect of the insulin reach it's peak or does it vary with the cat? Also, should I be worried about the high reading? (It was over 500 the first time he was tested at the vet - before I got him off the high carbs.)
 
If you read BJs link on the protocol it says you hold the dose 3-5 days based on the nadir (low point) so hold the 0.5 for now and get some tests in preshot, and mid cycle so you can see how low he is going.. then we can change the dose if need be

ie
"General" Guidelines:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 (green, blue) before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 (yellow) increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 (pink, red, black) increase the dose by 0.5 unit.


Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further. If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.

Wendy
 
Here are a couple more links that I've always found particularly helpful:

Example of a typical Lantus Cycle (from BJ's "New to the Group?" link):
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

And the BG Ranges for Felines (using human meters) from Wikipedia.
 
An important note about glucometers: The FDA allows glucometers to be sold which read within 20% of what a lab test might get. This means that any test represents a range of possible values.
For any 2 tests, they may be considered equal if they overlap, ie.
1.2 * low value is greater than 0.8 times the high value.

In general, a pet-specific glucometer will read higher than a human glucometer. At the low end of values, that difference is approximately 30 points. At the high end of the scale, it doesn't matter. If the test is high, its high and you take the appropriate action based on the insulin you are using. If there is another medical condition affecting the glucose levels, you treat that condition and adjust the insulin.

Here are some glucose reference ranges used for decision making using a human glucometer:
< 40 mg/dL
- Treat as if HYPO
- At nadir (lowest point between shots) in a long term diabetic (more than a year), may earn a reduction.

< 50 mg/dL
- If before nadir, steer with food, ie, give modest amounts of medium carb food to keep from going below 50.
- At nadir, often indicates dose reduction is earned.

50 - 130 mg/dL
- On insulin - great control when following a tight regulation protocol.
- Off insulin - normal numbers.
(May even go as low as the upper 30s; if not on insulin, this can be safe.

> 150 mg/dL
- At nadir, indicates a dose increase may be needed when following a tight regulation protocol.

180 - 280 mg/dL
- Any time - The renal threshold (depending on data source and cat's renal function) where glucose spills into the urine.
- Test for ketones, glucose is too high.

>= 280 mg/dL, if for most of the cycle between shots
- Uncontrolled diabetes and thus at risk for diabetic ketoacidosis and hepatic lipidosis
- Follow your insulin protocol for dose adjustments
- Test for ketones; if more than a trace level of ketones, go to vet ASAP.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top